We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel while on holiday in Nairobi. It's conveniently located near the CBD. It's on Kenyatta Venue, which is bustling and during peak times you get to watch the bumper to bumper traffic, of which Nairobi is famous for. I was very suprised at the amount of security in and around the hotel. But after a few days you get used to it. The door man is very pleasant and after a day or two he would greet me by name. The rooms are are neat, clean and very comfortable. On my first night, I arrived back at the hotel at about 3am after sampling Nairobi's nightlife & was woken up by a lot of banging in the room next door at 8am. At first the lady I spoke to, Winnie, seemed to not understand my problem and told me that she couldn't help as there were no other rooms in the hotel.After making it clear to her that I wouldn't accept that and basically raising hell, I asked to speak to the general manager, they asked me to have breakfast while they see what they could do. After breakfast, a room on the top floor of the hotel, materialized and suddenly everyone became very apologetic and understanding.I didn't experience any other problems after this. The staff was now very helpful and I enjoyed the rest of my stay!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Thandz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at Sarova Panafric, but most importantly, the service provided to you. We strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests in order to make your stay with us great. Apologies about the noise experienced from your room. I understand that this might have been inconveniencing to you. We were happy that our associates were able to be of help to you and make your stay more comfortable.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    283
    153
    23
    20
See reviews for
59
147
73
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I staved in the Sarova Panafric for a week between 12-19th May.
First to get the bad bits out of the way. The hotel could do with a bit of a refurb. There is a little bit of tiredness about the decor and facilities and the menu at the restuarant is quite small.
Also - and most annoying - the wifi is very patchy and weak, which made it a bit difficult to work in my room. And there are are not enough power outrlets in the room.
But those are the only negatives.
On the positive side the place is warm, friendly and convivial.
All the staff were courteous and approachable and would bend over backwards to help.
Within a few days they all knew my name and remembered it.
Most of the food was scrummy and the hotel is in a great location if you have meetings in the CBD.
It's also clean and secure - there's a security guard on every floor 24/7.
I really liked the little touches they had during my stay - especially the creative and artistic use of towels to create designs on my bed at turning down time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoFo74UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at Sarova Panafric, but most importantly, found the service provided to you warm, friendly and convivial. We strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests in order to make your stay with us great and we're happy to note that our staff was courteous and approachable and would bend over backwards to help. We also understand the importance of technology in the current world and we therefore take steps ahead in improving the system so as to ensure higher broadband speeds and therefore provide efficiency to our guests accessing it. Apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the technical hitch but I'd like you to know that this has been sorted out.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Panafric is a great option for the traveller who wish to stay close to the Central Business District while still enjoying an amount of tranquility away from the buzz of Nairobi.

Although its respectable age, Panafric has successfully adapted to increasing demands of business and private travellers alike. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The Flame Tree restaurant is excellent. But most of all, the staff at Panafric is of the utmost quality. Everyone, from the askaris and cleaners, to the waiters, conference managers and receptionists are going to great lenghts to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The only things I find lacking is that there is no gym and that some of the common areas (such as the pool) would need a bit of refurbishment for the hotel to be among the best and most priceworthy in Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intonarumori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your feedback on the gym. The plans are definitely in the pipeline to construct one in order to enhance our guests' stay. Once this is done, we will be sure to let you know of the developments. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

All staff were professional and well-mannered. Room service food was amazing, laundry service is above par (well folded and cleaned). Rooms are slightly old and have a 10+ year old tube TV. Ambiance is still really enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newtraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed the ambiance of your room. Its great to hear that our room service food was amazing as we thrive to offer our guests with unmatched dining experiences. We hope that next time you will get time to enjoy our succulent Ribs & Chops during our Wednesday Jazz Live and steak Fridays to a broader dinning experience.

Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Panafric has an excellent and well managed restaurant.
The food is well done and the steaks are to die for. Try the T-Bone steak. There is no greater T bone steak than this in Nairobi.
The restaurant also has a good ambiance and an excellent veranda seating

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your meal at the Flame Tree Restaurant but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed the Steak Friday promotion. Its great to hear that our steaks are the best steaks in town as we thrive to offer our guests with unmatched dining experiences. We hope that next time you will swing by for some succulent Ribs & Chops during our Wednesday Jazz Live.

Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed in Sarova Panafric with my fiancé for 4 days.As soon as we alighted from the airport cab that brought us,we were welcomed at the door by a concierge in a colorful presumably national costume and once we got to the check-in desk we were offered napkins to clean our hands and a refreshing glass of apple and ginger drink.I was delighted at the reception.
I would like to find something to criticize but honestly I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Sarova.Our room was on the fifth floor with a stunning view;very clean and stocked with mini toiletries in the bathroom,the food was delicious and plentiful,staff were so friendly and welcoming.There was a mini bar in our room stocked with delicious nibbles and drinks;and I have a sweet tooth!trust me,I kept them busy re-stocking that bar each day!The pool was clean and fair sized.
And the bed?so comfy,I was reluctant to leave it in the mornings...will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The fifth floor definately
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Touristbee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed every element of your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Its also great to note that the welcome drink, compliments of the chef's elixir of the day, enhanced your welcome experience. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We are a training & consultancy firm and as such, we conduct trainings on a regular basis. We have no training facilities of our own and as such, we always outsource. We conducted a training involving 20 people at the sarova panafric on the dates indicated. We were assigned a room on the 2nd floor. The service provided was excellent. The food was absolutely great. The two areas for improvement are;

1. Provide an extra toilet for the conference room provided on 2nd floor. 20 people shared 1 toilet which ended up with people queueing
2. Ensure that the cutlery needed for refreshments served inside the conference room is availed together with the refreshments. The cutlery provided came way after the refreshments had been set up for the 10 o'clock & 4pm tea on both days of the training.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmburu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mburu,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your conferencing with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed excellent customer service and found our food to absolutely great! Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your feedback on the two areas and I assure you that we have taken your recommendations into consideration. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Property: Sarova Panafric
Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing