We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #23 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I found all the staff I dealt with professional, courteous, helpful,
efficient and friendly. I was met with a smile at the door as well as at
the reception desk. The check in was done efficiently and the room was
clean and comfortable.

The staff at the conference facilities were helpful and attentive and
more than one asked me if they could assist me when I walked outside the
room looking for something. The projector was set up each morning and I
did not need to ask anybody to to it.

The staff at the lunch venue as well as in the restaurant were also
friendly, helpful and efficient. The guards on the various floors were
just as friendly and courteous and the people at the service centre
assisted me with internet connection with efficiency and understanding.

Sometimes one finds good staff in a hotel, but there always seems to be
one or two people who do not live up to the quality of service one is
striving for. The staff at the Sarova were however without exception
were very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Ben,

Your feedback is highly appreciated.

We’re delighted that you found our associates professional, courteous, helpful,
efficient and friendly. We do delight ourselves in providing exceptional service to our guests. It is also great to note that you found the check in process efficient and your rooms clean and comfortable. We’ve shared your kudos with our staff, which they will be delighted to know that their passion for providing exceptional service was noticed.

We hope you’ll have the opportunity to return in the future, whether for business or pleasure.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience at Sarova Panafric.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
There are newer reviews for Sarova Panafric
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 754 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in Sarova Panafric in September. The hotel is nice, especially the entrance, lobby and the garden. The staff welcomed us very nicely and we were given a nice and quite room as requested. The food was good and the staff were nice. We felt very save beacuse there is a lot of security in the hotel. The city center is quite near, it was approx. 15-20 min walk from the hotel. We had time to visit a local market and then we took a trip to giraffe center with a local agency guide, which was also nice.
Everything was very pleasing untill the moment we should meet our safari representative.
Before arriving to the hotel we wanted to make reservation for the safari in Masai Mara in advance, because we were very limited with time. We wrote an email to the hotel and asked them if they can arrange a safari for us and also train tickets to Mombasa. They gave as a contact for Marble travel agency, which later contacted us and we have made a reservation and also payed some money in advance. When we were supposed to meet the lady, we asked the staff at the reception that we are waiting the lady at the restaurant. (we gave the staff the name of that lady and also the name of the agency). Since the lady was late, we went to the reception asking if she has maybe arrived and asked for us and if they can call the agency to check if somebody is coming. Although they have suggested this agency via email, they told us that they don't know this Marble travel agency and that we should go to conference center to make a call by ourselves. We did go there, but the call was apparently 1500 kenyan shilings - 15 €, I had to ask twice if this is the rate for local call and if they are sure, so we decided to wait a litter longer. In the meantime the lady arrived in the lobby asking for us and the staff told her that we are not hotel guests and when she insisted we had a meeting they told her to go another wrong way to look for us. We actually managed to meet, but only beacuse we were both persistent. So we did take the safari with this agency and it was just great!! We later asked at the reception what is the cost for the local call from the room and were told only 30 shilings - 3 eur? So obviously, the hotel or some hotel staff does not want you to provide anything on your own and we were very dissapointed with this attitude, beacuse we almost stayed without money and without safari. That is really not a good way to treat a customer!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANASTASIA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for our final night in Kenya on our way back from Masai mara It was a great location in proximity to the airport. The hotel is a great deal if you are looking for a well located and friendly place to stay. The club rooms were quite impressive, and they match the price charged. Most of the staff was really Nice and thoughtful. I would stay there again if staying longer in the city. Loved the restaurant and the bar since we were on our last night my hubby and i had lovely cocktails to toast away the last day of our trip..Totally loved it. Would go back

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Jen,

We're happy to read your review.

It’s a joy to know that you experienced exceptional service and took pleasure in our location and guest rooms and we made your stay with your hubby worth it. It's great that you also had the chance to enjoy our Flame Tree restaurant and bar and got to toast to our expertly prepared cocktails with you hubby. We're happy to hear that we made your last night in Kenya a memorable one and that you'll return for another stay and we'd like you to know that we have many exceptional sister properties around Kenya including the Mara that we hope you may have the opportunity to experience them as well.

Yours Truly,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a good hotel when we finally got to stay there. Our first impression was not good as we had been traveling for 24hrs from Australia and found that either Octopus or the hotel had messed up our booking and the hotel was full. At first the person on the desk said that they couldn't help us with another hotel which we were not impressed with. Then Benson was called by another staff member (not the desk staff) and he quickly found us a room at the Silver Springs Hotel and organised a taxi to get us there. Much appreciated.
Our booking for a week later had been recorded and we came back as arranged previously and enjoyed the hotel then. The staff then were most apologetic about the first mix up and were very helpful.
The restaurant was clued into gluten free cooking, even cross contamination. Many thanks to Chef George for his understanding and patience, the food was wonderful! He even waited back to ensure that the next chef knew about the gluten free cooking which saved another potentially embarrassing conversation. Well done!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sarova panafric on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our Flame Tree Restaurant's flexibility to catering to your needs. We are more than happy to provide a special diet for our guests with special needs so as to enhance their stay and we're pleased you let us know of your requirements. We are also relieved to hear that our team, most importantly Benson, was able to be of assistance during the whole arrival mix-match. About the overbooking, apologies for the long wait. However, we always advice our guests to ensure they book their stay directly with us in good time so as to avoid any inconveniences such as lack of no rooms due to bookings. You can do this via our Sarova Panafric website to ensure that the next time you come, you have a smooth check in. Over and above, we are very pleased that you have no regrets on staying with us and that we were able to specially enhance your stay with us despite the initial misunderstanding.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here with my colleagues during our annual conference and what can I say. I found the facilities ideal for a business traveler as well as someone there on holiday. The location is also quite convenient especially if you'd like to stroll into the city. It is just far enough away from the city Centre to be in a quiet location but quite close to the city. The food was amazing especially at the hotel's main restaurant and breakfast was great and had variety of items tickling each of our fancies. The staff was extremely friendly,helpful and attentive from arranging and ensuring the meeting room was all set in a lovely manner for us to always ensuring everything was ok. The room was very clean and comfortable with great room service menu.

I will be returning to Nairobi and i'm definitely staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Eddy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sarova Panafric with us and others.

Indeed its great to know that you had a fantastic experience at the hotel as we take enormous pride in providing fantastic service to our guests. The kitchen team is also elated that you enjoyed the incredible food at the Flame Tree Restaurant and are eager to host you again for a hearty meal. We also know that the conveniences such as Wi-Fi, a fully fledged Business center and a manned motivator help desk are tremendously important for our conferencing delegates.

We’re truly honored to be at the top of your list when you return.

Yours Truly,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hospitality is what makes The Panafric standout. They don't just deliver good service, they make you feel welcome - from the moment you step out of the car and get a refreshing towel and drink. I felt very safe here the security is visible and the staff are diligent but never once did it feel like it detracted from my stay. In fact the security staff were very warm and always asked about my day when I returned. The housekeeping staff made sure I had everything I needed as did the concierge, the restaurant staff and reception. They even arranged for me to have the same taxi driver for the duration of my stay. The best part of my stay was the spa treatments with Sheila - she was AMAZING! She gave me the best pedicure and a few days later the best massage I have had in any country I have visited. If you are staying in the hotel don't miss an opportunity to visit Sheila at the spa and if you are visiting Nairobi check out The PanAfric - you will be 'most welcome'!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilypeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review.

Our teams are elated to know that you enjoyed your stay as a result of their unmatched service. We’re also glad you were able to take advantage of the Spa and experience Sheila's expertise. Perhaps on your next visit you will get a chance of trying our recommended new therapy treatment so as to enhance your next visit. We take great pride in our top security systems and measures in place that reward our guests with the comfort of being in a secure establishment.

Thank you once again – your feedback has been appreciated by all!

Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel early last week for two nights with my husband. This was the second time in Nairobi as we had booked a two nights' stay in transit to the Mara for our anniversary.

The welcoming experience was quite professional with a personal touch. From the time we were picked up at the airport with their luxurious air-conditioned limo through to the drive in surrounded by the manicured gardens, we felt that we had made the right decision. Our driver, Paul, was courteous as he responded politely to all the questions my husband threw at him. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by the doorman and the ladies at the reception whose warm smiles made us feel at home. We didn't experience any check in delays as stated in some reviews; as a matter of fact, in between the warm eucalyptus-scented towels and fresh glass of juice, we barely noticed the check in process. The staff were very warm and friendly and in particular Yula who was charming as ever!

Our room was clean and spacious and faced the highway which made our stay even better due to the lovely and romantic scenic view of the city especially at night. The food at the Flame was great and we were lucky to be staying on one of the Wednesdays where they had the ribs and chops offer and some great cocktails. My husband had a black jack whipped up for him every day before dinner by the barman and till to date, he still goes on and on about it. The jazz band was amazing as well and kept us entertained through the evening. If there was ever somewhere we would come back for breakfast, it would have to be at the Panafric. The breakfast was one of the things we would look forward to every morning of our stay as the variety and offering was great!

We were sad to be leaving and even contemplated on staying on but our safari itinerary wouldn't cater to that. This is definitely a place we'd love to come back here for another stay.

I recommend this to anyone visiting Nairobi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roselynewanj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Roselyne,

We've already shared your magnificent review with our team here at Sarova Panafric, and I speak for all of us when I say that we’re honored and grateful – not just for choosing our Hotel, but also for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We're already looking forward to your return visit – January is an idyllic time to see Nairobi: the weather is gorgeous, and there’s plenty of opportunity to enjoy our historic sites if your schedule so allows. We take tremendous pride in what we do, and we’re elated to know that it shows.

Warm regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,160 reviews
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
500 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#20 of 167 in Nairobi
1,017 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $116 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing