We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant staff ... great welcome to Nairobi”
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #24 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights in November 2012 and couldnt have asked for more. We had a few different family members staying for different lengths of time and so had the opportunity to see both the superior and executive rooms (6 in total I think) which were all very nice and spacious and to a very good standard. The executive rooms were more modern however and had little things such as iron and ironing board in the room where as with the superior rooms you had to request them, as well as flat screen TV's etc.

The best aspect of this hotel though was without doubt the hotel staff - without exception very friendly and helpful doing whatever they can to assist you. This hotel appears aimed at the business customers for conferences etc but that actually seems to work to the advantage of everyone and should certainly not put off people coming for leisure stays.

We stay in Nairobi every couple of months and so have had opportunity to try many hotels - without doubt none will match the service levels experienced here in terms of willingness.

Location wise it is pretty ideal for Jomo-Kenyatta airport being 15-20 mins away (assuming light traffic) as well as central Nairobi etc.

Security is quite a hot topic in Nairobi at the moment and the hotel feels very secure - boots of cars are searched before entering hotel grounds as well as people and bags when entering hotel reception. It was also reassuring to see a security guard on each level of the hotel 24/7 as well as secure doors requiring a valid room key to enter the corridors to the executive rooms.

The food is of a very good standard with a very good choice available. Admittedly the food is not what you would call cheap and here it shows I feel that the hotel is aimed at the international business traveller in mind however, I wouldnt say it is expensive and certainly the quality and portion sizes more than give you value for money.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in Nairobi - I really dont think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Mark,

Happy New Year!

We are excited to read that you and your family members had a great time while staying at Sarova Panafric. It’s great that you loved the recently renovated executive rooms which are 81 in total and are a category higher than the superior rooms with more amenities. Most of all, we’re elated that the staff and service were exceptional, as we hope they always are, and good to note that throughout your stay in various Nairobi hotels, you found our service levels unmatched. It is without a doubt that one of our primary goals is to give unrivaled and seamless service and create commendable guest memories. We are proud to be one of the top business hotels in Nairobi, however, we equally provide a conducive environment for all our clients’ needs and most importantly, love to host families! We’re glad your family felt welcome.

We’re pleased you enjoyed our prime location and hope that you took advantage of this and had a chance of talking a stroll to the Central Business District on one of the occasions. We also pride ourselves in providing top security levels in order to ascertain a secure and comfortable environment for our guests. This should be the least of our guests’ concerns and with all the top security measures put in place, we have managed to achieve this. It’s lovely to note that you enjoyed your meals and found the food to be of good standards and of variety. Our Chef and his team are delighted to receive your feedback and are eagerly awaiting your next visit so as to charm you with the new menu about to be launched. We hope you had a chance to try out our Steak Fridays and Ribs & Chops on Wednesdays paired up with the Flame Tree Bar’s cocktails.

We truly hope you and your family will return to Nairobi again and once you do, kindly send me an email on Anthony.ngunga@sarovahotels.com as I would like to personally meet with you and welcome you. We look forward to hosting you again.

Warmest Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 776 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, 22 and 23 December. Service was absolutely lovely, excellent food for lunch and dinner in their restaurant. I would definitely recommend if you are flying into Nairobi woth the intention of going on safari, it is a very good first stop.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeonSmedlyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Leone,

Happy New Year!

We are absolutely thrilled to note that Sarova Panafric was you're first stop in Nairobi on your way to Safari and that we had the great opportunity to make you feel welcome. Here at Sarova Panafric, we believe that the initial experience in a city influences the overall perception of the city. We truly hope that your positive experience with us had a great impact on the rest of your safari. Its great to note you found our service lovely and enjoyed the excellent food; both lunch and dinner. I shall share your feedback with our chef and team and I'm certain they will be excited to hear.

Thank you for recommending Sarova Panafric and we truly look forward to hosting you again, hopefully soon.

Warmest Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have always stayed at the Sarova Stanley but decided to stay at the Sarova Panafric in order to see how different the two hotels were even though they are just a couple of miles apart. Panafric is more exclusively located and has a feel of serenity probably because of the green vegetation around it or the mere location outside the Central Business District. The staff both at the hotel (Rose and Patrick were awesome) and the restaurant (Catherine was charming) are what added to my comfortable stay at the hotel. I know I'll be back for sure.
On the negative side, the Checkout process is still the same mess where they "detain" you at the front desk while they verify if you "stole" something from the mini bar (they claim they don't keep your credit card record for such charges). I was also surprised to find out that they do not have central database for their customers which means if you've stayed at Sarova Stanley before, your record does not exist at Sarova Panafric and you'll have to register all over again even though they have internet access.
Overall experience was positive.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Swimming pool are more fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! It's great to note that you found our prime location exclusive and took note of the meticulously manicured gardens that provide the serenity to our guests. Without a doubt, we strive to provide exceptional service to our guests as it always should be. We have shared your feedback with Catherine, Rose and Patrick as well as the head of departments and they are elated to know that they 'added the comfortable' element to your stay. We apologize about the delay during the checkout process; it is standard procedure to confirm any mini bar consumption but shouldn't delay the client's check out. This is definitely not in accordance to our standards and be assured that we have looked into it to ensure seamless flow. We also appreciate your feedback on the guest database. However, this isn't possible at the moment as we do not share the same server as Sarova Stanely. Having said that, we will look into it to identify the possibilities for future references.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warmest Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed the last two weeks in November, running a training course in the hotel.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful - more so than any other hotel I have stayed in.

Food was expensive but generous portions and extremely good quality.
Pizzas were surprisingly good as were the steaks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchells07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Michell,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Its great to note that you enjoyed the pizzas and tried our steaks at restaurant. The Flame Tree Restaurant boasts for providing a great culinary experience and we're elated to read that you were around to try our Steak Fridays. We hope that next time you're around, you'll try our generous Ribs & Chops potions during Wednesday Jazz Live. We’re also elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us during your training great. It's incredibly rewarding to know that a guest has experienced just that.

We do look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sarova Panafric is located within walking distance from the centre of Nairobi. I was adviced to walk alone during the day light only. This is a cosy hotel with nice restaurant and friendly staff. The rooms are rather basic but OK. The hotel has plenty of well catered conference rooms for meetings. Bear in mind the traffic in Nairobi is congested and allow enough time getting to the airport.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are more quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Jari,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you liked our rooms plus the lovely Flame Tree restaurant. But above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us during your conference great. We also pride ourselves for our central location. We do hope you had a chance to walk around the city and view some attraction sites.

We do look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at the Sarova Panafric for one week whilst I engaged in some charity work for the company I work with. The hotel is well laid out with lots of places to 'hang out' in our down time. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed and there are very friendly security guards at each floor! The food was good to great and the staff were absolutely fabulous!!! A fantastic stay in Nairobi made better by this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Sarova Panafric experience with us.

We genuinely care about each guest’s experience, and we’re so pleased it shows through our guest rooms and services. We also strive to ensure that our guests' stay is of utmost comfort and this includes providing uncompromisable security measures. We hope you had a chance to enjoy the Hotel’s amenities such as The Tulia Spa.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The foyer for this hotel has very obviously been upgraded, so when we saw our room it was disappointing. The room was very basic and clean with a TINY bathroom, but has seen better days. We had a room that faced the street and it was quite noisy.

Having said that, the staff were friendly and the restaurant was very nice. The breakfast buffet had a huge variety of food and it was tasty.

The hotel had internet access in the business centre that was very high speed. There was high security at the door to get in, which made it feel safe.

Compared to other hotels we stayed at during our trip to Kenya, this one was not one of the best, but it was clean and felt safe.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyles1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Kyles,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and rooms clean. It is also notable that you appreciated the security offered at the hotel. With the notable ever-changing client needs, we continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels via renovations as in the Executive rooms & suite. Renovations of the Superior rooms is in the pipeline and we'll definitely communicate once commissioned.

Its great to note that to know that you enjoyed the variety of the breakfast at The Flame Tree restaurant. But above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed the facilities that are destined to make your stay all the more exceptional and the security. Security is Top Of Mind at Sarova Panafric and we continuously strive to ensure our guests' stay is of utmost comfort.

We do look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
545 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,200 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,086 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#20 of 169 in Nairobi
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $97 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing