We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An 'OK' hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An 'OK' hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

I stayed in the hotel just one night but also spend a full day in the conference center.
The rooms are not more than ok.
The breakfast is great and so was dinner at the same restaurant.
The Pool Restaurant for lunch was just ok.
Wi-fi connection was free, but slow. It keeps disconnecting and you need to re-login.
Nice gift shop.
The staff of the hotel is GREAT and they are friendly and go to lenght to help.

Room Tip: Try to get a roon at the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QTtravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear QTtravaler,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric even though your stay was short and are pleased that you enjoyed the variety of food and found the staff friendly, I will be sure to share your kind words.

We have noted your feedback on wifi and would like to reassure you that we are currently taking steps to upgrade this service and we trust this shall exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    302
    157
    24
    22
See reviews for
60
155
75
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Disclaimer: I visited the hotel but did not stay there.In my view, although the entrance to the hotel is top notch, as one approaches the rooms it feels like an apartment block was converted to a hotel. The facilities in the room e.g. CRT tv. Come on, in an age where big screen LCDs prevail, how can you put CRT in the room?Even the quality of the fittings and furnishings including the doors, etc. could be a notch higher. I am confident though that they can easily make this change to be a true 4 star establishment.

Helpful?
Thank gontadu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Gontadu,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at The Sarova Panafric.

We note your feedback on the need to refurbish and are currently taking steps to upgrade our rooms and we trust that this shall indeed exceed your expectations.

We hope that you will get a chance to stay at Sarova Panafric the next time you are in Nairobi and experience our Refreshing African Hospitality.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were welcomed by a very friendly staff after Etihad Airways ruined our connection to our safari, and we were stranded one night in Nairobi. Knowing it was our honeymoon they even upgraded us to a beautiful suite with a view of the city. We had been so sad, but suddenly they made our day! Such a lovely room. And they had a very good restaurant and bar. We felt the facilities were of a very high standard. Happy and smiling staff everywhere you turn. They were so accomodating to our needs throughout our stay. Such a high standard of care for their guests. It gave us a very good impression of Nairobi, and overall a truly pleasant surprise. Next time, perhaps, we will plan on staying in Nairobi and make a point to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Jawaina,

We are glad that you took the time to share your experience at Sarova Panafric.

Thank you for sharing the beginning of your new life together with us. We are glad to hear you were pleased with the room and restaurant and for your kind words on the staff.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in Nairobi.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

The best points of the hotel - the staff are lovely, the security is good, and the breakfast is fabulous. Fruit, cereal, toast, eggs, bacon, danish pastries, cake, muffins, fish, salad, pretty much you name it, they've got it. The charm of the staff, their smiles, their friendliness, cannot be overstated. Security is good too - essential in Nairobi, with one guard per two floors overnight, and two or more on the front doors 24/7. The doorman in black kofiya (cap) and red kanzu (robe) is a great touch too - complete with a cow's tail to wave around - it blesses the guests, apparently.

The rooms are very tired and could do with a bit of an update - if that isn't possible, a few things like bright cushions would help greatly. Hotel a bit overpriced for the quality of accommodation, but perhaps you are paying more for the service and the security, than you are for anything else...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn-npl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel from the great food to the friendly staff. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words.

We take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your feedback on the need to refurbish. We are currently taking steps to upgrade our rooms and we trust this shall exceed your expectations. Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

I enjoyed my stay while on business travel as the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was to a good standard. However I think the cost is quite expensive. If they could be say $20.00 less per night I think that would be more reasonable. It's a really nice place to stay for a few days if you wish to feel a bit pampered and breakfast was ace. I would go back again but I woudl need to save up for it first!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millerbakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Ms. Millerbakes,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome guests feedback.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric as your hotel of choice and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words. We believe we offer great value for our pricing but your concern on the rate has been noted.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and kindly let me know when next you will be in Nairobi so we may personally meet.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

To arrive in Nairobi and be greeted so warmly, from the taxi driver, to the security people at the hotel and then at reception - it really makes such a difference as a first time traveller to Kenya. The hotel was fine as a stopover, the rooms were clean with a king bed, the bathroom is dated but fine for overnight. Breakfast buffet is more than adequate and a great choice for all. The staff really make the hotel and if this is the kind of hospitality we will get throughout Kenya and Tanzania we look forward to the rest of our holiday!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Ms. Sally,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate & welcome your feedback.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your hotel experience as a first time traveler to Kenya. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and we thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to hosting you again and trust you will enjoy the rest of your stay in East Africa.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

this was just too much. and the nice service of the hotel staff could not make up for this. I had no hot water on two of the three nights I stayed in the hotel.
if this is not enough, the internet connection is so awful that I don't understand how they dare to tell that they have free wifi. it crashes 50 times an hour - not only in the room, also in the lobby, where it supposedly should work best.
absolutely unacceptable for a hotel at this price range.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome your feedback.

First, we wish to most sincerely express our regret on your experience with the water and the wi-fi and the fact that the problem persisted is a major concern for us.

Secondly, please know that we have resolved these issues and do not expect a recurrence of the same. This has been a learning experience for us and we thank you once again for pointing out our short comings so that we may improve.

Please let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Property: Sarova Panafric
Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing