We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Safari Park Hotel to your Saves list
Safari Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We arrive at the Safaria Park after a long flight from NY via London. We were part of a 22 person tour group with Smartours. The hotel is on the outskirts of Nairobi so if you want to see the city; this is not the place to stay. We were greeted warmly with wet towels and fruit juice. We were given our room assignments and the porters whisked us and our bags to our room. The rooms were nice; we were in the 500 building--quiet. The room was clean; it had the typical amenities and the beds were comfortable. The grounds are really beautiful and a great place for a walk. The food was typical for a tour group; buffet for breakfast had a good variety including a omelett bar and we could eat all the fruits and vegetables without fear of illness. The dinner we had the next night was just like at the Carnivore Restaurant--all types of meat on skewers (goat, camel, crocodile, beef, chicken, lamb etc.) and a variety of side dishes--exotic but all right. We were also treated to a great show. We also spent one night here again on our way to Tanzania. This time dinner was on our own and we tried the Italian restaurant at the hotel. It was absolutely awesome. It is owned by a expat Italian who we watched make the pasta for the night. Fabulous meal at a very reasonable price. Also the shops at the back of the hotel had the best prices on souvenirs. They have an impressive variety of goods and will baragain on the price. Much better prices than the curio shops we stopped at during our safari in Kenya. All in all it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RareRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    218
    89
    29
    15
See reviews for
44
106
32
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
233 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed our first night in Kenya as part of our safari. Absolutely wonderful introduction to Kenya. Greeted at reception with chilled glasses of delicious fruit juice and then shown to our really comfortable room. The gardens are beautiful & there are 5 restaurants to choose from for meals. We tried the African restaurant & were not disappointed. The food was great and there was a show after dinner. Recommended for a stay for couples or a family.
During our stay the spa & one of the swimming pools were closed for maintenance but this can be excused as it is winter in Kenya.

Room Tip: Stay more than 1 night to make best use of the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in July 2011 while on tour with Smartours.
Hotel is excellent. Nice clean rooms. Nothing to complain about.

The only thing I would like to point are few tips for people staying there.
1. Do not buy anything is lobby gift shop.
They are 10+ gift shops at the back of hotel behind restaurants. Better deals.
Just go through main buffet area and you will see them.
Especially I can recommend store NR. 9. Very friendly owner and he offered us great
discounts.
2. Buffet breakfast or dinner is not a good deal + food is the same every day.
They have excellent regular menu food 1/2 price of buffet.
3. Every day they have dancers show + meet only, rodizio style dinner. We did not like the meets since most of them were chewy.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maciejpiotrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Hotel is several miles from the center of town but all game park lodges are safe and secure,, in town you need to use a little care. Most travel guides recommended a dining excursion in town to Carnivore for dinner,, probably the most famous place to eat in East Africa. Our tour operator in Kenya, Private Safari, told us that a similar restaurant on the grounds of the Safari Park Hotel would provide just as good an experience and more than meeted our expectations with Masai sword cooking over a BBQ with all types of different meat on each sword. The swords are brought to your table and meat sliced until you can no longer breathe or move. Tried 2 new meats, Nile crocodile and camel,, but they also had all the regulars cooking too including turkey and Masai beef. After dinner you sit and watch a floor show and drink down the local beers,, Tuskers.

Room Tip: Rooms look out over lovely park set
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxtrasafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is nice, the grounds are beautiful. The food was very good with a variety. The staff was very nice, but we had to ask repeatedly for basics like towels, toilet paper, etc. that should have been taken care of daily. This was more than a usual annoyance given that we were putting in long arduous days - did not want to come back and have to fight for basics like towels at the evening. The beds are very firm. Was fine at the beginning of the week, but by the end, my hips hurt - no padding!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingtravel1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I was very impressed by the natural beauty surrounding our rooms. I was equally impressed by the courteous staff, my room, and the view from my backyard. The buffet breakfast is very good. It is far from the central city, but that was not a problem for me as my group had its own driver. I would love to stay here again. It really does feel like a vacation in Africa when you stay in this oasis.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmenSandiego30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've stayed at Safari Park several weeks over the last five years, and I like it a lot.

Location - it is a bit outside of Nairobi (Thika Road), which can be good or bad depending on what you need (but definitely bad if mist of your business is s downtown Nairobi). The road is being reconstructed, which is a pain right now but will help a lot once finished.

Safari Park is a mini city, self contained with five restaurants and several swimming pools, kind of exploring Africa Disney style (sorry...not completely fair...) but done in a nice and stylish way. But the main reason why I like the place is the staff....absolutely amazing African hospitality, and they recognise you already on your second stay :-))

The Nyama Choma (African all you can eat BBQ) is a must, and excellent value for money (forget Carnivore...this is better). The Safari Cat show is a delight, although a bit of a tourist trap. And the night club downstairs can be great fun....if you have the right attitude...

Overall, a great choice if you prefer to stay away from Nairobi city center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kermit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#49 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel LaMada
#81 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Property: Safari Park Hotel
Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, ETB and Travelocity so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing