We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel”
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We attended a wedding in Nairobi in February and stayed our first couple of nights at the Stanley.
They sent a complimentary shuttle to collect us at the airport. After passing through the security set up at the entrance, we stepped into a lobby that was all classic polished wood and brass. Very welcoming staff, and the formality of checking in was quickly completed.
Rooms very comfortable with all the usual amenities, and a security guard was stationed in the lobby of every floor. The only very minor niggle was when I continually tripped over the door stop situated in front of the hot drinks tray. my own fault for forgetting it was there, but not well positioned. You can tell from the fact that I mentioned it, that I could not find any fault with anything else.

The rooftop pool was a joy to sit around, or in as you choose. We were there on Valentine's day, and this is quite a celebrated event in Kenya, so the setting up process around the pool started quite early, which was a slight intrusion in to the serenity of our after travel day. When we ventured up again that evening we could see the transformation that had taken place. Amazingly decorated and lit, for the evening's party. We dined in the restaurant downstairs and enjoyed a Valentine dinner with even a red rose given to every female on the table.

The breakfast buffet was extensive with the usual cook to order eggs and omelettes, Slightly strange to find on the first morning, that the baked beans were mixed with peppers!

Staff all very friendly and efficient. All in all, I would go back there whenever I am in Nairobi.
Excellent hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highperformance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Highperformace,

Thank you for your review.

We truly appreciate the pictures that you posted that summarized your stay. We also are grateful for your kind recommendation. We have noted our challenge for action follow through.

Whenever you are in Nairobi, we know you will be staying with us.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    390
    89
    26
    22
See reviews for
125
258
104
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at Sarova Stanley on my way back from leave transiting through Nairobi, my main purpose was to be in town, see friends, catch up on the work issues that happened while I was away and relax. Sarova Stanley proved to be suited for all my requirements, it was in the center of town, easy to get to and catch a taxi from, hotel has all the amenities to really spoil you, plus all staff members were very friendly, welcoming and there to spoil you more. I really enjoyed very much my stay and look forward to stay at Sarova Stanley if I would transit or come to Nairobi on another visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in the deluxe room on the second floor. very spacious and quiet. only downside was that if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamblese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Jamblese,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback.

As a hotel in the centre of Nairobi's business hub, we are glad to been a solution to all your travel requirements and conveniences.

We enjoyed your patronage and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefield England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights either side of a safari trip and were delighted with the hotel. Standards were high in every aspect and we felt we were in a special hotel with some history and individual character. The rooftop pool was a great place to relax and it had a lovely bar, though it was a shame that this bar closed at 9 pm. Food, drink and service were of a very high quality throughout but especially in the Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear RK104,

Thank you for the review.

As a guest at Sarova Stanley, you join the long line of living legends who have made history happen at the hotel. We appreciate the opportunity to have hosted you before-and-after your safari trip and shared our heritage experience in ambiance, food and drink.

We look forward to receiving your next reservation.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I travel to Nairobi frequetly on business , I have stayed at most hotels in Nairobi and not one of them come close to the service, friendly and warmth of the Stanley. The staff are always welcoming on arrival , after a long day of business meetings - it's an absolute pleasure to return to the hotel where you are met by friendly smiles and warm welcomes. I stayed on the 5th floor , I had several dinner meetings which ended relatively late at night - each night the security guard would walk me to my room after exiting the elevator !

The service and attention to making your stay exceptional is astounding.

Many thanks to the management and staff of the Stanley , I will definately be back !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear JHBreview,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your last stay.

We appreciate your recommendation as we were humbled to have hosted you on one of you frequent business trips to Nairobi.

It will be our pleasure to host you again with renewed expectations.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I pre- booked this Hotel for our overnight Stop in Nariobi whilst on route to Malindi the following day.Access,from the Airport, late on a Saturday night was excellent and our reservation was handled quickly and with great professionalisma bonus following a long flight. The room is what one would expect from a hotel of this quality and the room service and security were excellent. Ourmeeting with some friends for breakfast the following morning in the garden cafe where the service and the food were all of their usualhigh service.The cocierge handled our luggage with great service and our taxi to the airport that afternoon for our short fligh made the whole excursion a delight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for giving us your feedback.

As your second review of the hotel, we are happy to note that our services have remained excellent. You highly rated our professional handling of your reservation, the guestroom, in-room service, security, breakfast food and service. We appreciate the special mention of our concierge staff handling of luggage and airport transfer.

Your review will motivate us to work towards maintaining and exceed your expectation for your third review on this medium. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel came highly recommended and rightly so. Located in the heart of Nairobi the staff were second to none. Superb service, food and attention to details made our two day stay extremely enjoyable. If ever visiting Nairobi again, this would be my hotel of choice.

Forget all the modern hotels, this hotel had a style of its own.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Eve E,

Thank you for posting your review, it was our pleasure to host you in your first travel to Africa.

We are glad that we exceeded your expectation.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sarova Stanley was very welcoming, the staff were really nice, but it's right in the middle of the congestion - when we headed out, it would take so long to maneuver around traffic. But thanks to our driver, he managed well.

Room Tip: May be try for room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear cheerbowl,

Thank you for your review. We are glad your driver managed well in the traffic.

We hope that next time, you will share with us your pictures too.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
966 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
971 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing