We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable kenyan experience!”
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
Ranked #27 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a totally amazing hotel, with suites in Hemingway style! Hotel has enormous park territory to walk and have fun. Staff is very hospitable. For gamblers - it has casino as well.
Swimming pools are great! Gym is very professional, it has all the needful equipment, and the fee is affordable. Gym also has hammam and sauna.
This was unforgettable

Room Tip: Ask for a room not far from breakfast restaurant, because territory is really vast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahadirrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 580 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel was my first taste of Africa. Set in beautiful grounds with so many restaurants, bars and a casino you really didnt need to go any place else. Our room was really comfortable and I wished we could have stayed more then 2 nights. We had dinner the first night in the bbq restaurant which we really enjoyed. It is very similar to the famous Carnivore restaurant in Nairobi but half the price and you also get the see a live show with some fanatstic dancers. The hotel reception helped us organise a private taxi to do a tour around the city the next day as well.
I would definately stay here again if I was lucky enough to go back to Kenya

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel has beautiful, extensive and very well taken care grounds. It is also in a good location for touring Nairobi. The rooms and bathrooms could use some refurbishing, nonetheless, are spacious and comfortable. Ours had a romantic four poster bed and a comfortable balcony, where you could sit and enjoy a glass of wine, while enjoying the greenery.
Rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, safety deposit boxes, robes, slippers, tv, phone and a desk. The bathrooms are comfortable, with a marble counter top, and bathtub.
The hotel is very large and offers several excellent restaurants. We ate breakfast and lunch at Cafe Kigwa, which offers buffet style meals and a made to order station for eggs, pancakes, omelets, etc. We also tried the Nyama Choma Ranch for Kenyan roasted barbecued meats, which had good entertainment of the Safari Cats Dancers & Acrobats and on our last evening we enjoyed the Italian Restaurant La Piazzetta, with tasty pasta and pizzas in a nice atmosphere.
There is a shopping arcade at the back of the hotel with several shops. There was one, immediately as you enter to the right hand side, where we bought a few items. The owner and his wife are very friendly and the merchandise is well priced.
Overall, we had a very enjoyable experience at the Safari Park.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms have balconies. Top level rooms have a better view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here both before and after our safari and found the hotel to be excellent. We were travelling on a beach holiday after the safari and were able to leave our luggage at the hotel during our safari which was great.

Whilst Nairobi may have a reputation as unsafe you did not get that vibe at all at this hotel, the grounds and hotel itself were lovely, both rooms we stayed in were great quality and very clean, and the staff were all very polite, friendly and helpful.

We ate at the international restaurant and the african restaurant, we would recommend them both as the food quality was excellent and the show at the african restaurant is really good.

The upstairs bar is also worth a visit as its a lovely area and the bar prices are very reasonable.

Overall a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This beautiful place is about 20 km away from Nairobi,with well-maintained gardens and grounds.People prefer to stay at the hotel after or before the safari trips just like we did.It has like 4-5 A la Carte restaurants with different concepts and a very rich breakfast buffet.We had dinner at the African Restaurant,which was easily compatible with the one inside the town.They had a very nice local dance show and we loved it.After a very early Turkish Airlines landing,we were allowed to check-in at 4 am and it was a generous and lovely gesture.I would like to thank Stephen,the FOM on behalf of the hotel once again.Absolutely recommendable!

Room Tip: You can ask for rooms close to reception area,though didn't matter to us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AyhanAnkara_Turkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Location of hotel very inconvenient, and rooms are old, run-down and in bad shape.

However there are lost of restaurant in the premises and nice African shows and bands in the evening. Gym facilities poor, no air conditioning.

Conference facilities where good.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rheinhardt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Was here for two nights for a residential meeting. The staff were quite friendly. Contrary to my expectations, the rest of Nairobi is easily accessible by public means from the nearby Thika Road. It is an urban hotel with a very remote and relaxing feel.
The bathrooms, though, are dated and I failed to figure out the workings of the hot water in the bathroom. One evening the water was not hot at all and at other times the hot water was just warm enough for me not to mix the shower with cold water.
The breakfast buffet is full of variety.
My busy schedule did not allow me to to have a better experience of the hotel. Nevertheless, I did enjoy my stay at the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 169 in Nairobi
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
671 reviews
Hotel LaMada
#89 of 169 in Nairobi
12 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $194 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing