We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Historical Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Historical Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed one night after a week in Mombasa and a five night safari. We wanted someplace nice and also safe. It was both, as well as having great service. Our guide dropped us off after driving all day and arrived about 5 pm to a long line at reception, but were quickly noticed by Dominic and taken over to his "Ambassador" desk for a quick check-in. I guess we looked tired after the safari! The traffic was very bad in this area around the hotel.
We had booked through Hotels.com and had breakfast included. We were given a third floor room which had a queen bed and also a twin. The twin was great because it afforded us a place to sort and repack our luggage for the flights back home. The room was very large and well appointed. The whole hotel had a wonderfully attention-to-detail appearance. From the carved wood archways in the halls to the crown moldings in the bedroom.
Our flight did not leave until late the next day so when we checked out the hotel happily stored our luggage for us until we were ready to leave. We shopped and then hung out by the heated pool that afternoon. There was a large arts and craft market a few blocks away.
Everyone was very helpful and most accommodating. The only negative was the lack of wait staff during the breakfast buffet the next morning. We were seated in the patio section and there seemed to be only one young man and he was very busy pouring coffee. The food was good and there was a good variety.
We liked the idea of entering the hotel through a metal detector and having a guard on each floor for security. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Marie and Pat,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful and comprehensive review on Sarova Stanley. We value your feedback and hope that this message finds you in good health.

Sarova Stanley’s charm emanates from the hotel being one of the pioneer establishments in Nairobi. We have tried to preserve the old world charm by maintaining the architecture and furnishings from this period. The town thus developed around the hotel hence the traffic within the area . I am pleased to however learn of the efficient service extended by Dominic which made your check in process easier and pleasant.

Thank you for pointing out the security measures the hotel has taken to ensure that our guests are safe. We are glad that you found this to your satisfaction .

I have taken into consideration your sentiments on the waiting staff at breakfast and we are looking into your concerns.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to host you again in future.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    359
    83
    24
    21
See reviews for
111
238
96
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I liked this hotel, especially the friendly attitude of the staff. I got a warm smile and welcome greeting from Ivy at the check in desk and again at the bar that evening.
One of the hotel drivers (Ben) even returned some change to me via the helpful concierge desk as I only had 1000 shilling notes. Very good service.
It's an old hotel in central Nairobi with colonial charm. My room was large and comfy. The shower was a bit dated but all was fine.
Breakfast was good. The fifth floor swimming pool/ restaurant looked nice, though I didn't use either.
I recommend the first floor bar.
All in all a good hotel - and much better value than some of the other large chains in Nairobi. Other hotels could learn from this one about the difference a friendly welcome on arrival makes after a draining long haul flight.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sarova Stanley hotel. We appreciate and value your feedback.

We thank you for making a special mention on the warm, friendly and efficient staff. We take pride in them. Sarova Stanley also prides itself with its rich historical heritage. The bar on the 1st floor is especially fascinating as it once served as the site of Nairobi’s first stock exchange.

Please visit the 5th floor facilities on your next visit. The pool is heated and the restaurant offers a relaxing open air atmosphere .

Thank you again for your review, we hope that you will stay with us again should you return to Nairobi.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Sarova Stanley before and after our safari. The reservations were made by an online booking site. Shortly after making the reservations, I contacted the hotel by email to ask about making arrangements for airport pick up and drop off. I received an immediate response and confirmation of the transportation. The airport pick up and drop off went smoothly. The rooms were clean and spacious and the food was delicious. The slippers and robe came in handy and the free internet access is a plus. We were very impressed by the staff. Every person greeted us with a smile and were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel and will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pugmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear pugmum,

Greetings from Sarova Stanley.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Kenya with your family. I hope you had a pleasant safari.

Thank you for taking note of our responsive and friendly service. The hotels staff is indeed one our most valued element.

We appreciate your wonderful review on our property and are pleased that the rooms, food and amenities offered in the hotel met your expectations.

Your commendation is highly appreciated and we look forward to hosting you in future.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent a couple nights here in July during a business trip.

It's a friendly, clean hotel in a great downtown NBO location.

Service is good, rooms are clean, and overall amenities are good too.

Will came this my local NBO hotel going forward i think.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niknpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

We were happy to have hosted you in July during your business trip to Nairobi. Thank you for your comments on our housekeeping efforts, convenient location of the hotel and in-room amenities.

Above all, we appreciate to be your preferred choice of hotel while in Nairobi. We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

One of my better if not the best experience with hotels is with Sarova Stanley. an excellent hotel with a history. spacious rooms, good food , friendly staff along with the fact that it is situated bang in the middle of city center makes it a unanimous choice for me. expensive yes and a full value for money an unforgettable experience worth spending some bucks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalyani_Uday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that one of your best experience was at Sarova Stanley. Our history, room space, food, team, location made us an excellent choice for your visit to Nairobi and value for money.

Once again thank you and looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for long business trip and Savora Stanley hotel made my trip very enjoyable. Would certainly recommend, if you are just flying before staring your safari or staying for three week, food is excellent and the Thai restuarant is great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Athcm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We were glad to have hosted you during your long business trip to Nairobi and getting such comments confirms what other guests have said about our hotel. Thank you for your comments on our excellent Thai food.

Looking forward to hosting you again and to hosting all the guests you shall recommend to.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a very neat hotel with a long history in Nairobi – the Exchange Bar above the lobby actually being the first stock exchange in the country.

Breakfast can be expensive if you don’t get the breakfast option included, but provided decent options. The rooms themselves are very spacious and very well maintained by the attentive staff; security seems very good, with guards on every level in the evening and a metal scanner and guards at the front lobby area.

The location is also very good, close to the Mara Market and numerous downtown attractions; there is also a supermarket about a 10 minute walk away. There is an international ATM across the street as well – hotel staff will gladly accompany you to withdraw cash if you require.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bvonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate feedback from our guests. Sarova Stanley continues to make history since 1902 and we were glad to have shared the Exchange Bar history with you. Thank you for your comments on the size of our rooms, our team members attentiveness, convenient location and the courtesy by the team.

On our breakfast option, we understand your sentiments on the pricing. We have taken time to meet the tastes and preferences of all our guests during breakfast. This is why we have such a spread of options to choose from. We pride ourselves in being very competitively priced as compared to other restaurants in vicinity.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#20 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.7 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing