We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
Ranked #21 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We had such a terrible experience at this hotel. I had loved it previously but will never go back again. Amazing setting but terrible service from front office staff spoiled it for me forever. Do not stay here!

Truly one of the worse experiences of my life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireVolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    220
    92
    32
    15
See reviews for
47
108
33
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Hotel was an introduction to Africa for our 12 day Safari of Kenya & Tanzania. After arriving from the airport (which was a surprisingly fast experience after the fire) we had some time to recover from the shock of Nairobi and its terrible oil & diesel pollution and crazy drivers. It was like an oasis in the middle of chaos after entering the gates to the property.
The park setting was inviting and you can see why so many weddings are held there. The place was full when we arrived late in the afternoon and we were issued a room a 5 minute walk away from reception close to the carpark. The room on the second floor overlooked the park like gardens but we had a noisey part with band in the property adjoining but we were told it would abate by 6pm which thankfully it did.
The room had polished wooden floor boards.The bathroom was dated, with a marble finish in need of a major renovation, all the gold fittings and taps were badly tarnished and pitted.
The mosquito netted bed was comfortable but on the hard side as were most hotels / lodges we stayed at.
The service was slow (due to the place being so full?). Our safe battery was low so we could not lock it and it took an hour for someone to change the battery, in the mean time, we missed checking out and orientating our selves with the rest of the property before dark.
The restaurants / casino and pool area (7 min walk) were on the other side of the property from our room and made it difficult for us to find our way back to our room after negotiating many dimmly lit winding paths ( luckily I had brought a torch to help).
The local experience of a giant BBQ of local meats Croc, ostrich, camel, buffalo, goat etc carved directly from the rotissory rod at your table was good.This was followed by a spectacular native modern dance show with acrobatics.
Overall the place was good, just date in places.
It would have been nice to have more time to explore the place as we had to move out early in the morning shortly after the buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to reception as some of the rooms are a long walk back if you forget something o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiclubtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Clearly Safari Park treats some clients better than others. My colleagues and I booked conference facilities and accommodation two weeks ago and even paid in advance as required. On arrival date, after lunch, when one of us went to check in, she was shocked to learn that we didn't have accommodation because apparently some other guests had decided to extend their stay...like that was our fault/problem. Then the alternative we were given was Utalii..seriously?? Anyway, his ended up being a huge inconvenience and very costly for us, as we had to organize transport to various destinations for everyone.

In my opinion, someone should have had the audacity to tell us early enough that there had been a mix-up/double booking and we would have found an alternative venue in good time. Needless to say, our project and our partners will no longer hold meetings or events at Safari Park, nor shall we recommend Safari Park to our visitors. Such a shame for a hotel that has been around for ever!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Made booking and paid 2 weeks in advance. On arrival we were advised to wait for our rooms to be cleaned. Asked for room key 6 hours later only to be told we had no rooms and they had made plans to send us to Utalii for the night. They did not even bother to look for us and inform us of the over booking once they discovered it and had the nerve to decline our request for transfer to a hotel of its caliber cos "they can't pay an expensive hotel"

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Titianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We only stayed one night in the hotel before going on our safari trip and it was a very nice experience. The gardens are great and the staff is really friendly. For dinner we had different options from italian an japanese to traditional African barbecue; we went to the African and tried crocodile, and ostrich while watching an African dance show (not do good) I strongly recommend the Spa and to finish the day take a drink in the Hemingway's bar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My coworkers and I consistently travel to Nairobi and we continue to patron this gem of a hotel because of the wonderful, friendly staff, their commitment to hospitality, the delicious food, gorgeous grounds, and the spacious well-appointed rooms. For the price, this hotel and its various allures cannot be beat in Nairobi. We always feel safe, comfortable, and "at home" when we stay here. This would be a wonderful place for a family or a couple to stay as well, and the variety of pools and outdoor things to do are simply wonderful! It's about a 20 minute cab ride from the airport (with no traffic) but it is in a nicer part of the city and is close to a variety of government and business interests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WineNDine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are organising a conference for up-to 400 people, Safari Park hotel is just the right hotel. Currently is the only hotel with this capacity.

We provided interpretation equipment to our client who had a conference of upto 400pax, and the hall fitted well. The staff are very pleasant and the surrounding filled with beautiful trees is just great. The services are excellent too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Property: Safari Park Hotel
Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing