We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property and Service in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Property and Service in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had a brief stay while in transit in May 2012. Service was great and on par with other hotels at this price. All staff are helpful, pleasant and friendly. Room service food was better than expected. Food quality and presentation were very good and delivered in the time promised. Room service prices are reasonable. The hotel property itself is clean and well maintained. Room was well appointed with clean undamaged furniture. Bathroom was modern and clean with the usual amenities expected at this price point. If you smoke, this building has smoking rooms with windows that open. One of the better choices in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with city or park views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgeolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    345
    79
    24
    19
See reviews for
109
227
91
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Perfect hotel in the heart of the business district, no need to look much further. However, not perhaps the place to start your safari holiday in Africa, this is city situated it is busy, fast and furious and suffers from the usual Nairobi traffic issues. Staff are friendly, as are staff in most local hotels, the food is more than acceptable and the price reasonable and reflects the standard of the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoeboxcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Location: Bang in the middle of the financial/ office district. Accordingly, the approach and general surroundings can get very crowded. The same is the case inside - lotsa people running around doing important things.

Ambience: Not a place to start your holiday from as I realised :) - too much hustle bustle and the staff can be curt to the point of being rude - you realize eventually though that they are trying to grapple with the crowd (but twice, hmmm.). We stayed for 2 periods, first stay of about 2 days before proceeding to Mombasa and second stay of 4 days after Mombasa and the obligatory safari. During both these periods, there was a always some seminar/convention that was being organized. Mind it though, nothing wrong with the place, as such and it is a good property (the look and feel is very similar to the Taj President at mumbai, now the Vivanta?)

Property: Apparent British/ colonial influence. Good and well appointed rooms that a business traveller would delight in. Avoid the top floors and ask for rooms facing the Kenya Stock Exchange - we stayed on the fifth floor and asked for the same room later - we were actually scheduled to stay on the 7th floor during the second stay stint but found the general approach to the rooms and the rooms to be musty and dated.

Food: Quality is decent with good Indian options. However, we mostly dined in the room or outside, owing to the crowded lobby/restaurants. Service is a tad slow - experienced during breakfast (at the coffeshop) and dinner (at the poolside restaurant on the fifth floor).

Overall: Out and out business hotel with the usual '5 star amenities'.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floors and ask for rooms facing the Kenya Stock Exchange. 4th and fifth are the best f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PermVayKayHopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We highly appreciate your comprehensive feedback.

Sarova Stanley boasts of a century old history and has maintained this rich Victorian heritage. We also are a luxury business hotel, proud of our location and able to cater for the needs of both leisure and business travelers. Thank you for your kind comments on our spacious and luxurious guestrooms.

The hotel endeavors to keep its rooms looking and feeling fresh through regular and periodic property maintenance. Your feedback on the rooms on the higher floors will be acted upon.

Our staff have been rated as warm, efficient and professional. However, during both of your stays, your interactions with our staff in the lobby and in the restaurant service did not meet your expectation. We have taken note and this issue is being addressed.

Once again thank you for your review and we believe that we shall host you again.

For further information you can reach me on my email david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com

With Kind regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Friendly staff and great food and service make this hotel a gem. My room was spacious with all amenities and well maintained. Tours were arranged on short notice and nothing was ever to much to ask. The Thai restuarant on this first floor was incredible and must admit food prices were very reasonable in general. Would definitely recommend for business trip or even vacation base for sight seeing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

After a long journey from Lake Paradise to Tsavo, it was my final place to stay before i took my flight back home.

With high security yet polite, relaxed and atmospheric house, you can enjoy the night with varieties of activities.

There are two restaurants, one is located on the 5th floor and the other one on the ground floor.
On top of that there is swimming pool, Spa, Gym and massage all located on the fifth floor. In addition to that is the live music at the restaurant on the ground floor.

The hotel should have its own guide and informative staff.

Room Tip: Choose the fourth floor it is cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asal97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your wonderful comments and particularly our warm staff, in-house dining options, choice of entertainment and the heated swimming pool with its fitness centre. It was delightful to read that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sarova Stanley and you can reach me on my email david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com

With Kind regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

A bit of old England. Has the original mahogany and brass bar on 2nd floor from the first stock exchange in East Africa. And newspaper reading room, great computer service, etc. We stayed have stayed three times. Each time, the staff was so courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet is fabulous. Has a good Thai restaurant and also a fabulous pool on 6th floor. and spa.
The place is TOTALLY IMMACULATE. Bleached, starched and ironed sheets. changed every day.
I couldn't ask for more. The valet and concierge service is perfect. They kept out suitcases for us for 3 days while we went to Zanzibar. The rooms are large and if you ask for one high enough, no noise at all. We all slept like rocks each time. no problem at all. Had to get up because breakfast was included and ended at 10 am. Safety perfect. and the newstand outside the door is full of foreign periodicals. I think this is better than the Fairmont Norfolk. and less expensive. The Norfolk is full of tour buses and convention meeting people, but the gift shop at the Norfolk is better than the one at the Stanley. And the Stanley is within walking distance, like 2 blocks of very good jewelry stores and also all the banks you would want and the market, alot of fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the courtyard if they are having a wedding or something down there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Excellent service and very secure. Spacious rooms with very good house keeping. the rate is approx. USD 120/day. Check out is at 12.00 noon. All kind of food available.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but on the 5th floor you have the pool deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhusudhanan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We were delighted to read that you found our rooms clean, neat and spacious; our Indian dishes also met and surpassed your expectation. We are amazed you booked at such a room rate, as this rate has not applied for years. However, guestroom rate is determined by the occupancy and demand-supply and the hotel’s official check-out time is 10.00 am.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

For further information you can reach me on my email david.gachuru@sarovahotels.com

With Kind regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing