We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Interesting place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park
Book In Advance
$150*
and up
Half-Day Nairobi National Park Tour from Nairobi
Ranked #3 of 109 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Took the kids here a few weeks and we enjoyed it for a few hours.

If you are only in Nairobi for a day or two, I would recommend it, but if you have longer time in Kenya, go north to Sambura or Sweet Waters.

They have the usual zebras, impalers but no big cats, sadly...

It wasn't expensive to get it, only 1000KSH for residents which is very well priced.

If you have a few hours to spare, I would recommend it, if you have a few days or more, go north.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 77_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    603
    158
    36
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“How close to a city do you want to see animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I love this place because even on its worse day you can take a picnic here and see great animals. This time we saw three rhinos (always a winner with me)
There are no elephants just in case they leave.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Urban Safari with really wild wildlife!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Considering the city location (the view of the skyline of Nairobi is surreal) it is a pretty good game park. We saw a lioness stalking an antelope ready for the kill after walking out in front of our car! Also saw lots of giraffe, elan, buffalo, dassies, and fantastic birds (eagles, maribou storks, etc). We would have seen more but heavy overnight rain meant that a river ford was impassable so we didn't get to see hippos and crocs or rhino! We were taken there by a driver/guide from Rickshaw travel who was superb and we had one of the park supplied guides too. She was very knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went on Safari walk at Nairobi National Park. Excellent way to spend a few hours and see animals up close.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrewFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful but a little boring?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Nairobi national park is a really beautiful place. Not to expensive to Get in. But i guess you Pay more to Get a car and a driver. Be sure to Get a 4 weel drive, and With a look out through The roof.
We had a magical day there. But Found it a little boring After a while. A lot of antilopes, gazelles. Zevras and buffelos.
To se Lions, be sure to go when The animals Are hunting!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Palsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing