We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"I'll meet you at the Stanley"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"I'll meet you at the Stanley"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

"I'll meet you at the Stanley" is a phrase that is well known among travelers to Nairobi. I've just returned from a trip to East Africa, Kenya and Tanzania. We stayed at the Stanley twice...once on the way into Kenya and then again for a night before our flight home. 12 years ago we also had the opportunity to stay in the historic hotel, whose guests included Earnest Hemingway, Hollywood stars, royalty from all over the world, and folks like us who want to enjoy the hospitality that the hotel is noted for. The Stanley boasts a few restaurants, The Thorn Tree Cafe and Thai Chi are the two that we visited. We had Breakfast at the Thorn Tree....a fantastic buffet, and dinner at Thai Chi...some of the best Thai food that I've ever had. We also had drinks in the same bar that Earnest Hemingway drank at...

Our room was very comfortable with a king bed. The newly renovated and upgraded hotel is better than ever. Classic and elegant without being stuffy. A very friendly and attentive staff. Say hello to Dominic when you get there...tell him Peter sent you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpeterpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on Sarova Stanley.

I am delighted to read how much you appreciated the history and heritage of our property which is open since 1902. A long line of living legends have stayed with us and we are glad you are now part of the living legends who have had memorable stays with us. Thank you also for your kind feedback on our guestroom and the special mention of one of our team members who exceeded your expectation.

Your comments have been shared with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    356
    83
    24
    21
See reviews for
111
237
96
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We started our Kenya Safari with two nights in Nairobi. Our agent suggested the Stanley and her choice was very good. The hotel is large, the room was big and clean, the staff were very friendly. The area around the hotel is somewhat rough so we were advised not to walk around after dark and when we did visit a local store the guards offered to walk with us. There were only two small concerns - there was a lot of road noise (nothing the hotel can do) and the first morning when the room was cleaned, wash clothes and coffee were not replaced (small stuff). It is an historic hotel worth the visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

I was stranded by air travel disruption at Nairobi, Kenya. Thus, I was not in very good mood when I was transported from the airport to the hotel. I stayed there two nights. The stay was more than enough to turn my mood from the negative side to the positive side. The staffs there were very courteous and hospitable. The place was beautiful, filled with variety of old days memories. The room was clean and up to the standard. The security there was a bit tight, but it was also understandable in the light of the tragedy happened in that country last year. Thank you all at the hotel for making my stay there perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InKwon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that your stay at Sarova Stanley pleasantly transformed an inconvenience into an enriching and calming experience. We are delighted you took home pleasant memory from the experience.

We were glad to have hosted you and look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Beautiful old world charm. Hiccup on arrival as they couldn't find our booking but quickly rectified ( thankfully as the cab ride from the airport took two hours) . A truly beautiful place to stay and I wish we had stayed another night. The Exchange bar was probably the nicest I have been in - lots of leather and friendly staff. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnesbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We were happy to have shared our heritage and refreshing hospitality, and since you mentioned the Exchange bar, I would also like to share with you that this venue is not only part of our history, it is also part of Nairobi heritage; it was in fact this bar the venue of the first Stock Exchange Market of the city and this is only one of the historical curiosities attached to this venue.

We are looking forward to hosting you again and share more snippets of the hotel history and heritage.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Had a lovely two night stay at this hotel before we set off on Safari. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating.
One experience to share was that we put all our valuables in the room safe. Somehow we then managed to leave the safe open during the day. On our return a letter from the security staff told us of our indiscretion but much to our relief the maid had called security who then made everything safe and ensured on our return that all our items (money, tickets, credit cards and cash) were present and accounted for. Excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the view is not very inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read about your experience with our safety measures and we thank you for appreciating the integrity of our team members. Your review has been shared with the team which was truly motivated by your comments.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have traveled extensively in Kenya and this hotel is by far the best place I have stayed. Great customer service, wonderful food, relaxing ambiance, heated outdoor pool, and spa/gym area. An excellent value for the price. Very luxurious compared to how much you pay, especially compared to other hotels. The hotel is also in close walking proximity to a number of downtown Nairobi attractions. This place is definitely worth your stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We were humbled by your kind words and thank you for pointing out some among our most outstanding areas and services; the team’s hospitality, food, relaxing ambiance, heated swimming pool and fitness facilities.

We appreciate your sentiments and we are looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, NH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We arrived in Nairobi for a safari that was due to start the next day. We'd been booked into the Safari Park Hotel but our driver informed us of a last minute upgrade to downtown Nairobi at the Sarova Stanley. Looking at our surroundings I was somehow not convinced this would be an upgrade but we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived and checked in. The staff was exceptionally nice and the concierge went above and beyond to help us find the kind of plug adaptor we needed, offering to go get it himself. He also tracked down the camera case my granddaughter left in the car we'd arrived in and we got it back that night. It is an historic hotel which we found very interesting. The beds and bedding were very comfortable, the room immaculate. My granddaughter loved the pool which was on the 5th floor and open to the outside! Breakfast the next morning was loaded with options and once again, very friendly service. We were totally charmed by this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebBrentwood_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your high rating.

It was our pleasure to host you at Sarova Stanley. We were glad to read about your feedback on our hospitality and heritage which has charmed you.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.7 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing