We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,316)
Filter reviews
1,316 results
Traveler rating
725
440
96
31
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
440
96
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thorn tree thai restaurant exchange bar stock exchange historical hotel pool deck classic hotel fifth floor health club central location hotel staff late check rooms are big business district downtown nairobi comfortable hotel buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
809 - 814 of 1,316 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Located right in the centre of town (still not recommended to work around after dark). Rooms are spacious, modern and come with great beds. The staff is great and their coffee shop offers a great breakfast buffet.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikhilDevasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Devasar,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments and the fantastic rating.

We look forward to hosting you again with renewed expectation.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice staff will never compensate the rooms that are still from another century. Rooms should urgently need deep renovation, including windows isolation from the street which is very noisy for most of the night as the hotel in one of the busy downtown streets.

Avoid this place if you like modern and quiet rooms.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred_by_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We appreciate your good rating on our location and have noted the concern on the product offering and noise from the neighbours for our immediate action.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We weren't able to compare the Sarova with other hotels in Nairobi, but getting a feel for the city itself, we feel it might be one of the better and safer options.
There is an obvious security presence which, given the warning notice posted in reception, is reassuring.
The Sarova dates back to British colonial days, a heritage which it is keen to promote. In some ways, however, this is beginning to show.
Our room (204) had old British plug points with rounded prongs (this disappeared in the UK in the 1960's) and only one squared version, the fittings of which were so loose we had to pop a pillow under the plug to maintain contact for recharging purposes.
In the evening the heavy base accompaniment of music was audible in our room until close to midnight, not helpful when we rose early to meet trip requirements.
Room service and food was very good; staff everywhere were pleasant and helpful.
Transport to and from the airport was excellent and recommended.

Room tip: Try to get away from the music
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Kenneth B,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to have hosted you while in Nairobi and that our heritage and security arrangement was appreciated. Thank you for the comment on food, transfer services and staff helpfulness.

We have noted that our power plugs are loose and we are addressing this concern.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed in the Stanley over 30 times. It's a great hotel with wonderful service. I feel safer there than any other hotel in town. I really enjoy the staff and restaurants. It's the only place I stay anymore.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddmergens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear ddmergens,

Thank you for your review.

We are greatly honoured for making Sarova Stanley your home in Kenya. The team acknowledges you as part of the family.

Once again thank you and we are always excited to host you.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here for six nights for a conference in July. The staff was exceptionally friendly and very attentive. Since most of my meals were buffet style it is hard to comment on the individual service, but the food was good all days. The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and well kept. The gym is small but very nice with free weights and machines (elliptical, running, bike). We had no security issues at all. One domolaint was the lack of flexibility. We arrived fur hours before official check in and they noted they had rooms for us to take. After giving us the key they told us we would be charged and additional 75% for the extra hours. When we Declined they took the room keys back and made us wait. This seemed very poor judgment given we were staying there for six nights AND it was clear the rooms we free.

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank Tillman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Tillman B,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy that you liked the buffet dishes, the room and the team's friendliness and attentiveness.

We have noted the concern on inflexibility of our check-in and check-out time. Allow us to explain; we raise an early arrival fee to guarantee that the room will be ready before our official check-in time. In turn, this guarantee gives our team enough time to prepare for guest arrival. This policy has been communicated to our customers and partners. Unfortunately, this concern was not properly communicated and it affected you. We have since addressed this issue with the team.

Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews