We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Book In Advance
$150.00*
and up
Half-Day Nairobi National Park Tour from Nairobi
Ranked #3 of 111 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hired a private four wheel drive and driver and entered at gate opening time... saw lions, elephant, rhino, giraffe, absolutely stunning...and unbelievable considering you could see the lights of Nairobi in the background... a definite must for anybody in Nairobi for more than a couple of hours!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BSTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    622
    165
    37
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“best of urban safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Everything is extra ordinary!!! The only thing maybe should be done is add the phone numbers of the main gate on the receipt. so that in case of an emergency a person knows where to call.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“See the big five in a matter of hours!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

For $40 US you can see tons of wildlife up close and personal. After three hours in the park I saw half a dozen lions, a troop of baboons, three ostriches, four giraffes, a rhino, and several herds of zebra all within ten feet of the car. Just make sure to get there when the park opens at 6am or you'll miss the lions. While a taxi works just fine, a taller vehicle might make for better viewing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stevie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wildlife up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The best way to get optimum views of animals is to hire a guide; they know the best spots in which to get up close to the animals. We were able to get so close to both zebras and giraffes that you could touch them. We also saw two rhinos, one with a baby, heaps of orangutans, antelope, a civet and and a variety of magnificent birds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fredine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laufelfingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Overlooked Safari Park in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been on many safaris but never did I think to go to Nairobi's park that is actually part of the city. You can even see the city in the background while on safari. I think it is the only one like this in the world. I had time to kill so I had a diver guide take me there. I was completely surprised. They even have a tented camp that I had lunch at.Other parks / reserves do not have many rhinos. I was shocked to see on this 2 hour trip 6 rhinos. I also saw a cat I have never seen which was a Serval. This is a good place to go if you are waiting for your international flight which may be late in the night.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meredith09065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing