We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rooms are a little dated - hotel is nice enough and close to cc” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rooms are a little dated - hotel is nice enough and close to cc”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

As Nairobi is currently experiencing amongst the worst traffic on the planet right now, this hotel is nicely situated just outside the CBD avoiding the worst of the congestion and has 'relatively' easy access to all of Upper Hill area. I stayed here for 4 nights and the standard rooms are over priced and a little dated. The noise from (a) the main road (b) the function rooms and (c) the kitchen make sleeping a challenge - thank God for silicone ear plugs. My bathroom was small, no bath and just adequate. Rooms were made up perfectly everyday and staff is just so pleasant and even gave little tips about what to do in Nairobi. Check in staff is a bit hit and miss.

Also there's a security guard on every floor which should make you feel more secure but just reminds you that Nairobi's not a safe place.

The restaurant is really very nice, a varied international menu and good quality enjoyable food. It feels like a relaxing garden even though it's quite close to the road. The pool is big and pleasant and pool facing rooms are more expensive but worth it for the peace and quiet, if your budget can stretch that far.

I've been in the hotel several times now and the conference rooms are always very busy; they're on the 1st floor tucked away from the busy foyer. There's always lots of people coming and going in the hotel as a result so it feels like lots is happening. If you want to hold a meeting there in any of the rooms prepare to be RIPPED off. Again their conference package is over priced - but this is Nairobi and unfortunately a lot of hotels are this way. The business centre is small but serves it's function perfectly and is a little expensive. The bar is a bit of a non bar just off the restaurant and is more like a corridor leading from the lobby into the restaurant.

Remember that this is a business hotel and not really suited to a holiday or a break. On the whole I had a pleasant stay and thought that the hotel was just OK.

Room Tip: Upgrade or your room will face that noisy street and could possibly be over the kitchens which start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fearghas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sarova Panafric!

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting the review of your stay on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely pleased to note that Sarova panafric is the hotel of your choice for your repeat visits. I have also noted your positive feedback on Flame Tree Restaurant, the gardens, the location of Sarova Panafric and other services of the hotel the service. Your sentiments have been shared with the staff who take tremendous pride in the guest service that they provide. I have also noted the feedback on Noise, price and the bar and the front office experience and assure you that it will get my personal attention for best resolution. We have carried out rigorous work during the hotel’s phase I renovations of the lobby and guest rooms and I am glad to state that we are currently undergoing the phase II of the renovations that will standardize all our guest rooms to suit our five star amenities. I’m sure the next time you’re back, you will see the difference.

Thank you so very much for your valuable feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sarova Panafric.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    302
    157
    24
    22
See reviews for
60
155
75
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Staff friendly and helpful. Nice hotel, but rooms could do with an upgrade; they are a little dated and kind of average. Flame Tree Restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sookiesaidbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to hear your enjoyed our friendly staff and other positive features. I am also pleased to report that we are currently carrying out our phase II of the rigorous renovations that will address our guest rooms one at a time to upgrade them and this will resolve the dated issue. I am also delighted that you enjoyed our Flame Tree Restaurant and other features of your stay at Sarova Panafric. We have recently made improvements to the menu and am happy that you enjoyed it.

We hope to host you once again at Sarova Panafric.

Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and they did all they could for me because I am semi-disabled. They all spoke excellent English. . The foyer has a considerable amount of seating, the sofas being arranged in groups and has been refurbished. The restaurants and are very enjoyable to use and even though the hotel was full with conferences running, we managed to have a quiet meal by the poolside with almost no-one around. The food is also enjoyable and there is quite a reasonable choice.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room with easy access and had 225 which is overlooking the pool with the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dann1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Sarova Panafric! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the friendly and helpful staff and good food. Our hotel staff works very hard to ensure that the guests are happy! As we are an internationally recognized hotel, we endeavor to meet the needs of our diverse guests so as to ensure their stay is most memorable. About the renovations, as a matter of fact, the hotel has begun remodeling and we are updating the three guestroom floors of the hotel. These updates are beginning this week and we hope to see you once they are completed.

Again, thank you for your important feedback.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

A nice hotel with a nice downtown location. The restuarant is very good. The situation of the hotel is very good in relation to the horrendous Nairobi traffic.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room, it is well woth the slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your positive feedback to us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us at Sarova Panafric.

Our location certainly is incomparable and our staff take tremendous pride in the guest service that they provide. We are thrilled to be able to offer upgrades whenever they are available and welcome guests into Sarova Panafric as if they were coming into our home, where anything you may need is only a request away.

We look forward to accommodating you should your travels bring you back to Boston.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We just booked in via booking.com. We made the right choice as it was in a good location, it was not hard to find and since it was our first time in Kenya, we didn't know much about the place.

However, there was a bad point since once of the receptionists was extremely rude and probably thinks she's a manager so she had to treat us in an ill mannered way. First she greeted us with the most disappointing face, then ignored us and made us wait for quite some time. Good thing that we were able to talk to the other receptionist who was the opposite..

The room was superb. It was very private and the people from bellboy, to the security guard to the peopel from the restaurant were friendly, helpful and accommodating. THe security guard really was concern for us since we tried taking pictures from outside the hotel at around 8pm, he said that we shouldn't go too far, we just need to stay inside the hotel's vicinity which was really kind of him. And we appreciate.

Next time we go to Nairobi, definitely will stay here again!

Room Tip: our room is in the poolside which was very nice in the morning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelle705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Angelle,

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to Sarova Panafric. I am certain your pointers will help future travelers wishing to stay here, especially the savvy tip on the poolside rooms.

I wanted to reach out to you personally as promptly as possible to let you know how sorry I am for the experience you encountered with the receptionist. I have sent you a personal message that I hope you will respond to so that we may properly rectify the situation for you as well as ensure our future guests are not thus disappointed. Thank you for taking time to let us know what you encountered. Please know that we are intent on resolving this and I assure you that it will not occur again. We are thrilled and delighted that you enjoyed the rest of your stay at Sarova Panafric, from the location, to the rooms right down to the service.

We do look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed there for 4 nights. My overall impression was that it was overpriced for what it offered. The front desk staff need to be better trained, the other staff, including the restaurant staff were very friendly and good but there was a long wait for the food. The internet was glacial in my room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Staying at sarova panafric.Excellent location. Unfortunately can't say that for the hotel.stayed in room 410 from 13 november. Staff at reception were great, but than it's there job.Room were rather old, bathroom and toilets were old. Hated the bath room. Infact my wife prefered using the reception area toilets.With three people in the room, it was cramped. choice of tv viewing was limited. Couldn't get any of the international channels CNN, BBC, etc. Its the norm to have a few international channels.Towels had large holes. All I got was symphathy from reception staff when I complained, and no changes were made. I asked my concerns to be raised with management, which I am assuming was never transmitted.Additional bed was hardboard..
We tried the restaurant once which is horribly overpriced for the quality of food and the dark underlighted restaurant.Lasagne tasted like a extra sweet dessert.
I hope the management takes notice as the staff have a loud early morning conversation on the floor. With an old hotel and unsuitable Walls , all can be heard inside the rooms.
Finally beware of the lifts, which close quickly if you don't rush out on your floor. My hands still hurt after the door closed with force as I was just leaving a lift.
It would take a lot of change before I am convinced to stay at Panafric during my regular business trips from January.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jatingandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Property: Sarova Panafric
Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing