We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Elegant Hotel and lovely staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #6 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel and lovely staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed, two days (June 2011) at the Sarova Stanley, during a business tour in East Africa. It is centrally located in Nairobi, and the first impression, when you enter the hotel, is "what an elegant hotel!!"
The check-in was smooth and it took me less than 15 mn. to be in my room. The room was reasonably big and very clean.
The strength of the Sarova is the lovely staff! I was sick when I reached the hotel (bad flu), the lady in the restaurant prepared a very nice hot drink made of fresh ginger, lemon and honey and believe me it helped me a lot to get well.
I cannot say much about the food, since I had all my meals outside with business partners but the breakfast was ok!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinhinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nairobi.

Thank you for your feedback, we trust you have fully recovered. During your next stay we hope to host your business partners and yourself in any of our dining options for full dining experience.

Welcome back.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    337
    78
    23
    17
See reviews for
103
221
89
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are big clean and comfortable.
The Thai and the main restaurants serve tasty high quality food.
It is perfect place to spend the evening away from the crowded city.
The city center location may cause delays in coming in or going out due to all day traffic jam.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avi052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback. We appreciate the comments and look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Stanley at the beginning and end of our trip to Kenya December 2012 and Jan 2013. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well appointed. The restaurant served good food at a reasonable price. The location allowed for walking the downtown area, and they provided a map and advice on the safe ares to walk. But it is the people there who made the stay so wonderful. The genuine caring and concern they showed when our safari company driver didn't show up on the last day. Joanne, Eva, and the manager, Duncan, worked tirelessly to make phone calls to try and contact them for us. They called the tourism ministry and places i would not have known about to get contact information. They allowed me free use of the business center after we were checked out. And when they were able to contact the company came and told me that they were disappointed in the way the safari company handled the situation. When we left fer the airport, they knew we would be there for several hours and sent us with two complimentary water bottles each so we wouldn't get thirsty. I can't say enough nice things about the people at the Stanley, who worked all day with us to make sure we were taken care of when we had been abandoned. Duncan told us it was because the people there genuinely like what they are doing, and i would have to agree. Joanne told us she know how she would feel if she was in our situation -- and even stopped by to say good bye when her shift ended. When you are far from home it is nice to know that there are people there who will help you in any situation, even when it is beyond their responsibility. Thank you Sarova Stanley for all you did for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trilobite929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your last stay with us.

We are grateful for your feedback and especially the mention of our colleagues who made your stay most memorable.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Stanley twice in August 2012 as part of our Safari trip in Kenya. We found the hotel to be immaculately clean, with lovely attentative staff. The Thai restraunt was fabulous and we ate there most nights of our two stays. I loved reading about the history of the place and am pleased I have stayed in such a place with so much character and charm. The only complaint I would have would be for the smokers. My husband is a smoker, and he finds going outside for a cigarette not a problem, but to exclude smokers completely from the pool area I did find a bit wrong. Being a non smoker myself, I did feel they ought to be allowed at least a small area upon that floor where they could have a cigarette. But all in all a good stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdtravellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate guest feedback.

We are glad that the heritage of the hotel was full of charm and character. We have noted all the comments for our continuous improvement. In addition, thank you for the recommendation.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The Sarova Stanley was so refreshing after an 8 day safari. Great location in town, can easily catch a cab or matatu to go anywhere.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Eva, the Brand Ambassador, was kind enough to show us several rooms before we decided to stay here. All other staff we encountered were so welcoming and kind.
The gym and sauna/steam room facilities are wonderful.
Breakfast was great with a variety of options and great yogurt toppings.
The room was very comfortable (soft beds are hard to come by in Kenya, this was the best by far), good A/C, bathtub and powerful hot shower, robes etc.
The hotel is very clean and charming. Would only stay here if we come back to Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haitchy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our Refreshing Hospitality. We look forward to hosting you again in your next visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Sarova Stanley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights on our way to and back from Masai Mara. We were struck by the Victorian elegance and the amazingly friendly staff as soon as we entered the hotel. We were given an excellent room.....spacious, spotlessly clean and very elegantly done. The Thai Chi restaurant was beyond expectations. The restaurant staff was so friendly and helpful....i would like to make a special mention of Nicolas. The Thorn Tree Cafe was also extremely good......the fish was simply out of the world. The breakfast spread was also very very good. We really enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilakshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback.

We are delighted that our refreshing hospitality met and surpassed your expectation. This motivates us to continually improve our products and services. We have noted your special mention and the pictures shared.

Once again, thank you and welcome back.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Sarova Stanley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi. The hotel old beautiful style and very friendly staff is only one reason for returning, the food is also delicious!
The hotelpool is very nice and has sun until the sunset, perfect for a swim and a drink!

The only problem is that the location makes the sleep a bit difficult as the matatus (minibusses) and larger trucks starts hooting as early as 04 in the morning. There are also a lot of traffic passing during the evening and people on the streets so ask for a room with windows not to the maindoor if possible.
As Nairobi is really getting crowded with cars one should consider it when choosing a hotel as getting around might take hours..!

Room Tip: It could get really noisy during the night and early morning, try to get a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for your review.

We are glad you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us, at the heart of the city, despite the noise from outside. For all future inquires, kindly contact us on thestanley@sarovahotels.com and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Sarova Stanley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing