We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Slice of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have traveled extensively in Kenya and this hotel is by far the best place I have stayed. Great customer service, wonderful food, relaxing ambiance, heated outdoor pool, and spa/gym area. An excellent value for the price. Very luxurious compared to how much you pay, especially compared to other hotels. The hotel is also in close walking proximity to a number of downtown Nairobi attractions. This place is definitely worth your stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We were humbled by your kind words and thank you for pointing out some among our most outstanding areas and services; the team’s hospitality, food, relaxing ambiance, heated swimming pool and fitness facilities.

We appreciate your sentiments and we are looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    347
    79
    24
    19
See reviews for
108
227
92
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We arrived in Nairobi for a safari that was due to start the next day. We'd been booked into the Safari Park Hotel but our driver informed us of a last minute upgrade to downtown Nairobi at the Sarova Stanley. Looking at our surroundings I was somehow not convinced this would be an upgrade but we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived and checked in. The staff was exceptionally nice and the concierge went above and beyond to help us find the kind of plug adaptor we needed, offering to go get it himself. He also tracked down the camera case my granddaughter left in the car we'd arrived in and we got it back that night. It is an historic hotel which we found very interesting. The beds and bedding were very comfortable, the room immaculate. My granddaughter loved the pool which was on the 5th floor and open to the outside! Breakfast the next morning was loaded with options and once again, very friendly service. We were totally charmed by this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebBrentwood_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your high rating.

It was our pleasure to host you at Sarova Stanley. We were glad to read about your feedback on our hospitality and heritage which has charmed you.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Stanley would always be my first choice when visiting Nairobi. It is a charming hotel located right in the centre of town. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The rooftop pool is definitely one of the highlights. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbeac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Sarova Stanley.

I am delighted to read you were well taken care of and that we will always be your first choice in Nairobi. Your review has been shared with the team which was truly motivated by your comments.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Food was amazing ..especially breakfast.
Great service day time poor service at night.
Very clean rooms loved it.
Good security checks.
Good receptionist very friendly.
Clean bathroom .
Thanks for having a showercup in the rooms since 1st night I was there had forgotten my shower cup.
I loved the safe box and fridge too wow all varieties.
Very silent rooms minimal noises despite it being in town centre Nairobi.
See you soon again...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRIDA-mishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience with us, and that you enjoyed the experience and the team’s hospitality.

We hope to have another chance to host you in future.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here twice between safaris. The staff is extremely friendly, polite and attentive. There is a heavy security presence at the entrance and a security guard on every floor. The breakfast buffet includes a wide variety of both local and international selections. Leave lots of time when ordering from the menu at the Thorn Tree Cafe or at the pool upstairs. The food is delicious but it takes a while to arrive. When using the bank across the street, be sure to be accompanied by your safari guide or by a member of the hotel staff to ensure your personal safety.Although this hotel is located at the intersection of two very busy streets, the rooms were quiet . We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to read you had a great stay with us. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our team hospitality and that we managed to make you feel secure.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Sarova Stanley is located in the heart of Nairobi. Surrounded by offices, shops and zillions of people going in every direction, the Stanley is an oasis for the traveler wanting to relax and have some down time to get "away from it all". It is also a great place for business travelers and anyone wanting to experience a high quality hotel with excellent service and facilities, and very good food..
The rooms are well appointed with all the comforts of home. The staff is friendly and willing to help their guests in anyway possible....always with a smile. This century old hotel is well maintained and will be a very special treat for anyone appreciating the architecture of decades gone by.
Now, for my one criticism. The food in the Thorn Tree Cafe was very good. However, to get that food (except the buffet), a person must be very patient and in no big rush. We arrived in the hotel at 1:30AM and hardly a person was in the restaurant, yet it took an exceptional amount of time to receive our order. Not a one time occurrence either. We stayed in the hotel several days and almost every meal was slow in coming. On the plus side, it was quite good when it finally made it to our table. Other than that......I have no criticism of the Stanley.....and all the positives pretty much made up for the slow arrival of our meals.

And yes, I would definitely stay at the Sarova Stanley in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the busy street in front of the hotel. It's fun to watch. My s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fruebertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback on Sarova Stanley.

We are glad you had an excellent stay with us. Your comments on our convenient location, service, food variety and team effort are highly appreciated and valued. Thank you for your recommendation as an oasis for relaxation. Your comment on speed of food service has been noted and addressed.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Second time staying here, and I enjoyed it much more than the first time. Firstly, the staff are so great and willing to do anything to help. We were difficult guests as we had a third that arrived unexpected, but the hotel moved us to the most perfect room that had three single beds, and it didn't at all seem a hassle for them. I had a good gym workout and made quick use of the steam room and sauna which was a great chillaxer after work. And this time I discovered the craft markets nearby and I promise to go there every time now. How did I miss them last time? And this time I booked online in advance through a search engine site and I got a much, much better rate than last time when I just walked in and choked at the price! Now I now :-)

Room Tip: Higher rooms are less noisy as the city is fairly constant with buss into the late night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for being an ambassador of Sarova Stanley through your multiple reviews .

We are delighted that you found your stay more enjoyable than the first. The team and I were humbled by your return visit , as we look forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing