We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nairobi Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 602121
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$150*
and up
Half-Day Nairobi National Park Tour from Nairobi
Ranked #3 of 109 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nairobi Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The park is on the doorstep of the city. Our game drive consisted of our taxi driver who took us around the much larger park than I had anticipated and he replaced a guide, as none were available. By stopping other vehicles to find out where the animals were, we found lions(often hard to find), rhino, buffalo, hippos, antelope, giraffes and many more, although we didn't find the zebra. Three hours was not enough. We really needed four or five to cover the park comfortably. But it was a lovely day and I highly recommend that an open topped vehicle is used so that you can stand up with head out of the roof.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    587
    156
    35
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
st Petersburg, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Where did all the animals go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Nairobi National Park is located in the heart of Nairobi and was presented as having great viewings og Lion, Rhino, Giraffe and many more local animals. The park is a poor substitute for the Masai Mara based on the day we visited. There were no L:ion sightings, only 1 Giraffe and a few distant Rhino. A big disappointment but that happens with wild animals, I guess it was just not a good day but the only one I can comment on.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Getting on with your neigbours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

There are many a city who would boast to have the most environmentally friendly zoo in the world. Well, they would all be wrong. Nairobi has the most perfect answer to them all, a national park which literally borders the edge of town. If you lived on that side of town your back garden would be full of Giraffe, Zebra, Buffalo, Lion etc.
If you are in Nairobi waiting to go on Safari the next morning, Nairobi national park is the perfect introduction to what Kenya has to offer, don't miss it. The very fact the park has wild cats, cheetah, Lion & leopard, is mind boggling when you realise how close to town they are. On top of that. The park has one of the highest populations of Black Rhino. So test the waters and get out of town into the bush, and tomorrows safari will not be able to come quick enough.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank eamaradadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Game in a city! But just about average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Maybe its the time of the year, that we did not see all that game, but having such a huge park in a city is still something!

We saw deer family, lots of types, Zebra's, Giraffe's, ONE lone LOST Wildebeest!!!, Birds, some hippos far away in a watering hole bobbing up and down, and probably thats about it.

We did not go to the orphanage (should have) but the high entrance fees and lack of good game was a dampener to go to the orphanage.

They took so much time to check our tickets!!! WIth signs all over as to how THIS park was corruption free!!!

One bit of advice, you need a 4 wheel drive to go all over. We had one, so no problems. I drive easily. We saw some people with regular cars, God help them in many parts. It is real bush driving so enjoy with the right vehicle.

We had flown over the park when we reached Kenya, and that huge a place is great in a busy city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hipposcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Its a pleasant surprise to be in the middle of rush hour and escape to the wild. Its right in the city! I love that! The animals are in quite a natural habitat and so it can be tricky when you want to get to see them and all but when you do, its quite the treat!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woodmere_Nairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing