We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not top notch but good option in Nairobi”
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is one of the best in Nairobi, the location is great, the design is original and the rooms are comfortable. The big plus is the large choice of restaurants onsite, my favorite is the African restaurant for dinner. The personnel is extremely helpful and professional, great great people!!! On the cons side are the night club, the cleanliness that can be improved. Also, this hotel is a favorite for weddings so be prepared to the noise coming from hundred of people coming at those weddings mostly during weekends .

Room Tip: A dinner at the African restaurant with a nice show is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahanoubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 576 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

Like many people, we stayed here at the start of a safari for just one night. We arrived in the evening and left early in the morning so we didn't really get a chance to use most of the facilities.

It wasn't going well when we arrived. We had hired a car and driver for the day but they were over an hour late picking us up from our previous hotel. This meant we missed the lunchtime session at the elephant orphanage so we were pretty disappointed. On check-in we brought this up but it took a long time to get it sorted between the receptionist and the car company with no-one taking ownership of the problem.

Lobby was pretty grand with the elephant model etc. We had dinner in the italian restaurant, it was quiet but food was ok, fairly good value at around 1200KS for a pizza. Pool area etc looked pretty good but we didn't have time to use any of the facilities.

Our room was huge, not much smaller than our 2 bed flat. Floor was polished so much it was slippery and it didn't get much better from there. The hot tap in the bath/shower didn't work, just kept spinning and the bed was hard too. Didn't really have time to report it until checkout as we just went for dinner on arriving and it was too late when we got back. Didn't have time to use the wifi either, but did note that it was 2000KS a day (around £14) which seemed a bit much.
Could have done with double glazing to keep out the noise from the nearby motorway as well (to a lesser extent) as all the birds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

checked it out as a possible location to bring clients from Europe to relax away from the city, but to be told wifi access would cost 1000 ksh for one hour and was not inclusive in the already overpriced room tariff is a definite " no " from myself and will take my money elsewhere,shame because its grounds and decor are a good introduction to the safari/kenyan vibe that so many people hear about. Need to get with the the times and not rip people off for internet access,thats all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjkuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is set at the begining on the new road called the Thika superhighway, there are still alot of road works in the area so it doesn;t look marvelous as you arrive, and ask your driver to use the new by pass instead of driving across town if you are arriving in rush hour from the international airport.
The gardens of the hotel are very well kept and attractive and its nice to be able to wander around and look in the hotel shops or choose a diining venue which is unlike the hotels in the centre of the city. That being said if you have just one night transit or you are on business in the city this is not the most suitable hotel to choose because of its location in the suburbs.
For tourists and those with more time to relax it is ideal: off the beaten track & peaceful.
Even though the hotel is built in the 80's it was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast buffet had a a large variety of choices more than expected.
In the evening we attended a big event for 800 people on the hotel lawns, it was superbly organised, good service, well presented tasty food. The hotel coped very well, they can certainly be recomended for that.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank safaribird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I spent one night here upon arrival in Kenya for safari. The room was very large and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and grounds beautiful. I found the staff to be quite helpful, but after reading about all the services and activities on property I realize that none of these things were explained upon check-in. I was told where breakfast was and that was it.

The hotel told each member of our group different meeting times so I only had 5 minutes for breakfast because I saw the group was already assembled when I was passing through the lobby. The staff in the restaurant were so helpful and got me a to-go box so I could grab some croissants for the road. I really appreciated that, although the meeting time confusion was unfortunate. Some people were told 7, some 7:30, and some 8. The real departure time was actually 8:30.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here two nights before joining a safari, so, after a very long journey from the UK we were glad to have a bath and sleep. Awaking next morning we could see the beautiful gardens, flowers trees, and pools. The grounds are massive and we did visit the shopping village, there are many small shops selling local hand craft work. There are also different restaurants on site. We tried the African that evening and were not disappointed. Started with soup, We had about 8 - 10 different meats to choose from with salad and roast pots, then a choice of sweets with coffee. The highlight of the evening was the show, which started with 4 ladies ( Twins) singing classical and opera- they were wonderful. Following there was a magnificent show of dancing / circus acts - I've never seen better anywhere.
Do try Hemmingway's bar - above reception where early evening you can be serenaded by a pianist.
Our bedroom and bathroom were a little dated but it included everything we needed including a sauna!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swift33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our room was large and very modern and the service in the hotel was second-to-none. Breakfast was extensive with plenty of choice. We used the pool regularly and often had it to ourselves, was a great place to relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinTins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,054 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,173 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
949 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $195 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing