We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I, and a group of friends, stayed in this hotel for 1 night before safari and 2 nights after. We had standard rooms for the first night - these were comfortable and clean but the showers leaked, leaving the floor very wet. For the 2 night stay, we had booked superior rooms - these were on the 6th floor and faced the front of the hotel. There was some noise from the traffic but none of us found this a problem. The rooms were a good size, larger bathrooms (no problems with showers) and very clean and comfortable. The staff were all very attentive, helpful and welcoming. We took most meals in the restaurant, which we found to be very good value, and there was a large variety of choice for breakfast. Two of the group used the pool and said water was rather cold but otherwise enjoyed their swim. Pool bar/restaurant is a relaxing area to eat or drink in. Overall we were impressed by the hotel and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel appear to be noisier, but give good views if on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive candid feedback on Sarova Panafric. On behalf of Sarova Panafric, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your feedback.

The recently carried out top-to-bottom renovation project of majority of our guest rooms has rewarded them with a newly re-imagined grandeur of Sarova Panafric’s neo-African theme. Others are still undergoing this process to compliment our five star amenities that define luxurious living.

We are pleased to near that the staff was of efficient and the room to be of great quality and are also glad that your overall experience at Sarova Panafric was memorable. We very much pride ourselves on our value added benefits and we are delighted that you enjoyed them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sarova Panafric Hotel.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    283
    153
    23
    21
See reviews for
59
147
73
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This hotel was decorated quite nicely, but had some glaring problems which made our stay very uncomfortable indeed.

When we first arrived for check-in at the hotel, the desk attendant took literally fifteen minutes to check us in. Instead of photocopying our passports and entering the data later, she typed in (slowly) all of our details into her computer. Twice. We watched her type every single letter separately. It was excruciating.

There was a loud band playing outside when we arrived and kept us awake in the afternoon when we were trying to nap.

The walk to our room along open-air corridors was reminiscent of a 1960s England council block.

Our first room was on the first floor, directly outside a very loud extractor fan located directly above the kitchen. We were told that it would blow loudly until at least nine o'clock that evening. We could also smell the food exhaust from the kitchen coming right into our room through the bathroom windows which did not close fully and the odour was not pleasant.

We got moved to a new room. The balcony looked out on the main road and the balcony door did not shut fully - there was a half-inch gap between door panels and the road noise was very loud as heavy trucks rumbled by out front all day and night long. The front desk were entirely unbothered by this and said that's how the doors had always been.

The rooms have been refurbished and the decor scheme is quite nice but the new tiles on the ground mean that you can hear clearly the guests in rooms above you walking around and moving chairs. This is entirely unforgiveable in a hotel.

The bar/restaurant downstairs were pretty nice and the breakfast was quite substantial.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandReindeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & taking the time to write a review sharing your experience. We really appreciated hearing your positive comments about the bar & restaurant.

We were disappointed to hear that you had concerns about the noise & odor from the food exhaust. I understand that you were disappointed by the service at the reception as well. I have shared your comments with the entire team and we have immediately implemented additional measures to perform at a high level in this area.

At Sarova Panafric, we always strive to maintain and deliver refreshing African hospitality as a standard and we hope that your isolated experience will not deter you from visiting us again. I am certain that you will experience this high level of service during your next visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We would stay here again if we returned to Nairobi. The facilities were very nice and the restaurant was reasonably priced with good food. The bed was really comfortable. We spent just one night so we didn't have time to go in the pool, but it looked inviting. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings, we are delighted to note your positive experience as posted on Trip Advisor. On behalf of Sarova Hotels, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We pride ourselves on the service and facilities we provide to our guests and this is only made possible by the great team at Sarova Panafric. I am personally going to pass on your kind words to the team and I hope to meet you on your next stay with us which I do hope is in the near future.

We look forward to seeing and hosting you again at Sarova Panafric.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in June, one two night stay pre-safari, then back for one more at the end.

We had $800USD stolen from the 'safe' in our room so be extremely careful with your cash!
Always leave "Do not disturb" on your door & immediately report it if you notice anything has moved. Do not leave your room unattended while it is being cleaned.

Another girl on our tour found the safe open in her room when she came back one evening. Plus she was hassled by one of the housekeeping staff - he came back to her room late at night & was demanding to be let in so if you're travelling solo be aware.

We immediately reported the loss to the duty manager, and he & the security manager took down all the information, but they did not seem convinced this had really happened. Apparently it was too late to go to the police station (we discovered the loss around 10pm) and they promised to have a police report for us when we returned in a week.

The following morning a second manager & security person came to our room as we were preparing to leave & wanted to go through everything again. This was awful, as the security person clearly did not believe us at all, and kept repeating how he had the only master key for the safes, & it would be impossible to steal from a supposedly locked safe. We felt we were treated terribly.

Fortunately one of the security staff, Justus, did as promised and had a police report ready for us the following week so we were very grateful. However, this did not make up for us being $800 short for our trip...

Other than this awful experience, the hotel was lovely. The reception staff were very welcoming after it took 3hrs for us to get there from the airport in peak hour!
And the restaurant was lovely, a great place to sit & enjoy a Tusker. The wait staff were very attentive, even insisting on replacing my soup which was far too salty (the replacement was very good). The breakfast is amazing and we enjoyed two fantastic dinners there.

Rooms were very comfortable & well-appointed. Lovely hot showers after a week in campsites!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience with other travelers interested in staying at Sarova Panafric. The entire team at the Sarova Panafric was extremely disappointed to read your review. We have taken your feedback very seriously and have thoroughly investigated your claim about the lapses in service that were alleged during your most recent visit with us.

I am pleased to hear that my team was of help, however, we have been able to confirm the accuracy of the review and would appreciate an opportunity to speak with you about the matter in additional detail.

We welcome the opportunity to offer corrective action of the events as you have outlined them. I look forward to hearing from you so that we can partner together to address the allegations in this review.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here on 2 separate occasions in June 2011. 1st experience more positive than 2nd. Lovely modern spacious room on 1st visit, then put in an old room on 2nd visit which had a bathroom the size of a postage stamp the fittings of which were basic and hanging off the wall. One particular female supervisor on my 2nd stay was most unhelpful and wouldn't even make a phone call to check on the pick up time for my return airport transport and was such a jobsworth. It's a shame because otherwise a nice hotel, but please please get on with the much need renovations on the lower class rooms. We could not even swing a cat in the 2nd room!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the better room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoddo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear Hoddo36,

Greetings, we regret to note your experience as posted on Trip advisor. On behalf of Sarova Hotels, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your feedback.

We assure you that we take customer feedback very positively and is a vital part of our growth, for which we are most grateful. The problem has been noted; please be rest assured that the necessary steps have been taken to avoid a repeat of the same. This oversight does not represent in any way the quality standards that are part and parcel of Sarova Panafric Hotel.

We look forward to seeing and hosting you again at Sarova Panafric.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night prior to our safari. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Food was good and breakfast was great way to start the day. We found the beds very good and we didn't have the noise others have spoken about. We also faced the pool but in May there was no one in that area.
Overall we had a good short stay, no complaints..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamM1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear WilliamM1098,

Greetings, we are delighted to note your positive experience as posted on Tripadvisor. On behalf of Sarova Hotels, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your feedback. Your comments have been duly noted and shared with the team.

We always strive to maintain and deliver refreshing African hospitality as a standard and we are glad that we made your experience memorable.

We look forward to seeing and hosting you again at Sarova Panafric.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights before our Intrepid tour started. Nairobi accommodation is quite expensive and you don't get too much for the price you pay as we quickly found out when we were trying to find accommodation.

The lobby to the hotel was lovely and we were greeted with a wet towel and a drink. Our room overlooked the pool but was old and dated. The bathrooms are in need of renovation. It was like they renovated only the lobby and just left the rest.

Breakfast was lovely and the staff were nice here too.

The hotel was in walking distance to downtown (about 10 mins).

We lazed by the pool in the afternoon and overall, a not too bad stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra_dee_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Sandra_dee_travel,

Greetings, we are delighted to note your positive experience as posted on Tripadvisor. On behalf of Sarova Hotels, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your feedback. Your comments have been duly noted and shared with the team.

We always strive to maintain and deliver refreshing African hospitality as a standard and we are glad that we made your experience memorable. The recently carried out top-to-bottom renovation project has rewarded the hotel as a whole with a newly re-imagined grandeur of Sarova Panafric’s neo-African theme and facilities. Our guest rooms are no exception to this development & majority have undergone renovations to compliment our five star amenities that define luxurious living while others are still undergoing this process. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & more so happy to receive constructive feedback that will aid us in making yours & others’ stay in the future exceptional.

We look forward to seeing and hosting you again at Sarova Panafric

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Property: Sarova Panafric
Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing