We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Service with a Smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #6 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

My brother, aunt and uncle spent different nights at the Sarova Stanley during our Kenyan vacation and each stay was so enjoyable that on our last return before flying out of Nairobi we joked that we were "home". What did we enjoy most? Probably the service. We often hung out at the hotel's Exchange Bar to watch the World Cup and the employees were so personable that we would stay well after a soccer match ended. The buffet breakfast was tasty and varied. We also ate at the poolside restaurant and found the food excellent. Our room was spacious and quiet. If I have to post any criticism, we found that check-in was a little slow (though checkout was highly efficient). Would we stay at the Sarova Stanley again? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YXEinWAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    337
    78
    23
    17
See reviews for
104
222
89
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

A reasonably nice hotel for NAirobi apart from very poor service from front desk , check out was 10am , no leeway was given for our need for a shower before our long flight back , we where told for a check out at 2:30 pm would cost us 160 dollars extra. Both of us also received over 20 flea bites in room . Nice gym , breakfast and friendly general staff .

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIBALSPACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have noted your concerns during your stay with us. The hotel’s official check-out time is 10.00 am, however, for late departure, we charge a minimal fee of 75% of your daily room rate till 6.00pm. On the status of our pest control system, the hotel is investigating this unusual occurrence. We would have wished that the issues were addressed in person while you were at the hotel nonetheless, we would like to get in touch with you so as to address them further.

Thank you again for your comments and the opportunity for improvement. We hope to host you again.

Your Sincerely,
David Gachuru,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Sarova Stanley is the oldest hotel in Nairobi since 1902. Hotel is situated right in the middle of the town hence easy to get Cab. Hotel has a swimming pool. I being vegitarian had specific requirements about food which was very well taken care by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaveenMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
188 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My daughter and I stayed here for one night at the beginning of a trip to Kenya, and we were quite happy with the experience. We paid for the whole trip as one package through our travel agent, so I can't comment on the price of the hotel. I also can't say much about the location of the hotel if you have business to attend to in Nairobi. We didn't, so the location was fine with us. The staff were friendly, and the food was fine--not great, but fine. The room was comfortable and roomy, the wifi worked fine, and all together it amounted to a very good beginning to our Kenya trip.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed at the Stanley twice during our trip to Kenya, on the night we arrived and the night before departure. - What a great way to start and end a trip.

The hotel had arranged airport transfers - and they all worked perfectly - it is very reassuring to walk through and see your name on a sign with a driver rather than have to navigate through taxis and rip offs.

We arrived off a night flight and our room was ready when we got there - very pleased to see that! The rooms are beautiful, really well appointed and equipped, we needed to let people know we had arrived and the wifi worked well for us and is free - so i assume things have been improved on this since earlier reviews I've read.

The Hotel is absolutely beautiful, an old building but carefully restored amnd maintained. All around there are pictures of it through the years, and of Nairobi over the last century, this is clever because you feel that it is at the heart of the city and part of its fabric - which after a century I suppose it is!

The restaurants are great - We had two superb Thai meals in the fine dining restaurant and the Thorn Tree, which is a pavement cafe / bar and brasserie is fantastic both for its food and for people watching at anytime.

We used the rooftop pool, which has a bar and casual dining alongside, it was excellent.

I've no doubt that what makes a hotel great is the staff - and this is where it really scores tops, everyone from the room attendants to the Front desk is professional, and obviously on top of their jobs - I read in the hotel newsletter about their in house training school - and it obviously delivers, what was great was the pride they all obviously have in the hotel and in themselves working there.

As a City Nairobi is not without its challenges - particularly petty street crime. We asked advice from the Concierge before setting out for a spot of shopping and he not only recommended where to go for quality and value but also insisted on one of the porters escorting us to show us the way - We've stayed in places with far greater security challenges and never seen this before.

In all you just knew that whatever the hotel did for you they would do extremely well, It would rate as top class in any City in the World.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandwendy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This is a renovated hotel that has been in nairobi for years. the food is great the view is wonderful and the pool and bars by the pool are nice. try a massage and you'll definitely go back there

Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TezooS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, service was great and staff were friendly....What more could you ask for. All the previous complaining reviewers...They must have listened to you because we found all to be excellent. The Thai Restaurant served a great authentic selection of cuisine, the breakfast buffet had so much to chose from you could eat for a week without repeating. 5 different cereals, eggs ant way you like, breads, buns, fruit, steak (tenderest I have had in years), hot selection, cold selection and more more more.

As for staff, the concierge arranged taxis for us efficiently, porters were courtious and check in/out was hassle free and quick.

All in all a very good impression was made.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryinIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing