We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgot my laptop”
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Was there 2nd week of December. Forgot my laptop at reception upon checkout. Realised four hours later at airport...panicked! Called the hotel concierge Steve promised to look into it. Receive call within minutes, laptop found can I describe it? voila! Thanks to management and great security, customer service team.
Kept in safe custody till my return from Tanzania two days later.
What is not to love about this hotel?
Awesome!

Room Tip: Avoid anything facing the main road - tip for every city.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebonymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Ebonymoto,

Thank you for taking time to give us a review of your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We as a team of Sarova Stanley, strive to meet and exceed guest expectation by being true to ourselves and to our customers. This is one of the work tenets that we hold very dearly.

Looking forward to hosting you in 2014 with renewed expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
There are newer reviews for Sarova Stanley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Tried it first time after being disappointed in another International brand. The experience was really good. The hotel has rich heritage and history. The rooms whilst small are very elegant and the team in general very switched on. I enjoyed the Thai restaurant and the terrace restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudowTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear BudowTravels:

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that our hotel is now your preferred hotel in Nairobi. This was after your first stay with us. We were very excited to have shared our history with you, the team ensured that you have a memorable stay and the dining options exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I only had one night here, but the experience was fabulous. We were a small group and arrived late to the hotel. The front desk was very quick in getting our group checked in and on to our rooms, which was very much appreciated after long travel hours. Each floor had it's own attendant/security guard, which was always very pleasant with greetings and retrieving the elevator when needed. The room was beautiful with dark wood and very spacious. We had a room with 2 twin beds. Although the beds were rather hard for our liking, they were still cozy. The next morning our group checked out early and staff were waiting for us in the lobby. They attended to us individually and I didn't even have to approach the front desk to complete the check out process. We had the buffet breakfast before we left and it was delicious with many choices, including omelet and pancake and waffle stations. The attentiveness and hospitality of the staff was excellent which made our quick stay perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear scorpqueen,

Greetings from Nairobi. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it was our pleasure to host you.

We appreciate your feedback and are glad that your experience was fabulous. From the quick group check-in, attentive and friendly security presence on the guest room floors to the spacious rooms, breakfast choice and variety and check-out process.

We have also taken note that the beds were too hard for your liking for our corrective action.

We were humbled to have hosted you and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was bit reticent regarding my trip to Kenya due to uncertainty of getting a safe accommodation. But the great services and warm hospitality available at Sarova Stanley fulfilled my expectation of having a secured accommodation. From the moment I got in contact with the pickup cab driver of the hotel at the airport till the check out time, I had a great experience with their exceptional 5-star services.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saloni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Saloni,

Thank you for your review.

We are very happy that you confirmed the great services and warm hospitality provided at the hotel, which fulfilled your expectation of having a secured accommodation at our hotel. It was our pleasure to host you in our hotel, offering truly refreshing African hospitality that you rated 5-star.

We look forward to hosting you again with higher expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Whenever am in Nairobi, I ensure i have a meal here. The food is good. Had both lunch and dinner here and it is well done. Food doesn't delay that much like in most hotels.

It is found in the middle of town and after shopping, one can just walk in. The ambiance at the hotel is perfect for one to relax.

The customer service is equally good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Queen_EA256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking time to post a review of experience with us.

As outlined in your feedback, our convenient location, relaxing ambiance, food variety and speed of service keeps you coming back. We are glad to be at your service.

Once again thank you for your continued patronage in our restaurants.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Have stayed in the Stanley 4 times during the past 3 months and I have enjoyed every stay tremendously. Will again stay there next week and I am already looking forward to the trip. Love to relax at the Exchange Bar, in the evening after a long days work in Nairobi, and just appreciate the professionalism, smiles and total commitment of 2 of the guys there – Thanks to Sammy and Robert for their great work! You 2 make my day a complete success even though every day has it’s challenges. Looking forward to see you the next time.

Room Tip: I am a smoker so the 5th floor is perfect for me, but in case you are not a smoker, choose any other...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tribis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Tribis,

It was our pleasure to host you. Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate the special mention of our team members, who have made your stay more memorable and relaxing. We are glad to be considered as a hotel of choice whenever you are in the city and we hope that your future stays will be fulfilling and successful.

Welcome back.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Attentive services.House keeping is top of the note.
Excellent location, right in the center of CBD
Old fashion hotel but in a good stage of maintenance.
Delicious breakfast menu.
Highly recommended to anyone who stopover in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear RachelChee,

Thank you for the feedback of your last stay with us.

Our attentive service, excellent location and delicious breakfast made it worthwhile your visit. We appreciate your recommendation to all who will be stopping over in Nairobi.

We hope to host you again in the near future. Kindly follow us on Twitter and be our fan on Facebook to get updates on all our hotel stories.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#20 of 167 in Nairobi
1,017 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,040 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $138 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing