We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the worst i have experienced”
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #21 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“one of the worst i have experienced”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I was shocked when I saw the room and wanted to run away. The next day I was upgraded to superior after I emphasized that their picture of standard is completely far from what it is in real. The superior room was OK, but the standard room is like staying in a vandalised YMCA. I did not dare put out my clothes in the dirty closets.

I noticed that the restaurant beside the pool is full every lunch time. It was OK quality. There were security guards in every floor which made me wonder how safe I was really. The guard on my floor (Thomas) was very pleasant though. There is one room converted to a spa centre. One masseuse per time.

I have heard so many complaints from other guests about water, aircon, cleanliness, broken promises - that said, I am not being difficult. It seems like people become difficult when they do not get good service. Panafric is not exactly cheap so of course, people have expectations.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenstockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    320
    161
    24
    22
See reviews for
64
161
78
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

we stayed here for one night before, and two nights after a five day safari. It was expensive for what you got but compared to the other hotels we saw when dropping off other people from the safari it seemed good. The service was excellent and the restaurant and lobby area was really nice with a great atmosphere, the breakfast was AMAZING! but lunch and dinner restaurant food was very disappointing - but cheap. Overall it was okay, big room with comfy bed and good shower but the rooms just lacked any wow factor. I would recommend this hotel if you're just doing a stop over, it seems quite business-y as they do a lot of conferences. There was security on every floor and huge gates with guards which was reassuring considering some of the things we'd heard about Nairobi. We went to the spa which is not much of a spa... just one girl in an apartment, bit odd! Have plenty of small change for tipping EVERYONE!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma-puddle-duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the Panafric for a night before starting on our safari. The hotel has a muted charm, though a tad dated in some respects.
Service, as evidenced during check-in, check-out and room service was efficient and on time.
The restaurant downstairs (Flame Tree) is a lively place, with little TVs next to the bar and a live band. This contrasts nicely with the outdoor seating overlooking the road, which can be peaceful in the evenings when the traffic is minimal. The food was passable - my steak came in dry.
The only drawback seemed to be the location. We were advised not to step out as the downtown area is mostly government offices and becomes quite deserted in the evenings.
The Panafric met our needs without any frills.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhyncus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Simply lovely and professionnal. Will be your excellent choice in Kenya

Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank IssoufO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guyana
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

This was for me a great stay, from arrival on day one to departure on day five. There are guards on every floor, who will always salute you and give you a total assurance of being safe at all times. The complimentary breakfast was just super, and the Kenyan coffee is just great. The service at breakfast time is just wonderful. Dinner at the Pan Afric can be modest and relative low in cost. Our group went over to the Sarova Stanley and were treated to a wonderful service and meal at theThai Restaurant there. Even though my room lacked AC, I found Nairobi to be very cool at this time of the year. It was great to acually walked into the city and to be a part of the hussle and bussle of the people. By the way, please try the massage services at the Pan Afric, just great. I loved this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2010

2 older woman and a grandson stayed at panafric recently for 8 nights. We cannot fault the staff, they are so abliging and friendly. From the meet and greet at the door to the housemaids, we found them very good at their jobs, and made you feel really special. The hotel was centrally situated, we could walk to the CBD. As for the restuarant, we ate there most of the time, food was great, breakfast was the biggest choice we have seen. No complaints from us at all. Some people expect too much sometimes. If ever we go back the hotel will be our first choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

For all of the photos and the full review, visit our site, TheVacationAdvisors.

We found that there wasn't too much to do within walking distance of the hotel other than visit Central Park.

The rooms were small yet comfortable. We stayed in two different double rooms and both rooms had two single beds pushed together. The beds in both rooms were identical and very comfortable. The bathrooms were also small but had all the necessities, including decent toiletries. Each room had satellite TV and wireless internet. The furniture in the rooms was outdated but adequate for Nairobi. In the evenings, after it rained, the staff usually plugged in a mosquito repellent lamp in the room to kill mosquitoes. Unfortunately, the staff wasn't always consistent in providing these as they forgot to provide one in our room 25% of the time.

Overall, this is an average hotel in Nairobi. The rooms are clean but small. The location is quiet, which depending on your criteria, could be a good or bad thing. The hotel should add a fitness center for the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVacationAdvisors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
476 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,133 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
InterContinental Nairobi
#23 of 164 in Nairobi
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Property: Sarova Panafric
Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing