We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great first nights stay & Intro to Kenya”
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a great first nights stay & Intro to Kenya”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Kenya Classic safari with Hayes & Jarvis.
Firstly we were suprised that this hotel appeared to be quite a drive from Nairobi airport (considering it's titled a Nairobi hotel) - but we were delighted. It's like a little corner of paradise & you forget you're staying very near to the hustle & bustle of Nairobi.
The rooms were lovely with a balcony overlooking the gardens. The bars & restaurants weren't cheap, but quality was good.
Being our first night in Kenya we wanted to eat African - so went to the Nyama Chama (sorry if this is spelt wrong) restaurant, which has all the grilled meats of Africa - along with soup, salad, dessert etc. The food & service were excellent. They had a great band playing & then at 21:00 there was an African show. Now usually we avoid any 'cultural show' like the plague - but this one was brilliant 30-40 fantastic dancers & acrobats who were truely magical. It was a great introduction to Africa & I'd recommend it.
A plentiful breakfast was on offer very early in the morning (as most people are heading off early on Safari's).
A great introduction to Africa - thoroughly enjoyed spending our first night here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hels22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    250
    98
    34
    17
See reviews for
58
114
33
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here at a recent conference. Nice to have birds and frogs around, they do mask the noise and dust of nearby Thika Road. Hotel wanted to charge $25 per night for internet, on top of $180 for the room, at a conference. Breakfast was really good. They spray DDT for mosquito control. Staff was nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Get one down below that faces the pond, I was awoken every morning in the 600 block by someone sweep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisRollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The kind of "luxury" hotel that nickel and dimes you to death. E.g., use of the gym costs extra, wifi is outrageously expensive (and spotty and doesn't work in the rooms), and, like most hotel bars in my experience in Africa, meticulously measures out the slightest pour of gin imaginable. With that said, the ambience is perfect, setting the state nicely for the (admittedly tourist) safari experience (the upstairs Hemingway bar could not be a lovelier setting...unless there was more gin in my drink and free wifi, of course). Lots of food options, including a 24-hour restaurant which, while not exciting, is acceptable.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a long walk from the main building, if that matters. But they all look onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freebird2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Beautiful grounds, very nicely decorated rooms and many food choices (dinner only) and one 24 hour restaurant which was the only one I visited. Nice breakfast buffet with all the fixings.
The upstairs Hemingway bar was a very pleasant place to be. Beware of the skimpy drinks-one oz of liquor measured exactly.

The casino is old looking and not much fun. Good selection of gift shops to select your souvenirs without bargaining on the streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We started our visit to Kenya here and ended our stay here. The first part was excellent -- good service, good food for breakfast, nice room with comfortable beds on upper level. It is a beautiful property, tranquil and green. No complaints. We enjoyed our two night stay here and the meal and show in the night club area. The final one night stay was not so great. Lower level room with shower that completely wet the bathroom floor, wall, towels (only one was provided for this two bed room), etc. despite many efforts. Impossible to get dry bath sized towels, despite multiple calls to front desk. The desk person actually delivered one hand towel and two floor mats to us and did not understand the difference. Housekeepers totally unresponsive. I think they just did not have enough towels. This is a huge hotel and it was busy, but not filled. The Italian restuarant, though pricey, was good.

Room Tip: Watch the showers. Guard your bath towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
307 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed there a couple of time while on business trips. The location is on a major highway which make it excellent to move around yet the rooms are very far from the road and quiet you might think you are at a dafari lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Egyptian_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We had such a terrible experience at this hotel. I had loved it previously but will never go back again. Amazing setting but terrible service from front office staff spoiled it for me forever. Do not stay here!

Truly one of the worse experiences of my life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireVolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.8 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,119 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
966 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
971 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
469 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Property: Safari Park Hotel
Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing