We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good choice in Nairobi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good choice in Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

Very nice hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff was attentive and welcoming and the rooms were fairly newly renovated.

The breakfast buffet had a decent selection and the hotel restaurants had reasonable food even if the service was a bit slow.

Overall ighly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank es_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    368
    83
    24
    21
See reviews for
117
245
97
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

We wee moved here from the Jacaranda and what a difference! We were met by Doormen in Top Hat and Tails and friendly, polite staff. Each level had a security guard the rooms were big, clean and modern. The swimming pool was on the 5th Floor next to the pool bar. Everyone made you feel welcome and special. The food in the bar was great and fairly cheap (Main meal for ksh 800) The breakfast was superb with everything you can imagine from Full English to Curries! and even cakes such a big selection well worth staying here for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtpro0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Nothing could have been better during our stay, great location, staff brilliant, security top class and food/drink was great too!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsbradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

Well-provided accomodation, quality food, well-trained and helpful staff, brilliant location.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SalmanSumbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed at the Stanley on three separate occasions over a 3-week period, and am really struggling to find something bad to say about the place. It is a pricier hotel than we would normally choose, but I do honestly feel that it is worth every penny we paid (we paid £134 per room per night B&B). The positives were: very nice rooms (especially the twins) - well kept, clean and well-appointed and good quality fittings, very efficient and friendly service, very good food (at the Thorn Tree cafe), good quality and generous breakfast, reasonably gym (free for hotel guests) and swimming pool. In terms of atmosphere, it was luxurious (at least compared to what we are used to!) but not at all snooty.

Only negatives were: the first room we stayed in was very noisy (Friday night disco opposite), but they immediately changed our room when asked. Subsequently we always asked for and got a room facing into the hotel courtyard, and all these rooms were very quiet. The only other minor criticism is that many of their optional extras (eg, laundry, minibar items, mineral water) were extortionately expensive - but of course you can always opt to buy this stuff elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MkBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

A nice, clean hotel with friendly and helpful staffs.

Overall impression and stay is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajhpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

I knew and loved the Thorn Tree cafe back in 1964/66 and was apprehensive about what I would find. Actually the new cafe is not as open and central to the top of Kenyatta Avenue as it used to be and of course the large thorn tree has gone. But, the hotel is still elegantly colonial and the staff both friendly and professional. Every single request or query was followed up in an intelligent and helpful way. We asked for a quieter room for new year's eve -we were given an even nicer room and certainly NOT made to feel we were asking favours: quite the opposite. I felt welcomed and cosseted during my stay. Two administrative issues: the room and safe keys gave us a lot of trouble and the check out seemed complicated - checking and re-checking our mini bar use.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maribelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 162 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Jovago.com so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing