We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveler rating
709
437
94
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
437
94
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthorn treethai restaurantexchange barstock exchangehistorical hotelpool deckold world charmclassic hotelfifth floorhealth clubcentral locationhotel stafflate checkbusiness districtdowntown nairobirooms are spaciousbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,132 - 1,137 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Internet booking fast and simple.
Airport pick-up no problems. Though the mini-van's air con was broken. We could not get into the hotel drive due to the parked cars, so walked from the street and thru the mid-day crowds. Check-in. Low on staff, phones answered, bit of a mess really, after a long flight seemed two girls were trying to do everything but getting no where, key given but no directions on where to go....this was the case every day, better to ring from the room!
Room: clean but tired, bed had a big sag on one side. Bathroom clean, but a little tired. Mini bar well stocked. Coffee & Tea in room. No power outlets that worked, apart from the electric kettle! WIFI very good.
FOOD: Breakfast average. Pool bar good. Room service good. Thai restaurant very good.
SECURITY: on every floor, and very helpful.
STAFF: All with out exception, pleasant attentive and helpful
Late checkout: OK until midday.
All up, compared to the other Nairobi hotels, for the price very good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Viking8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. I was there with my wife and all was good. The staff were great, even got my room upgraded! Nice 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TheFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2007

Stayed for almost a week in Nairobi and selected the Stanley as a luxery hotel. That's what it is. Safety measures are taken and the rooms are very nice with television, minibar, water heather and coffee machine. Breakfast is nice as well and the location is great.

However the people at the reception stole my credit card details (this was the only credit card payment I did in Kenya so I'm sure it happened there). At home I was unhappily surprised with all kinds of expenses. Including tickets from Europe to America of more than 1600 euro's and lots of other things. Remember that I had to advance this money before getting my refund.

Also remember that Kenya is very unsafe. People we met who live there warned us not to go out in the evening. Even crossing the street of the hotel is dangerous. Take lots of precautions.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Wil1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

A safe choice if you are visiting Nairobi. Good points include a great location, right in the centre, and safe streets for walking/shopping/using ATM machines for a few blocks either way, comfortable rooms etc, not to the highest standard, but nice, and a good ambience - it has been there over 100 years, and it runs very smoothly. A home from home, in many ways. Pool area is good, nice restaurant leads off it, good massages/gym on same level, and a buzzy street cafe on ground floor.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank mashzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Overall an oasis in the edgy city that is Nairobi. The security guard on every floor (not to mention the inspection of our arrival taxi's chassis with a mirror) certainly made us feel safe although somewhat unsettled! The staff were very helpful - arranging, for example, a dinner reservation (inc taxi) at Carnivore and other transport in a safe and efficient manner and at a fair price. The Thorntree cafe and poolside bar's eatery were, for Africa, excellent with a wide choice of food and drink. Rooms are comfy with in-room safe. Its definitely worth shopping around for rates on the internet as a few websites have far cheaper deals than the rack rate. Whilst we were wary of venturing outside in the hours of darkness, we had little hassle wandering around during the day (a trip up to the Kenyatta Conference Centre's roof is recommended).

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Relax811274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews