We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Okay, but needs improvement with A/C” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LAICO Regency Hotel
Ranked #80 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Okay, but needs improvement with A/C”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere, but serious issues with AC. Tried two rooms and both had air conditioners that were not working well. Carpets look old and dirty. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thevi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Thevi P,

Thank you for staying at Laico Regency Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are delighted that our friendly staff, breakfast array and relaxed atmosphere were an added advantage to your stay. However we are disappointed to note that we fell short of your expectations in some areas.
You will be glad to note that we have embarked on upgrading all our rooms, which will encompass the AC and the Carpets.

We would love to host you again, giving you the opportunity to sample our new product.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    58
    35
    28
See reviews for
13
20
23
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stay is fine provided you would like be in the CBD .There is consistency in the food quality . .Scope for improvement in room service .My stay was about 5 years back and hope service level has been raised

Room Tip: Rooms of the upper floors are perferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANAND_U7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Anand,

Thank you for your staying with us and sharing the feedback on your experience.

We are glad that the consistency in our food quality keeps you coming back. You will be glad to note that our service standards have immensely improved since you were last here.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I used to stay at this hotel since 2004, when it offered excellent amenities and services for a good rate. Soon after, the quality deteriorated when most of the hotel rooms were occupied (on long lease contracts) by foreign governments' representatives. In addition, the hotel was catering to airline transit passengers. Hosting of the two groups left much wear and tear in the hotel rooms and affected the quality of services. So I switched to alternative hotels. About 15 months ago, an agent at the airport persuaded me to re-try Laico under its new management; and since then I stayed at this hotel three times while in business trips to Nairobi. I must admit the quality of the renovated rooms is much better now, 4-star quality; and the services have improved tremendously in all hotel facilities (atrium bar services need more improvement). In general, the hotel has an excellent architectural design and was built to be a 5-star hotel; and I believe under the new management and after completion of renovation will soon become a 5-star hotel. The hotel is centrally located in Nairobi's business district and offers many good amenities, including variety of restaurants and cafe's, casino, good size atrium level swimming pool, excellent park or city view, very good breakfast buffet (missing smoked salmon), variety of shops, etc. The personnel are very friendly, especially the hotel manager, who is very frequently is in contact with hotel residents soliciting their opinions about the hotel services. Next time you visit Nairobi, look for or negotiate a good room rate at the Laico. Try it. It offers an excellent deal for the money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mohdriad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mohdriad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback with us.

It was our pleasure to host you and we are glad that your return stay to Laico Regency Nairobi was met by positive ongoing improvements. We have also noted the areas of concern raised and I sure you that we are working on them.

We look forward to hosting you again on your return trip.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We arrived in Nairobi at 12:30am and then at the Laico Hotel one hour later. I and my wife were very tired and just wanted a room that had the basic necessaries that worked. From the outside the hotel is very impressive and inside there was a large beautiful atrium the looked up to the roof. The utilities were absolutely poor. It got all my three strikes:
1. The Air-Conditioning would just not cool the room. We had a very uncomfortable sleep.
2. The WC was broken and also cracked and rocked sideways.
3. The shower did not have hot water. The water was just luke warm.

Usually when I write for Trip Advisor I am forgiving and give the hotel management the benefit of the doubt if other things work out well. But, in this case the hotel management and maintenance got a rock solid three strikes....which in my book is OUT! Very disappointing stay. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. Unfortunately I had not booked this hotel but was booked by my travel agency Ketty Tours.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Khataw,

Thank for your feedback on your stay with us.

We value all guest feedback on our product and services as it is the only way we are able to improve. Noted are the areas that we fell short of your expectations and we are already working on improving the same.

We have given upgrade of the facility top priority, this has already been scheduled to commence and we are currently in the final stages of planning.
I do hope you will give us an opportunity to host you again.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Check-in was slow, the staff behind the desk seemed a bit at a loss - and the same upon checking out as well. The room was ok, but the edges were starting to fray a little, and the internet connection was awful. The restaurant staff were slow and the food was ok, but not great.
The hotel is in a good location, but I get the feeling it has seen much better days in the past.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Lyn H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us.
We value all guest feedback as a measure for us to improve our product and services. We have noted the areas in which we did not meet your expectations and apologize for the same. You will be glad to know that necessary measures have been taken to avoid a repeat.
We do hope that you will give us an opportunity to host you once again.

For any queries or information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The experience is satisfactory. The rooms are spacious but lack a separate shower(mine had a bathing tub only). However the staff are cooperative and helpful. The location is excellent besides a park and right in the central business district of Nairobi. Unlike Crowne Plaza or others located remotely in less central places, this location offers a good choice of restaurents to have food outside the hotel and at a reasonable price too.

Room Tip: In the high level floors Internet access(wireless) was quite weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Best UK,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing the feedback on your experience.

We are delighted that our staffs were excellent, including the location where we are situated right at the Heart of the Central Business district.

You will be glad to note that we have embarked on upgrading all our rooms, which will encompass bathtubs, walk in showers and Internet on all floors.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel has great location close to the highway and the city centre, absolutely superb staff (including the very welcoming hotel manager), great big rooms (and it's going to be renovated so it will be even nicer), good restaurants (try the ricotta-chicken ravioli at Roberto's- it's DELICIOUS, but avoid the boring "bina colada" at the jazz bar) and a nice heated pool with a view of the Nairobi skyline (it is however a bit windy since it's far up). It's pricey but totally worth it! The breakfast makes good value for your money.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up in the building (we stayed on the seventh floor which was perfect) to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sara S,

Thank you for taking time to share your reviews about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that our hotel location worked in your favor and as well the breathtaking view from our heated swimming pool.

I am glad my team and I took good care of you and have also noted the positive reviews on Robertos – our Italian Restaurant and our sumptuous buffet breakfast. I appreciate your feedback on the pina colada served at our Jazz bar; we are looking at options to spice it up.
I confirm that we are currently planning the hotel renovations and as mentioned, this will make our big rooms even more inviting.
We do look forward to hosting you once again.

For any queries or information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Kind Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Property: LAICO Regency Hotel
Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#34 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing