We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First the bad then the very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #14 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“First the bad then the very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed here for the 6th time at the beginning of March and was apalled to be given a room with no hot water after having the same problem on my previous visit. After further problems i said i would not go back but the manager came and was very apologetic, which I appreciated.
My plans changed and I needed to go back to Nairobi for 3 nights. I decided to give them another chance as my first 4 visits were outstanding
I must say that they listened to any complaints and acted on them
My stay was excellent. A special mention has to go to the room cleaning team. So polite and helpful and always with a smile on their face. Especially Augustine . Always laughing and happy to help at any time.
I had a back problem when I arrived but Helen and Jane in the Tulia Spa are as good as it gets. I have not come across better masseusse on my travels. Their knowledge is the best and they put me back together. If you stay here you must try a massage there. Very reasonable prices too.
All in all I had a great time and will certainly continue to stay here. Close to town and the Flame tree restaurant is one of the best in town. Try the lamb shank or the curry.
Thank you for bringing the hotel back where it belongs

Room Tip: even the standard rooms are very good. No excess noise from anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Cyprus,

I would like to thank you very much for staying with us on several occasions and taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor concerning your stay at Sarova Panafric.

We are dedicated to making your stay here incomparable and it is indeed great to note that you appreciate a lot of what we offer. Your compliments on our services most especially our top notch spa, Tulia and the Flame tree restaurant are highly welcomed. We indeed do try our level best to provide unmatched services to our guests and pride ourselves to be . I shall pass on your generous feedback to my team and most especially Augustine & the masseuses.

We look forward to welcoming you back as you are part of the Sarova Panafric family and we are always happy to host you and make each and every stay with us memorable.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    283
    153
    23
    21
See reviews for
59
147
73
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Versoix, GE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you are coming to Nairobi for a meeting, you should look no further. I've just completed a two-day, 80 pax meeting here. Meeting rooms have natural light, good wifi connectivity but, yes, you can find that elsewhere. The difference here that blew me away was the extraordinary level of service from EACH and EVERY staff person here. The technician, business centre, floor managers, duty managers, security guards, reception, concierge were all incredible helpful, cheerful and responsive. All I had to do was LOOK worried, lost or flustered and they would immediately rush to see what they could do to help. There were the simple things like when the floor security guard saw me come out of my room in the morning, he would call the elevator. There were the major things like when they spotted a known pick-pocket among our crowd and made sure he left the premises. All our last minute requests they made happen. They organized a fixed menu dinner for 30 pax in two hours. They accommodated a morning Press Briefing in 10 minutes.
When I asked how long staff had been in the hotel, most said 3 years or longer. They said that it was a hotel that took care of them so they were happy to take care of their guests. It showed.
Bedrooms were nice - special perk included the ironing board and iron in the closet! Good wifi connection in the rooms for free. 40 guests staying in the hotel and not a single complaint about the rooms. The juices are delicious, if a bit pricey. Buffet lunches in the garden by the pool were lovely. In-house band played at the reception that we held and it was fun. Awesome lap pool. Well located.

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Blitz,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your positive feedback.

I am glad to read that you found our team members so welcoming. Sarova Panafric is wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure their stay is exceeding. I have passed on your commentary to our team & they are very proud of the high quality food offering in both the Flame Tree Restaurant & Pool Garden Restaurant. There is a lot more to come in terms of our culinary offering so I encourage you to keep coming back. Security of guests within Sarova Panafric is of utmost importance and we take pride in the security measures we have implemented. To this end, we have instituted stringent security measures without infringing on the comfort of our guests. This ensures our guests’ stay experience is not interfered with.

We also understand the importance of technology in the current world and we therefore took a step ahead in upgrading the system so as to ensure higher broadband speeds and therefore provide efficiency to our guests accessing it. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and are please you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here two nights at Easter. I got an offer through a web-agency, and paid USD 300, which I think is good for this hotel. We were welcomed by fruit-juice and wet towel, which is nice and also common in many hotels. The room was good, with a comfy bed, fresh flowers, balcony with garden view, and it is was clean. Wifi worked very well. The breakfast was very good, tasty, various and plenty. We had pizza in the night, and because it took some time, we were surprisingly offered soup free of charge while we were waiting. The location is good if you are going on safari or the other tourist-stuff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heggvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is centrally located in Nairobi. The security and safety in the hotel is very palpable, yet not intimidating. The room is above average in size, yet the decor of the room is dated. The balcony overlooking the city center is a great perk of the rooms. The restaurant service is very efficient and the food quality is very good. Breakfast service is comparable to other four stars hotels in the city. The message service is very professional and the rates are competitive compared to other services in the hotel. The free internet is very spotty and intermittent, it got so bad that at one point I almost decided to change hotels. The transportation service from the airport was professional, yet upon departure, the driver dropped me in the wrong terminal, probably a rookie driver on his first early morning shift.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinae94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Martin,
On behalf of Sarova Panafric, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your feedback on trip advisor regarding your experience.

We are dedicated to making your stay here incomparable and I am glad you appreciate the location as it provides our guests with convenience to carry out their activities within the city centre while presiding in a tranquil environment. It was also good to read that you enjoyed the spacious rooms and our message services. We sincerely apologize for the internet let down. After thorough investigation, please note that this was due to a technical fault and all has been sorted to provide our guests with high speed broadband. Also accept our apologies for the service lapses that you experienced with the airport transfer. Your comments will be used as a training tool for our team so we can do a better job of meeting and exceeding our guests’ expectations.

We look forward to seeing hosting you again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Ended up here because our favoured hotel was full.

Plus points:
Just marginally out of town, and up on a hill - better location than many
Not too far from town - walkable (but unwise at night)
Good security
Food good if mainly international, wide variety, good breakfast
Room clean and efficient, if a bit tired

Minus points
Checkin and Checkout both slower than need be (in both cases no queue, but errors and delays on the part of the hotel), though nice to be given hot towel and fresh juice
Food a bit pricey
Hotel guide folder in the room very shoddily proofread with major errors, makes the whole organisation look unprofessional (Check the safety hints page for the worst)
International and impersonal, not much feeling of individuality - compare with some other top Nairobi hotels

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

clean, reasonably efficient, but short on charm and not cheap. only choose it if this is a good location for you (nairobi traffic can be challenging).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Dan,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and were glad to read that you found our location convenient, our hotel rooms to be very clean and that our services were professional. Sarova Panafric is committed to making your stay truly incomparable with the aim of making your stay a home away from home experience and one where you get superior service in a relaxed environment.

We look forward to hosting you once again.

Warm regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
270 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Friendly staff and with a good loaction - you can walk to the city center from there. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some time to share your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We appreciate your comments and are glad to read that you find us so centrally located in terms of proximity to the Central Business District. Our prime location provides our guests with convenience to carry out their activities within the city centre and amidst the busy environment, also provide them with a serene & tranquil environment, while at the hotel. Thank you for making it known to all.

Furthermore I was encouraged to read that you found our hotel staff pleasant and I am glad that the team was able to assist you during your stay.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#11 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Property: Sarova Panafric
Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing