We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sarova Stanley
Nearby Hotels
$209
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$213
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$159
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
$169
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$208
$155
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$223
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,249)
Filter reviews
1,249 results
Traveler rating
681
422
94
29
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
422
94
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthorn treethai restaurantexchange barstock exchangehistorical hotelpool deckold world charmclassic hotelfifth floorhealth clubcentral locationhotel stafflate checkbusiness districtrooms are spaciousdowntown nairobibuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 1,249 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Originally checked into room 233. View of a 5 story wall. Yuk. Long story short transferred to 7th floor. Great room with a view and above the city noise. The staff of this hotel were the best feature although the rooms were excellent also. It is right downtown. Would go back again anytime. Note: I would recommend upper floor rooms. Beds are a little on the hard side.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for your review.

We are glad that we were able to meet your need for a room with a view of the city above the city's buzz. We appreciate the kind words on our room comfort, team's customer service and the convenient location.

The hotel is in the process of soft refurbishment of our rooms; this includes changing to softer mattresses. We hope that in your next visit you shall feel the difference and give us your feedback.

Looking forward to hosting you.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the Sarova Stanley in February, 2014, inbound from Canada on a four-week visit to Africa and outbound on the way home. We found it to be an exceptional hotel - a safe, calm oasis with superb hospitality, excellent amenities and a very high level of customer service. The Stanley has a legendary history as the cornerstone of Nairobi from its beginnings as a railway terminal in 1902. This old-world charm has translated beautifully into contemporary Nairobi, with colonial echoes being only a nod to history and clearly not a continuation of all that is thankfully left far behind. The level of service and expertise is as high as, if not higher than anything we have seen around the world. We lost our luggage in transit from Johannesburg and the hotel staff (including some who are based at the airport) and concierge followed up magnificently to see it returned to us quickly. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious with all the necessary amenities of a top hotel. A great buffet breakfast is included in the room price. Even if you're not staying at the Stanley a visit is a must if you're in Nairobi. We loved the Thorn Tree Cafe - with its message board dating back to the 1900s.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and for your five star rating.

We are glad that the team offered exceptional service in a safe environment and at a very high level of customer service. We are very proud of our history and heritage and are always excited to share it through pictures, decor and stories from legendary personalities. Thank you for your sentiments on guest room comfort, buffet breakfast and the message board in Thorn Tree.

On your luggage, we are delighted that our team members were at hand to assist to get it back to you quickly.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The Stanely is ideally located in the CBD close to many relevant places. The only set back is house keeping...I accidentally soiled the bottom bed sheet with shoe polish and naturally expected it to be changed only to find out as I was about to sleep that during the room cleaning, it was swapped with the top one! The breakfast is absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodDoc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that our hotel was a convenient location for your purpose of visit while in Nairobi. We also appreciate your sentiments on breakfast.

We sincerely apologize of the polish-stained bed sheet that was not changed. Allow us to explain our procedures. Our house-keeping standard is to refresh all guest amenities including bed sheets on a daily basis. During evening turn-down service, we also refresh the rooms and bed-sheets once again, in case the guest used the same during the day. However, when our guests put up the "water conservation" sign, we do not change bed sheets and towels. We wish to assure you that the incident is by no means a reflection of what we do. We wish to leave it as isolated and unfortunate incident. Our aim is to always exceed our valued customers’ expectation.

We wish to once again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I did not know what to expect as our colleague locally booked the hotel. This really is "old world" hotel with a huge history but everything else is new world! The service was great, from the reception staff, the restaurant staff, bar waiters and the security guards on every floor. The rooms do vary in size and I think I had one of the standard rooms which was more than adequate with all the facilities you could need, very clean and good furniture. A great touch of a full fruit bowl in the room as well. The gym is very well equipped, if a little cramped, but it is good. The pool area with a restaurant/bar is great. The Thai restaurant served some of the best Thai food I have had in a long time and the best is the old fashioned bar area, great and very well done. The original staircase through the centre of the hotel reminds you of the hotel's history.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TutinsPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear ShanksPony11,

Thank for your your feedback and the five star rating.

We are glad that your colleague recommend the Sarova Stanley and we exceeded your expectation with great service. We appreciate your comments on our heritage, history, team hospitality and professionalism, in-room amenities, fitness facilities and all our dining options, especially the Thai Chi restaurant with its authentic Thai cuisine.

Thank you for sharing the experience through pictures.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was my first stay at the Sarova Stanley and from the time I arrived for a 3 day stay to the time I left all the staff I came into contact with were very polite and professional. I would like to single out Vera Moraa the reservations officer who dealt with our initial enquiry and even personally greeted us on arrival. Great service and I will definitely be rebooking at the "Stanley" for my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardCShute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear RichardCShute,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments on our great service, hospitality and for the special mention of our reservation team member who exceeded your expectations. We are glad that your 3 day visit was memorable and refreshing.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews