We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Safe, and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Safe, and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay prior to heading out on safari - and it did not disappoint.
Great location, classy rooms, and enjoyable food. It's not 5 star though - deal with it!
Can't complain - well except that apparently Nairobi isn't safe to walk around at night, we had to take a taxi literally 1 km to get to an outdoor bar to have some drinks.

Hotel was also kind enough to hold onto one of our bags for the week while we went on safari.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdocmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It was a pleasure to host you prior to heading out on safari. We hope your safari was very memorable. We appreciate your feedback on our great location, classy rooms and enjoyable food. We are also glad that our gesture to hold your bags for the week you were in safari was appreciated. On the rating, we have noted your comment. This forms part of our continuous assessment of ourselves, product and services to ensure we give value for money as a five star establishment.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    347
    79
    24
    19
See reviews for
108
227
92
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A nice hotel with very large rooms and a lovely breakfast buffet. The hotel feels very safe with a lot of guards and a security control before entering the hotel. The hotel also offers their own taxis, which was a nice facility. The pool area is also very nice and we enjoyed the free wifi access (that is available within the entire hotel)! I do not have anything negative to say about this hotel, except that the rooms were a bit dark. Otherwise, everything was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear LM,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your 5 star rating in com. Thank you for comments on our spacious rooms, lovely breakfast, airport transfer services, swimming pool, free WiFi and secure location.

In exception was the concern of the room being dark. We have noted the comments as an action point during our continuous property improvement plan to review our lighting and decor.

We are glad your stay was perfect and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Various tour guides recommend this place. No idea why. Very average hotel trading on former glories as a "colonial gem". It's no gem. Rooms are big but decor is very outdated. Service is average. Breakfast was good but the food in general was only ok. Supposedly a 4 or 5 star hotel but it's firmly 3 star and therefore overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Rory C,

Thank you for staying with us and for the overview of what you experienced during your time at Sarova Stanley.

We value feedback from our guests and have already reviewed your comments with various team members to re-evaluate our promise of refreshing African hospitality. We work hard to make each and every guest feel most welcome, however, this time, we did not meet your expectation in our guestrooms, service and culinary experiences. Your disappointment was clearly conveyed in your rating of value for money.

We would very much like to hear from you to discuss the areas you described. Kindly email me on david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com as we strive to rectify the gaps identified.

Thank you again for raising the concerns. We are confident that your next stay with us will be one that meets and exceeds your expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Thanks to the Exchange Bar team Ben, Beatrice, Robert and Richard for your friendship and excellent service during my five day stay at the Stanley!!. Keep u the good work Will definately call again.
Dennis

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dennis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Dennis Z,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate the special mention of our team members who made your stay memorable through their friendly and excellent service.

We appreciate your comments and await your return.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our safari week and it made a welcome breather after the overnight flight and the hotel oozes with the history of Kenya.
The room/bed was gloroiusly comfortable and the rooftop pool was a blissful relaxation.
Going there two weeks after the Westgate shopping centre tragedy meant that there was fairly tight security which was reassuring.
Do visit the Acacia Tree Post Office on the ground floor and you will realise just how new the concept of this city is. Sadly the original acacia tree died but they have installed a good replacement, as seen in the picture.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear FriskyG,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you made a historical stopover at Sarova Stanley. It was our pleasure to host you before your safari and share our history. Thank you for sharing pictures of the message board on this media to all. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The service in this hotel is absolutely superb, every department from front desk to security excel at offering 5 star service. The service at this hotel is up there with the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Although the service is 5 star, I can't say the same thing about the rooms.

The beds and pillows aren't 5 star, they are just run of the mill that you would find in any hotel. The rooms are dated, the air conditioning produces a smell that means it's better to keep it off, luckily it wasn't particularly hot so I didn't need need it on. The curtains look like they have been there for years. The tv is an old school tv, which is strange considering most have LCDs now. The shower is below average, and the bathroom as a whole not much better.

The rest of the hotel is pretty cool. I really liked the location, right in the hustle and bustle with a couple of bars close by, and there is a real energy in the city, and being at this hotel you're right in the centre of it. The hotel bar is good, quite cool relaxing there overlooking the city below. The thai restaurant was decent, wouldn't have a problem eating there again. The bar on the ground floor wasn't great though, and I had a chicken burger but couldn't eat it as the meat was grey, not what I expected.

So the staff are great and the location is cool, and I always think location is very important, but so are the rooms, and for me the rooms let this place down. I'd stay here again, but will know what to expect, if you're considering staying here, then do so, you're not going to regret it, providing you don't expect your rooms to be 5 star.

Room Tip: Whatever the crisps are in the mini bar try them, they are very nice! Much thicker than Walkers in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jigsinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jigsinsy,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments on the service which you rated 5 star, our convenient location in a lively city center and great staff.

We have noted that our room experience did not meet your expectation. Notably were the air condition, upholstery, TV and shower head. Our guest rooms are undergoing a planned and continuous upgrading process to ensure we match up to international bedroom standards. We hope that in your next stay with us, you will experience the refurbished rooms. On the issue of chicken burger, we regret the experience was far from sumptuous. Our kitchen team has taken this up for investigation and as a touch-point training for all future orders.

We are glad our choice of minibar crisps was satisfactory.

Looking forward to your return visit with renewed expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1,042 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 562 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through internet.The hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi. The hotel building is old but it is very well maintained. The building is a clasique British style with a lot of high quality wood in its interior. The hotel staffs are helpful and friendly. The room is very clean and well equipped. The breakfast was well served with variety of food choices. We checked out very early at 5 AM to catch our flight. The hotel prepared us a take away breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear HDI2013,

Thank you for your review.

We have noted your kind comments on our convenient location, our landmark heritage, the team, in-room service and breakfast.

We appreciate your booking via the internet and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing