We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How close to a city do you want to see animals”

Nairobi National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.00*
and up
Africa Fund for Endangered Wildlife’s Giraffe Centre and David Sheldrick’s...
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Nairobi National Park, David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe Center and...
More Info
$210.00*
and up
Day Tour: Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage and Nairobi National Park
Ranked #3 of 124 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noble black rhinos are the highlight of this amazing park, Kenya’s first national park and a local treasure.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“How close to a city do you want to see animals”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I love this place because even on its worse day you can take a picnic here and see great animals. This time we saw three rhinos (always a winner with me)
There are no elephants just in case they leave.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    807
    208
    48
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Urban Safari with really wild wildlife!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Considering the city location (the view of the skyline of Nairobi is surreal) it is a pretty good game park. We saw a lioness stalking an antelope ready for the kill after walking out in front of our car! Also saw lots of giraffe, elan, buffalo, dassies, and fantastic birds (eagles, maribou storks, etc). We would have seen more but heavy overnight rain meant that a river ford was impassable so we didn't get to see hippos and crocs or rhino! We were taken there by a driver/guide from Rickshaw travel who was superb and we had one of the park supplied guides too. She was very knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went on Safari walk at Nairobi National Park. Excellent way to spend a few hours and see animals up close.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrewFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great day out...”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have wanted to visit this national park for some time now and we finally got there a few weeks ago, after a small issue at the main entrance we finally got into the park and I have to say we had a great day.
With the back drop from the city, it seems strange but there we loads of animals to see.
The place is large, so we bought a map at the entrance, shame it never had pictures of which animals where in the park so we could mark them off as we seen them like other places we have been to, so it was a reasonable price.
The orphanage was an added bonus as we got there as they were just feeding the animals at 3 PM, so go to see 4 of the big 5 getting fed.
In summary, a great place if you haven't got time to go further a field like Sweet Waters or Sambura.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 77_JW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful but a little boring?”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Nairobi national park is a really beautiful place. Not to expensive to Get in. But i guess you Pay more to Get a car and a driver. Be sure to Get a 4 weel drive, and With a look out through The roof.
We had a magical day there. But Found it a little boring After a while. A lot of antilopes, gazelles. Zevras and buffelos.
To se Lions, be sure to go when The animals Are hunting!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Palsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nairobi National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing