We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Lamu Suite was awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Lamu Suite was awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We slept at the Lamu suite at the Sarova Stanley on our wedding night. We have been to many 4 and 5 star hotel rooms in North America and this suite is among the top. The room was large (about 1000 square feet (give or take)), beautiful and had a good view of the city.

The service was excellent, suite was very clean - we only wish we stayed there longer. We took the hotel shuttle the next day to the airport (as we were leaving for Mara Sarova).The breakfast buffet was also delicious. We highly recommend this place and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damaris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent visit.

We were delighted to host you in one of our two State Suites - Lamu Suite, with its rich Lamu decor. Thank you very much for the compliments on our breakfast and also visiting Sarova Mara located in the Maasai Mara Game Reserve. Where we believe you had a pleasant stay too.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    360
    83
    24
    21
See reviews for
113
238
96
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Groggy and tired after 15 hours in the air from the U.S. we arrived in Nairobi about 3 A.M. We had asked our travel agent to book us into a good hotel, with an early check-in, for two days prior to starting our week long safari circuit of Kenya. We could not have made a better decision. Upon arrival at the hotel we were told that since the standard rooms we had booked were not yet ready, they had upgraded us to premium suites. The suites were comfortable, spotless and full of old world charm. Lots of old wood, plenty of marble, and the only plastic in sight were the large flat screen TVs in each room of each suite. Hotel security seemed quite good, but not overly intrusive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The interior of the hotel is smoke free, but there is a large courtyard on the first floor were smoking is permitted. We enjoyed lunch at the sunlit poolside cafe, and dinner in the Thorn Tree Cafe just off the lobby. The Stanley has been rebuilt, and enlarged several times over the past hundred years but it remains pretty much the standard for colonial hotels in East Africa. If you are looking for chrome and glitz, go elsewere. I recommend the Stanley highly.

Room Tip: The Karen Blixen Suite was great. Quiet, but with a great view of the street. Superb bathroom, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barnyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Dear All,

I stayed for 1 night in this good hotel. It was a real memorable experience,

Paul
Favour Wildlife Safaris
www.favourwildlifesafaris.com

Room Tip: Higher rooms are more silent. The rooms to the North gives you a better view of the whole town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FavourSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again.


Warm regards
David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Stanley sits on a busy corner junction in the centre of Nairobi. They had a limousine waiting for me from the airport that took around 25 minutes just at the start of the rush hour. Once I arrived the charming Indian receptionist made the check-in process friendly and quick, and made sure I got a strictly non-smoking room. Unlike many hotels they seem to have about 6 - 8 staff on duty,so you should not wait long. I think other hotels should send their reception staff here for training, these guys are the best.

My room 402 was just stunning, spacious clean and tastefully decorated, a kind of modern take on the colonial look, the free internet worked better than my last stay in Kenya and the large desk helped me finish off my presentation. One comment, the bed was the hardest I have ever slept on, but I like hard beds so that was fine.

Breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was good with chefs to cook your eggs any way you wished with a good selection of the usual English and continental options. I used room service once and the food arrived quickly was hot and good quality.

My only complaint is that my visit was only for 24 hours, in this time the Stanley and its highly professional and friendly staff made me feel "King For a Day"!

Thank you ......

Room Tip: Just ask the helpful reception staff for a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

A very nice hotel with extremely attentive and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious and clean. Location is good. We stayed here for 3 nights and then returned after a safari for 2 more nights.

Internet is free and works great!

The restaurant has good food and a great variety. We particularly liked the lobster and the fish soup! However, when the restaurant is full, the service can be a bit slow. The bar/restaurant on the 5th floor does not have as many options but is good for having drinks. Breakfast is good and has a lot of fresh tropical fruits.

The Spa is nice and not too expensive. Try the foot massage, it's worth every penny!

Overall, a very good hotel with high standards and very professional staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraK992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent visit.

It is always motivating to read that we exceeded your expectations, in particular; our location, the spacious rooms, quick internet access, food variety, breakfast, our spa treatments and most importantly our staff’s attentiveness and professionalism.

We are addressing our speed of restaurant service especially on busy days.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed on business and found the room to be clean, staff were polite and the beer was cold. Food was good, not excellent but more than edible with a fair choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeddah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

hotel was the only safe place in nairobi,over expensive rooms and food , staff rude, no free shattle to the airport and one should really be super concern about safety when in Nairobi food was bad, we ordered stake and waited and waited and waited, aparently chef forgot to resuply meat in the kitchen, , small washrooms, but other than that hotel is very nice, rooms clean and comfortable, all you can eat breakfast was not all , and in the evening hotel bars and restaurance were full of prostitutes , those more expensive ones

Room Tip: if possible get one that faces the main street( dont know the name ) to shock yourself,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marginjeddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.7 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing