We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveler rating
710
437
94
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
437
94
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthorn treethai restaurantexchange barstock exchangehistorical hotelpool deckold world charmclassic hotelfifth floorhealth clubcentral locationhotel stafflate checkbusiness districtdowntown nairobirooms are spaciousbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
941 - 946 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had a brief stay while in transit in May 2012. Service was great and on par with other hotels at this price. All staff are helpful, pleasant and friendly. Room service food was better than expected. Food quality and presentation were very good and delivered in the time promised. Room service prices are reasonable. The hotel property itself is clean and well maintained. Room was well appointed with clean undamaged furniture. Bathroom was modern and clean with the usual amenities expected at this price point. If you smoke, this building has smoking rooms with windows that open. One of the better choices in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with city or park views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGE5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Perfect hotel in the heart of the business district, no need to look much further. However, not perhaps the place to start your safari holiday in Africa, this is city situated it is busy, fast and furious and suffers from the usual Nairobi traffic issues. Staff are friendly, as are staff in most local hotels, the food is more than acceptable and the price reasonable and reflects the standard of the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoeboxcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Location: Bang in the middle of the financial/ office district. Accordingly, the approach and general surroundings can get very crowded. The same is the case inside - lotsa people running around doing important things.

Ambience: Not a place to start your holiday from as I realised :) - too much hustle bustle and the staff can be curt to the point of being rude - you realize eventually though that they are trying to grapple with the crowd (but twice, hmmm.). We stayed for 2 periods, first stay of about 2 days before proceeding to Mombasa and second stay of 4 days after Mombasa and the obligatory safari. During both these periods, there was a always some seminar/convention that was being organized. Mind it though, nothing wrong with the place, as such and it is a good property (the look and feel is very similar to the Taj President at mumbai, now the Vivanta?)

Property: Apparent British/ colonial influence. Good and well appointed rooms that a business traveller would delight in. Avoid the top floors and ask for rooms facing the Kenya Stock Exchange - we stayed on the fifth floor and asked for the same room later - we were actually scheduled to stay on the 7th floor during the second stay stint but found the general approach to the rooms and the rooms to be musty and dated.

Food: Quality is decent with good Indian options. However, we mostly dined in the room or outside, owing to the crowded lobby/restaurants. Service is a tad slow - experienced during breakfast (at the coffeshop) and dinner (at the poolside restaurant on the fifth floor).

Overall: Out and out business hotel with the usual '5 star amenities'.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floors and ask for rooms facing the Kenya Stock Exchange. 4th and fifth are the best floors to stay a staff member mentioned.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PermVayKayHopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We highly appreciate your comprehensive feedback.

Sarova Stanley boasts of a century old history and has maintained this rich Victorian heritage. We also are a luxury business hotel, proud of our location and able to cater for the needs of both leisure and business travelers. Thank you for your kind comments on our spacious and luxurious guestrooms.

The hotel endeavors to keep its rooms looking and feeling fresh through regular and periodic property maintenance. Your feedback on the rooms on the higher floors will be acted upon.

Our staff have been rated as warm, efficient and professional. However, during both of your stays, your interactions with our staff in the lobby and in the restaurant service did not meet your expectation. We have taken note and this issue is being addressed.

Once again thank you for your review and we believe that we shall host you again.

For further information you can reach me on my email david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com

With Kind regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Friendly staff and great food and service make this hotel a gem. My room was spacious with all amenities and well maintained. Tours were arranged on short notice and nothing was ever to much to ask. The Thai restuarant on this first floor was incredible and must admit food prices were very reasonable in general. Would definitely recommend for business trip or even vacation base for sight seeing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

After a long journey from Lake Paradise to Tsavo, it was my final place to stay before i took my flight back home.

With high security yet polite, relaxed and atmospheric house, you can enjoy the night with varieties of activities.

There are two restaurants, one is located on the 5th floor and the other one on the ground floor.
On top of that there is swimming pool, Spa, Gym and massage all located on the fifth floor. In addition to that is the live music at the restaurant on the ground floor.

The hotel should have its own guide and informative staff.

Room Tip: Choose the fourth floor it is cooler.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asal97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your wonderful comments and particularly our warm staff, in-house dining options, choice of entertainment and the heated swimming pool with its fitness centre. It was delightful to read that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sarova Stanley and you can reach me on my email david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com

With Kind regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews