We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Start of the safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Start of the safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Came here having spent the day travelling to Kenya from the uk, as we were getting married in Kenya they spoilt us by leaving cake, flowers, rose petals and a towel arrangement in our room, this was a nice touch.
All staff were friendly, approachable and efficient, the room was clean and everything worked, there was also free wifi, which wasn't brilliant, but it was free so you can't complain.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and everything was fresh and well presented.
The swimming pool on the roof was brilliant, warm and relaxing.
All in all they left a really good lasting impression on us and we would be glad to return.
A brilliant start to a brilliant holiday!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Griff84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Griff84,

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your wedding.

We are happy to have shared this memorable stay with you and also happy that all lead to a brilliant stay. We look forward to hosting you again with more memorable memories.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    336
    76
    23
    15
See reviews for
99
220
86
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and was the start of our Kenyan trip. The hotel room was of spacious size and well kept. The cleaniless was faultless and had all the room facilities that you would expect. Breakfast was a vast array of choices and very nice, with a good service. Our only issue was that one day we had a drink in the bar and was a bit on the pricey side. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and all the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor will give a good overlook of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charleigh p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear charleigh p,

Greetings and thank you for your email.

W have noted your kind comments during your recent stay with us. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and all the staff were helpful.

For your next visit, kindly contact us directly as we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The team at the Sarova Stanley is great. Special regards to Carolyne Mweseli, Kagunga, Jedidah, Anthony, Leonard, Frigustus, Jared Lucy, Ruth and Paul Ngeno. The team is there for the clients to ensure you receive the best.

The rooms are clean, secure, well aerated and spacious.

Room Tip: The eastern rooms gives a view of Kimathi street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggruheni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate the special mentions of our team members who made your stay memorable.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I arrived at Jomo Kenyatta Airport Nairobi at 6am on a Monday morning. So glad that the Sarova Stanley allowed us an early check-in without any additional cost [Bravo Sarova Stanley]. On arrival after our cab driver struggeled through the rush hour Nairobi traffic, we were greeted warmly and led to our huge room.
We had meetings from late morning so a few hours sleep was very welcome. Comfortable bed too.
Thick curtains kept the light and traffic noise out.
Wifi worked on my 'phone but not on my wife's. [It later transpired that for additional 'phones a code was required - but this did not work so we were to await the IT experts the next morning].
That evening we decided to book at the Stanley's Thai Chi restaurant. Whilst dressing up to go the the Thai Chi we found that the plug of the iron which we ordered from house keeping kept falling out of both of the two sockets available. Booking was not difficult. When we entered the restaurant was half full and we were very warmly greeted by the staff all in Thai attire. The ambiance of the restaurant was grand but very dark [difficult to read the menu] As the menu was difficult to read we were told that we would be assisted by a waiter For starters i ordered the Tom yam soup and my wife asked for grilled prawns the waiter showed my wife the item on the mennu which sted freid prawns - but the waiter assured us that they were grilled prawns. My starter was okay, not like a Thai Tom Yam soup, but similar. My wife got s few white balls of something which she found did not taste like prawns at all. She asked the waiter that these were not grilled prawns and she would not have this dish. It took our waiter a long time before he decided to tkae away the dish. By this time I had finidhed my starter. The mains were okay. A more senoir water explained that this was a dish with mashed up prawn with a variety of other ingredients but not grilled prawns. We left the restaurant disappointed.

As soon as we reached the room out sockets were sorted! wonderful.

Next morning still no wifi for my wife's 'phone.

Breakfast was good in the Thron tree cafe. I remembered my teenage days in the mid 60's living in Nairobi and having coffee there and people watching

We attended meetings the following day and that evening we decide to eat in the Thorn tree restaurant. The meal came with a complimentary starter which was such a treat, whilst eating the starter. Ravi the deputy food and beverage manager came to us and inquired about our evening the previous day. I was amazed that he took such an interest in our dissapointment. We explained everything to him and he stated that he woudl be making changes to the menu and also be looking into staff training. I thought that was so good Full marks for customer service. To top it up he waived our dinner bill charges. After this he arranged for us to use the business centre internet as my wife's wifi was not working. Depsite our initial dissapointment, Ravi took so much care and attention to ensure our visit was not marred by this one incident that he must surely be one of the few hotel managers in the world worthy of 6 stars!
All staff were lovely and caring.

We will certainly be back
.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MO553RO655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear MO53RO55,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are extremely glad to read about your experience during your last stay with us. We have noted all the points raised for our action.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel places you in the heart of Nairobi. Everything is in walking distance (shopping, banks, eateries etc). If you love NYC hustle, then this is the place to be. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. One staff in particular, Dominic, was very hospitable and went out of his way to make hotel guests feel welcome. He taught us some of the local dialect and even sent complimentary fruit to the room. We received the local newspaper complimentary each day, and the staff was very attentive to any problems that came up. The breakfast and dinner menus were great as well, especially the buffet. 5 stars to the staff for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1frequentflyer365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear 1frequentflyer365,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad our team and customer service exceeded your expectation. Thank you for the special mention of our team member. This mention has been shared to the whole team and has motivated us to continually improve on our customer service. We are also happy, that our dining experience was great.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for 15 days.
Everyone is helpful or tries to be so.
People are friendly. Staff is accomodating.
Nice decor.
Had needed amenities.
Had wireless.
3 restaurants were well liked by my companions.
Complimentary breakfast was fine.
Only 5 star hotel in Nairobi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed in this property for a day during business visit to Nairobi. Although structure is built in 1902, it offers 5 star services.Location wise its very much into city with main city market with FOREX, Taxi stand , medicines everything in 2 minutes walk. Staff is very cordial and overall its a highly recommended place. Swimming pool wasn't as per 5 star but good enough to get in for a dip. Overall its a value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaisalAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear FaisalAhmad,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that our location in Nairobi's central business district was of convenience to your purpose of visit. We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#19 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, ETB, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing