We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and ambiance at the pool terrace restaurant”
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance at the pool terrace restaurant”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good location in Nairobi CBD. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Excellent food and ambiance at the pool terrace restaurant. Breakfast buffet spread was big and very good. Arrived in the evening and had to leave early next morning for safari so didn't have much time to enjoy the facilities. Standard 5 star hotel service. Although I paid a discounted rate, I still find it slightly expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcw-indietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear lcw-indietraveler,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate the comments on our Pool deck restaurant and Thorn Tree Restaurant. We have shared this with our chefs to motivate them to exceed customer expectation through their creativity and fresh ingredients. We hope that on your next visit, you shall share your lovely pictures with all.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    390
    89
    26
    22
See reviews for
125
258
104
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent hotel & service. Very clean & friendly. Centrally located in Nairobi. Plenty of choice of food. Top floor swimming pool was gorgeous. Only down fall was that it was a tad expensive. Also they made us feel very welcome and they made a lot of effort to help celebrate our wedding anniversary! Defiantly would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to of been of high quality :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazza_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Cazza_x,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the comments and the rating.

Befriend us on our Facebook page and see more of the other Sarova properties, located in scenic destinations in Kenya.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The poor service does not match up all the captivating history that the stanley holds.....starting with when we got there...the staff has no enthusiasm and it was as if they were all trying to get away the minute we arrived.....or busy asking you if you had booked your next safari or rented a car.....all annoying questions after tiring travels.... the room is spacious but very outdated could use some bringing back to the times and give it some life......Breakfast on day #1 we thought it would be such a lovely idea to sit out in the open area and enjoy breakfast.....we were wrong the fumes from all the cars going by is just terrible....we are never going back there again...if you would like a hotel in town but yet feel like you are away from the chaos try the intercontinental or the Norfolk hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idreamofkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear idreamofkenya,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to have shared our history with you.

We have noted the concerns raised to better our service and product.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my second visit after almost 17 years. I loved it then and still do! The Stanley is a beautiful, elegant, classic hotel in the center of the amazing city of Nairobi. The hotel has a fascinating history. The standard rooms are large and comfortable, The staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Both restaurants serve excellent food. The spa and business center are great additions.The price for a hotel for this caliber outstanding. Recommended without hesitation.
Airport pick-up is available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancySN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear NancySN,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your return visit after 17 years. Thank you also for your rating. We appreciate your feedback. Next time, kindly share with us pictures of each of your stays.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Stanley has a very fascinating history and I do love the architecture..my problem is with the staff...I do not know what method they use for screening their potential clients but my two visits there havent been pleasant...!!! At he restaurant, I got served as if I was seond rate client...at the lobby when I enquired ater a friend who was staying there..treatment wasnt better...however I hear it is just us kenyan who get the nose down treatment so try,
maybe you would get a better treatment

Room Tip: next to the swiimming pool..hgher floors have a better vien and are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Herine O,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad that the history and heritage of the hotel made your stay more memorable.

We regret the concern raised and have taken note of it for an immediate action plan to meet and exceed customer expectation.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel was wonderful. The welcome was great. Though they have a system that won't let you check in before Mid-day. We had reached the hotel around 8 ( our flight timing was weird) and had to wait a couple of hours before we were given the room. If I had to take the room early, I was asked to pay the full day's charge in advance. But anyways, was given the room at around 10 along with the complimentary fruits, which were quite delicious. The gym as well as the heated swimming pool are good too. Overall had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kauzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Kauzy,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments on our hotel and welcome. Our guest rooms may not be always available for early check-ins, unless specifically required in advance. We regret that, this caused the wait. However, we are glad your overall experience was great.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I only stayed here for one night last week, but it was wonderful.

After having getting used to the fact that one needs to have all bags scanned and checked upon entry at most hotels in Nairobi, I was welcomed as if I was an old friend by Ivy, the wonderful receptionist who was on duty on Sunday evening. This was a last-minute corporate booking and Ivy reassured me that all guests of the Kenyan office of the company I work for regularly reside at the Stanley.

The reception area has an old-world charm to it. You feel a bit as if, at any moment, the high class of an era gone by were to sweep down the stairs at any moment on their way to dinner (just like a scene from Titanic).

The standard room was well appointed and large (as this is a historic hotel I would expect the rooms to be large). The bathroom has a basin, toilet and bath / shower. I'm usually apprehensive about shower curtains, but mine was sparkly clean and dry. The room had a good study table, mini-bar fridge (good size) and safe. Again, as I mentioned, as the hotel is quite old, the rooms are not modern at all, but they are well maintained and spotless.

It was a late check-in (after 8 PM), but the pool was still open and the restaurant was 24 hours. Being given this amazing welcome and after having a look around in the reception area, however, it was almost as if the "veranda" area of the main restaurant on the ground floor did not really "fit" in with the hotel. Sure, my first meal in Kenya was tasty and the service exemplary, but it felt a bit more like the restaurant fitting / decor was an "add on" to the main hotel.

The complimentary wi-fi worked without a glitch. Great.

The breakfast buffet was vast and tasty. Service was quick and the coffee was excellent.

The stay was great and, although brief, I would recommend it to anyone who has to stay in or close to the CBD. If you are looking for something more modern though, the Sankara may be better option, although it is much more expensive than the Stanley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear mkoeleman7,

Thank you for your review.

We are always proud of Ivy and her team and are happy that her welcome was exceptional. For over a century, Sarova Stanley has maintained the old world charm with a contemporary feel. We are glad you has a great experience.

We look forward to offering even higher standards of service during your next stay.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
966 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
971 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing