We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kenyan hospitality”
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #22 of 168 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I recently spent two nights at this delightful hotel. On arrival, our group was warmly welcomed by the door staff and a complimentary glass of refreshing juice offered despite the lateness of the hour. Rooms were swiftly allocated, and our luggage carried for us. The accomodation was very pleasant- a large twin-bedded room with cool, tiled floor and large patio window looking out on to the street below, plus a fridge with mini-bar, TV and writing desk. There was plenty of hanging space, and an electronic safe in the wardrobe to store valuables when out and about.The en-suite shower was large, and the bathroom clean with plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries provided. There was minimal noise from the outside corridor during the night and early in the morning . The bed was very comfortable, and I slept well. Breakfast was served in the downstairs restaurant, with a large choice of cereals, fresh fruit, breads, and hot dishes. The staff were attentive and friendly, and we were able to sit outside in the attractive garden area which made a lovely start to the day. On our return in the evening, we were given a delicious evening meal- very tasty and hot, with the opportunity to fill our plates several times if we wanted. I would definitely recommend this hotel- nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were all so friendly and welcoming. A smashing place to begin our African adventure!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Nicky,

We are absolutely thrilled to note that Sarova Panafric was you're group's first stop in Nairobi on your way to Safari and that we had the great opportunity to make you feel welcome. Here at Sarova Panafric, we believe that the initial experience in a city influences the overall perception of the city. We truly hope that your positive experience with us had a great impact on the rest of your safari. Its great to note you found our service lovely and enjoyed the excellent food; both lunch and dinner. I shall share your feedback with our chef and team and I'm certain they will be excited to hear.

Thank you for recommending Sarova Panafric and we truly look forward to hosting you again, hopefully soon.

Warmest Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 764 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here one night for our honey moon, on our way to safari. From check-in to check-out we received best service imaginable. We even came back from safari on the day of our flight back to europe, and used the facilities at the hotel (except a room) without any cost (the pool, wifi, luggage room, restaurants of course). The rooms were ok, but it seemed like the balcony door had no lock, which made my wife a little skeptical.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Jan,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

It’s a joy to receive glowing feedback from our guests, and especially as it pertains to excellent service and food. We pride ourselves on providing fantastic service, and we work each day to enhance the guest experience even further. We're also excited to note that you enjoyed all our guest amenities including the pool. The environment is quite relaxing and invigorating and we hope the next time you visit, you will try our Tulia Spa. Just to note, all the sliding doors leading to the rooms balconies have locks which are labeled to aid you know how to lock. As we adhere to stringent health and safety policies, this is a standard that is uncompromisable.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. It would be our pleasure.

Warmest Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here for 7 days for a series of meetings so I feel adequately expereinced to judge this hotel.
This is not the fanciest poshest of establishments (the restaurant and terrace are lovely; the pool area could do with a bit of an upgrade) but it sure does make your stay comfortable.
Breakfast buffet serves a wide variety of fruit, breads, eggs etc; the dinner menu has a variety of really tasty meals. Be ware the 28% surcharge on all food in the restaurant though.
The rooms are perfectly comfoirtable, tidyt, the bedding of great quality and the bathroom equipped with hairdryers and toiletries.
The highlight however, are the staff. Whether the wide smiling security guards on every floor who greet you with a salute or a jambo, Benson and Felix at reception, the many wonderful housekeeping and room service staff who made me feel special. And Helen, in the spa, who gave me the massage of a lifetime. These people deserve awards for their kindness and could teach us South Africans a thing or two about how to treat guests.
So a big thank you for every smile that came my way.
(There is also a great running route past state house and into an Arboretum just outside the hotel-about 6km return and very worthwhile and safe.)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friederike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Friederike,

Thank you for sharing your Sarova Panafric experience with us.

We genuinely care about each guest’s experience, and we’re so pleased it shows through our guest rooms and services. We also strive to ensure that our guests' stay is of utmost comfort and this includes providing uncompromisable security measures. We are also glad you had a chance to enjoy the Tulia Spa, one of the Hotel’s best amenities and we'll be sure to pass your compliments to Helen.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights Jan 13 & 14 and we had 2 rooms. In advance we asked for newly renovated rooms as others' reviews were bad. Upon check in we asked the staff if we were being given newly renovated rooms and were told we were. However when we got to our rooms they were old, dilapidated and horrible!!! Definitely not ever renovated!

We spent 2 days trying to speak with a manager and got nowhere!

Front desk staff was dishonest and did nothing!

Rooms were not only old but were dirty and smelly!

We tried resolving after our return home with the manager and although he agreed we paid good money and did not get value for our money, to date he has not issued us with a refund! In fact he tried calling us a second time COLLECT from Kenya without our permission and he won't put anything in writing via email.

DO NOT STAY AT THE SAROVA PANAFRIC!!!!!! You will be disgusted and get ripped off!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Theresa,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay at Sarova Panafric and would also like to express my sincere appreciation for your Trip Advisor review.

I am saddened to hear about your room experience. Indeed, we encourage our guests to give us feedback so that we’re able to take up corrective action. Immediately after reading your review, I thoroughly investigated your situation to understand what the mishap was. Your experience was indeed quite surprising as we have stringent check in procedures that see to our front office and reservations associates strictly adhere to listed details from the Travel Agents or bookers. In your case, as discussed on the telecom, I understand that the Travel Agent you were using instructed for you to be checked into a Superior room and paid for the same. In such situations, we strongly advise clients to double check and confirm any room details with their particular bookers especially if there has been a change of room allocation. This will enable you have no hustle upon check in.

We continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels via renovations as in the Executive rooms & suite. Renovations of the Superior rooms is in the pipeline and we'll definitely communicate once commissioned. Not only do we want each guest experience to be seamless, but we also take cleanliness with the utmost seriousness. We can assure you that our team does take the utmost care with all products, not the least of which being rooms: our rooms are cleaned every single day, unless requested by guest not to, with standard, stringent and uncompromising procedures. The guest rooms are then inspected by the Executive Housekeeper to ensure everything is in order. With that being said, we're certainly not making excuses, and we assure you this will never happen again.

I do hope the next time your travels bring you to Nairobi, you will return to Sarova Panafric and be sure to let me know. It’ll be a pleasure to meet with you.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over a 2 weeks period as this was the main hotel for our safari's of Kenya and Tanzania. It appears the majority of safari companies use this hotel as the overnight hotel/pick up/drop off point. It is also a very busy hotel with a lot of conferences being held on a daily basis.
Check in can be very slow even with a large number of staff. The staff are very pleasant and try their best.
On the first night we stayed we were in the older rooms overlooking the front/main road, these rooms are very very old. Very basic room, very hard and low bed, disgusting bathroom. The room we were in had a major problem and after two phone calls no one came to help us, so we had to put up with very bad fumes all night as there were no windows to open.
The next morning after advising management of the issue and the lack of staff to resolve, they could not do enough to apologise and promise better upon our return.
What a pleasant surprise on our 2nd night when we were put in the Executive area (new rooms) overlooking the skyline. The rooms were very modern, great beds, very clean, comfortable, flat screen tv and wi-fi that actually worked well, unlike the older rooms. The 3rd night we were in the new rooms again and overlooking the pool. What a difference from old to new rooms you wouldn't know you were in the same hotel.
The restaurant/bar downstairs is very comfortable and always busy, great food but service very slow. Breakfast is the typical buffet style, be early as it gets so many people you may not get a table and once food runs out it takes a while for fresh food to come out.
Hint, the Pizza is to die for, watch out for the steak unless you can chew on rubber.
We would stay here again if on safari and appreciate the help of management in resolving our issue quickly.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask and get rooms in the Executive area or above. Don't stay in the Superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re so pleased that you chose Sarova Panafric for your 3 nights in the city.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly. Plans of performing a guest bathroom enhancement are in the pipeline and shall be commissioned to begin soon. And we’ll be performing additional enhancements in the rooms in the coming months and years that we trust our guests will take great pleasure in. We’ve shared your comments with our department heads, as we’re always striving to better ourselves and to make each guest visit magical.

We hope you may have the opportunity to return again to Sarova Panafric.

Warm Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Located at the edge of the diplomatic area and the down town, this place is a comfortable place if you prefer a quiet evening after a long day work where there is also a possibility of having a yet another business meeting in the evening! Food is certainly a high point and the staff is very cordial and welcoming. It is not a very fancy place but very utalitarian and an understated elegance. It is certainly a very good choice for the business visits, but is also good for the travellers who are on vacation. The national park and other places for outing are at comfortable distance.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the road are good ones as they also give a skyline view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shruti_upadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We’re glowing reading your review; thank you. We couldn’t be more thrilled or honored that you had such a wonderful experience at the Hotel – and out and about in our neighborhood too. We’re so proud of our warm, welcoming and cordial staff, as we know that service is what makes the difference between a good stay and a great one.

Many thanks once again for choosing Sarova Panafric; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another special stay.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed twice each time for 1 night while on Safari

Our 1st stay the room was very dated and not very clean (in the bathroom). The 2nd time (9 days later) we asked and received a better room. Having stayed in 2 other Sarova locations, this is by far the weakest hotel.The breakfast selection was very limited.

However the service is generally very good and everyone genuinely wants to help. As this was our 1st and last night on the Safari, I would chose elsewhere and if you do stay insist on a renovated / clean room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilya42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly. We're absolutely saddened by your experience with the air conditioner, mosquitoes and your bathroom. With the notable ever-changing client needs, we continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels via renovations as in the Executive rooms & suite. Renovations of the Superior rooms is in the pipeline and we'll definitely communicate once commissioned.

Apologies for the room situation. Not only do we want each guest experience to be seamless, but we also take cleanliness with the utmost seriousness. We can assure you that this is very out of character and that our team does take the utmost care with all products, not the least of which being rooms: our rooms are cleaned every single day, unless requested by guest not to, with standard, stringent and uncompromisable procedures. The guest rooms are then inspected by the Executive Housekeeper to ensure everything is in order. With that being said, we're certainly not making excuses, and we assure you this will never happen again. In regards to the breakfast at the Flame Tree Restaurant, we have received numerous reviews about the variety of the spread which is one of the offerings our guests enjoy. .Having said this, our chef is readily available to cater for any special requests as we continuously strive to ensure our guests' stay is of utmost comfort.

We do look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#9 of 168 in Nairobi
518 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 168 in Nairobi
1,173 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 168 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#15 of 168 in Nairobi
1,049 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $114 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing