We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes Lady Luck rewards good planning.”
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Groggy and tired after 15 hours in the air from the U.S. we arrived in Nairobi about 3 A.M. We had asked our travel agent to book us into a good hotel, with an early check-in, for two days prior to starting our week long safari circuit of Kenya. We could not have made a better decision. Upon arrival at the hotel we were told that since the standard rooms we had booked were not yet ready, they had upgraded us to premium suites. The suites were comfortable, spotless and full of old world charm. Lots of old wood, plenty of marble, and the only plastic in sight were the large flat screen TVs in each room of each suite. Hotel security seemed quite good, but not overly intrusive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The interior of the hotel is smoke free, but there is a large courtyard on the first floor were smoking is permitted. We enjoyed lunch at the sunlit poolside cafe, and dinner in the Thorn Tree Cafe just off the lobby. The Stanley has been rebuilt, and enlarged several times over the past hundred years but it remains pretty much the standard for colonial hotels in East Africa. If you are looking for chrome and glitz, go elsewere. I recommend the Stanley highly.

Room Tip: The Karen Blixen Suite was great. Quiet, but with a great view of the street. Superb bathroom, wit...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
There are newer reviews for Sarova Stanley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

Dear All,

I stayed for 1 night in this good hotel. It was a real memorable experience,

Paul
Favour Wildlife Safaris
www.favourwildlifesafaris.com

Room Tip: Higher rooms are more silent. The rooms to the North gives you a better view of the whole town.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FavourSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again.


Warm regards
David Gachuru,
General Manager,
Sarova Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Stanley sits on a busy corner junction in the centre of Nairobi. They had a limousine waiting for me from the airport that took around 25 minutes just at the start of the rush hour. Once I arrived the charming Indian receptionist made the check-in process friendly and quick, and made sure I got a strictly non-smoking room. Unlike many hotels they seem to have about 6 - 8 staff on duty,so you should not wait long. I think other hotels should send their reception staff here for training, these guys are the best.

My room 402 was just stunning, spacious clean and tastefully decorated, a kind of modern take on the colonial look, the free internet worked better than my last stay in Kenya and the large desk helped me finish off my presentation. One comment, the bed was the hardest I have ever slept on, but I like hard beds so that was fine.

Breakfast in the downstairs restaurant was good with chefs to cook your eggs any way you wished with a good selection of the usual English and continental options. I used room service once and the food arrived quickly was hot and good quality.

My only complaint is that my visit was only for 24 hours, in this time the Stanley and its highly professional and friendly staff made me feel "King For a Day"!

Thank you ......

Room Tip: Just ask the helpful reception staff for a nice room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A very nice hotel with extremely attentive and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious and clean. Location is good. We stayed here for 3 nights and then returned after a safari for 2 more nights.

Internet is free and works great!

The restaurant has good food and a great variety. We particularly liked the lobster and the fish soup! However, when the restaurant is full, the service can be a bit slow. The bar/restaurant on the 5th floor does not have as many options but is good for having drinks. Breakfast is good and has a lot of fresh tropical fruits.

The Spa is nice and not too expensive. Try the foot massage, it's worth every penny!

Overall, a very good hotel with high standards and very professional staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraK992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent visit.

It is always motivating to read that we exceeded your expectations, in particular; our location, the spacious rooms, quick internet access, food variety, breakfast, our spa treatments and most importantly our staff’s attentiveness and professionalism.

We are addressing our speed of restaurant service especially on busy days.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed on business and found the room to be clean, staff were polite and the beer was cold. Food was good, not excellent but more than edible with a fair choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlySme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

hotel was the only safe place in nairobi,over expensive rooms and food , staff rude, no free shattle to the airport and one should really be super concern about safety when in Nairobi food was bad, we ordered stake and waited and waited and waited, aparently chef forgot to resuply meat in the kitchen, , small washrooms, but other than that hotel is very nice, rooms clean and comfortable, all you can eat breakfast was not all , and in the evening hotel bars and restaurance were full of prostitutes , those more expensive ones

Room Tip: if possible get one that faces the main street( dont know the name ) to shock yourself,
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marginjeddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have been here for a night on my transit to the nearby country and found that the hotel is charging a very high rate which does not weathy it. Upon checkin we were inspected like checking in for a KLM flight, took a lot of time processing our check in and afterwards the room key did not work continuously. Most of the time it is not working you have to walk down the reception for revalidation or activation. Which became a great nuisance. Internet service in the room was a crap and connectivity terrible. You only login and no any other page can open. Even a search page GOOGLE.COM will not open. Even the room information they have been very unfriendly that they will not be responsible or liable for connectivity, which is not a service provision oriented hotel. Will not recoomend IT services for this hotel. Altenatively I had to just rely on my blackberry for connectivity. It is not value for money generally it is overpriced and exaggerated!! If you plan staying here better not keep your expectation as to the amount you have paid!! Keep your expectation very low. However staff are very helpful. Better other small town hotels for they will offer value for money; internet working fine and staf friendly as well.

Additionally when checking out the staff had added a bill for something spent by the other room. They claimed to have brushed my shoes which I did on myself and even when checking out I was having the shoe mit and still wiping off my pair of shoes. Staff is also somehow not very honest though.

Room Tip: No swimming pool and no parking at all. This hotel is a crap.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fmacdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us.

We did not meet your expectations as you outlined in your review. On the issue of security checks, just like any other security checks in most of service provision industries, the hotel has implement safety and security measures. The aim is to put our guests at ease without causing unnecessary tension and reduce anxiety at the time of at check-in.

We regret that your key did not work through-out your stay. This was a system error that was addressed.

Sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the internet connectivity. We have since upgraded our connectivity and speeds by increasing our hot spots. Our Club rooms have LAN cabling that assures our guests of fast and stable connections.

Our staff strive to offer accurate and fast services to our clientele while ensuring the highest level of integrity is maintained. Therefore on the billing issues I hereby promise you that this experience is in the past.

From the experience you had, you felt we were overpriced. This was very regrettable and the management is taking every necessary step to handle the situation so as to prevent the same from happening again not only to you but to any other guest at the establishment.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we hope you will give us a chance to correct our mistake when we host you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 167 in Nairobi
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,042 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $135 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing