We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the advice in tour guides, very average hotel”
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #7 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Various tour guides recommend this place. No idea why. Very average hotel trading on former glories as a "colonial gem". It's no gem. Rooms are big but decor is very outdated. Service is average. Breakfast was good but the food in general was only ok. Supposedly a 4 or 5 star hotel but it's firmly 3 star and therefore overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Rory C,

Thank you for staying with us and for the overview of what you experienced during your time at Sarova Stanley.

We value feedback from our guests and have already reviewed your comments with various team members to re-evaluate our promise of refreshing African hospitality. We work hard to make each and every guest feel most welcome, however, this time, we did not meet your expectation in our guestrooms, service and culinary experiences. Your disappointment was clearly conveyed in your rating of value for money.

We would very much like to hear from you to discuss the areas you described. Kindly email me on david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com as we strive to rectify the gaps identified.

Thank you again for raising the concerns. We are confident that your next stay with us will be one that meets and exceeds your expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Thanks to the Exchange Bar team Ben, Beatrice, Robert and Richard for your friendship and excellent service during my five day stay at the Stanley!!. Keep u the good work Will definately call again.
Dennis

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dennis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Dennis Z,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate the special mention of our team members who made your stay memorable through their friendly and excellent service.

We appreciate your comments and await your return.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our safari week and it made a welcome breather after the overnight flight and the hotel oozes with the history of Kenya.
The room/bed was gloroiusly comfortable and the rooftop pool was a blissful relaxation.
Going there two weeks after the Westgate shopping centre tragedy meant that there was fairly tight security which was reassuring.
Do visit the Acacia Tree Post Office on the ground floor and you will realise just how new the concept of this city is. Sadly the original acacia tree died but they have installed a good replacement, as seen in the picture.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear FriskyG,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you made a historical stopover at Sarova Stanley. It was our pleasure to host you before your safari and share our history. Thank you for sharing pictures of the message board on this media to all. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The service in this hotel is absolutely superb, every department from front desk to security excel at offering 5 star service. The service at this hotel is up there with the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Although the service is 5 star, I can't say the same thing about the rooms.

The beds and pillows aren't 5 star, they are just run of the mill that you would find in any hotel. The rooms are dated, the air conditioning produces a smell that means it's better to keep it off, luckily it wasn't particularly hot so I didn't need need it on. The curtains look like they have been there for years. The tv is an old school tv, which is strange considering most have LCDs now. The shower is below average, and the bathroom as a whole not much better.

The rest of the hotel is pretty cool. I really liked the location, right in the hustle and bustle with a couple of bars close by, and there is a real energy in the city, and being at this hotel you're right in the centre of it. The hotel bar is good, quite cool relaxing there overlooking the city below. The thai restaurant was decent, wouldn't have a problem eating there again. The bar on the ground floor wasn't great though, and I had a chicken burger but couldn't eat it as the meat was grey, not what I expected.

So the staff are great and the location is cool, and I always think location is very important, but so are the rooms, and for me the rooms let this place down. I'd stay here again, but will know what to expect, if you're considering staying here, then do so, you're not going to regret it, providing you don't expect your rooms to be 5 star.

Room Tip: Whatever the crisps are in the mini bar try them, they are very nice! Much thicker than Walkers in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jigsinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Jigsinsy,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments on the service which you rated 5 star, our convenient location in a lively city center and great staff.

We have noted that our room experience did not meet your expectation. Notably were the air condition, upholstery, TV and shower head. Our guest rooms are undergoing a planned and continuous upgrading process to ensure we match up to international bedroom standards. We hope that in your next stay with us, you will experience the refurbished rooms. On the issue of chicken burger, we regret the experience was far from sumptuous. Our kitchen team has taken this up for investigation and as a touch-point training for all future orders.

We are glad our choice of minibar crisps was satisfactory.

Looking forward to your return visit with renewed expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through internet.The hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi. The hotel building is old but it is very well maintained. The building is a clasique British style with a lot of high quality wood in its interior. The hotel staffs are helpful and friendly. The room is very clean and well equipped. The breakfast was well served with variety of food choices. We checked out very early at 5 AM to catch our flight. The hotel prepared us a take away breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear HDI2013,

Thank you for your review.

We have noted your kind comments on our convenient location, our landmark heritage, the team, in-room service and breakfast.

We appreciate your booking via the internet and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Like last time, my check in was swift, data on the printed sheet all in order and in no time I was on the 7th floor and ushered into my room by a Brand Ambassador, Sarova's name for their guest relations staff, who are so much more than just that by the way - they truly are ambassadors for their employers.
A quick check that everything was working, desk set up with laptop open and connected to a socket nearby - no struggle finding any here - the free internet catching instantly and then I was on my way to the first meeting, walking as the Stanley is right in the centre of the CBD and rather than taking a cab, a brisk walk is a better solution, healthier too. Security in Nairobi was visible and not once did a walk invoke that feeling of having to look over my shoulder, a great improvement compared to several years ago. I had most of my meals at the Stanley, a perfectly cooked medium steak at the pool terrace restaurant, fish and chicken dishes at the Thorn Tree and a delicious supper at the Thai restaurant which I remember from my old Nairobi days as the 'Tate Room' ... service was swift on all occasions, breakfast included where empty plates were promptly cleared making space for more of their pastry goodies to find their way through my mouth into my stomach.
For housekeeping too full marks, they replenished creamer and sweetener by the fistful, on my request as I work much of the night when I have to file my articles and asking for the towels to be kept and the bed only made but the sheets not changed too was done as requested.
With a history of over 111 years now under the belt, the Stanley remains a favourite and while admittedly the bathrooms are on the small side they lack nothing in terms of equipment or toiletries. The biggest bonus however is the staff, who offer hearty greetings to familiar faces and as observed, to new ones too, even if it is clear that THAT particular group of tourists was only staying for the night on arrival before heading out on safari. They, like myself, were all accorded 'most valued guest' status. A big thank you to the entire staff, they are a true asset to the Sarova Stanley Hotel. Looking forward to a return way earlier than another year and a half.

Room Tip: See to it that you get a room on the upper floors, a superior room at least and of course, nothing b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your previous stay with us.

From the swift check-in, being ushered to the room, complimentary internet access, perfectly cooked meals at both Thorn Tree and Pool deck restaurants and in-room service; you have rated us highly. We have shared your review with the entire team to motivate us to continually improve to surpass our guest expectation.

We look forward to hosting you again and in case of future reservations, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Grand Old Lady of Nairobi! I enjoyed the old world charm and the friendly service. The security was uppermost in my mind (as a solo traveler and so soon after the terrorist attack at Westgate Mall), and the Stanley did not disappoint me! Friendly, professional security officers screening at the door and officers placed strategically yet unobtrusively within the building. The room was large, comfortable and clean with all the amenities you would expect in a hotel of this caliber. Oh, and a scrumptious meal or 2 at the Thorn Tree Cafe has to be on every travelers list! The Prawn Salad was simply delicious!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaFran4kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments as you experienced the culture and heritage preserved in the hotel. The professional and friendly security measures put in place met your expectation. Thank you also, for endorsing the Thorn Tree cafe to be a place to visit for every travelers list, especially for Prawn Salad.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,100 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $138 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing