We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveler rating
709
437
94
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
437
94
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthorn treethai restaurantexchange barstock exchangehistorical hotelpool deckold world charmclassic hotelfifth floorhealth clubcentral locationhotel stafflate checkbusiness districtdowntown nairobirooms are spaciousbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
970 - 975 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have been here for a night on my transit to the nearby country and found that the hotel is charging a very high rate which does not weathy it. Upon checkin we were inspected like checking in for a KLM flight, took a lot of time processing our check in and afterwards the room key did not work continuously. Most of the time it is not working you have to walk down the reception for revalidation or activation. Which became a great nuisance. Internet service in the room was a crap and connectivity terrible. You only login and no any other page can open. Even a search page GOOGLE.COM will not open. Even the room information they have been very unfriendly that they will not be responsible or liable for connectivity, which is not a service provision oriented hotel. Will not recoomend IT services for this hotel. Altenatively I had to just rely on my blackberry for connectivity. It is not value for money generally it is overpriced and exaggerated!! If you plan staying here better not keep your expectation as to the amount you have paid!! Keep your expectation very low. However staff are very helpful. Better other small town hotels for they will offer value for money; internet working fine and staf friendly as well.

Additionally when checking out the staff had added a bill for something spent by the other room. They claimed to have brushed my shoes which I did on myself and even when checking out I was having the shoe mit and still wiping off my pair of shoes. Staff is also somehow not very honest though.

Room Tip: No swimming pool and no parking at all. This hotel is a crap.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fmacdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us.

We did not meet your expectations as you outlined in your review. On the issue of security checks, just like any other security checks in most of service provision industries, the hotel has implement safety and security measures. The aim is to put our guests at ease without causing unnecessary tension and reduce anxiety at the time of at check-in.

We regret that your key did not work through-out your stay. This was a system error that was addressed.

Sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the internet connectivity. We have since upgraded our connectivity and speeds by increasing our hot spots. Our Club rooms have LAN cabling that assures our guests of fast and stable connections.

Our staff strive to offer accurate and fast services to our clientele while ensuring the highest level of integrity is maintained. Therefore on the billing issues I hereby promise you that this experience is in the past.

From the experience you had, you felt we were overpriced. This was very regrettable and the management is taking every necessary step to handle the situation so as to prevent the same from happening again not only to you but to any other guest at the establishment.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we hope you will give us a chance to correct our mistake when we host you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

It really felt like we had been transported back forty years or so when we stayed at the Stanley. The hotel has all these old photos everywhere and the bar feels like you are part of one of those old time movies. We had gone to the Thai restaurant before leaving for the Mara and we liked the feel of the hotel so much, we booked ourselves there on our way out of Kenya.

The rooms were pretty big and very clean We had a great view of 'downtown' Nairobi but werent disturbed by the noise as I guess it was sound proofed.

We ate at the cafe downstairs which was a bit noisy and the food wasn't so great. We shouldve stuck to the Thai restaurant.

The hotel is centrally located and you can walk around downtown Nairobi and do a fair amount of sight seeing.

The only complaint I have is that we were made to check out at ten thirty am which seemed to be a bit too early . We didn't get a late check out so had to hang out in the hotel lobby for a couple of hours since our flight was at around 4 pm.

Apart from that, we had a pretty good stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KismetJewellNakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

At Sarova Stanley, we strive to maintain our rich history and heritage in every aspect of our offerings.

Thank you very much for the compliments on our fine dining restaurant - Thai Chi, quiet rooms and great city view. We are glad you had a great stay with us both times.

We are working to improve on our menu variety and entertainment at the Thorn Tree restaurant. The official check-out time at the hotel is 10.00am. We regret that we did not take the opportunity to advise you on the activities you would have participated in as you awaited to departure flight. Both issues raised have formed the basis of our customer service focus for improvement this month.

In case of further inquiry do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Sarova Stanley is an elegant property right in the middle of the CBD in Nairobi. The attendants were well more than perfect: friendly and always ever so willing to assist.
The internet requires a security code which the hotel does not issue unless you inquire.
The rooms are clean and soundproofed with total blackout curtains with a large enough tub for two.
Breakfast is buffet with a wide range of fresh fruit and baked products.
An experience at the Sarova Stanley is as wholesome as can be.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I spent a week there and was quite disappointed, was there for business and their internet service was extremely unstable, the business center staff was rude and frustrating to deal with, the dinning staff was too much if you see what I mean, seemed like a bunch of baby sitters, very fake and disrespectful of terms like privacy or your own zone including and this summing the entire hotel staff, you feel watched, I didn't want any room make up after i've had one done and the room attendant was extremely stinky and they kept calling asking why do I keep the "no room make up" card outside my room door, all for all, unpleasant stay for the money spent and you can't claim a 5 stars service and act as such, so once again, go elsewhere if you want a 5 stars service

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us your review on your stay with at Sarova Stanley. We not only appreciate guest feedback, but also take time to investigate the issues raised in order to take action and respond to the customer.

First, we wish to apologize for the unstable internet service. We were experiencing interrupted connectivity during the month of January. However, I do assure you that the issue has now been rectified and the connection has been strengthened and speed increased.

It comes as a surprise that our Business Centre resources have been termed rude and frustrating as we pride ourselves with a team of courteous, friendly and helpful associates. Over 80% of our guest feedback show that they will come back because of the friendliness of our staff. However, we have noted your concern, and we assure you of continued customer service training.

We respect guest’s personal space and it is one of our key standards for all our employees. In this regards, we usually stress on the importance of our employees being alert and quick to ensure guest dining experience is not inconvenienced. This has happened with outstanding appreciation from very many of our customers. We believe that our staff through the entire hotel were following this standard. It was with much regret that you felt overcrowded by our attentive staff; however we will relook into this standard.

Our housekeeping procedures require we call guests to confirm whether they need additional room amenities in the event of a “do not disturb" sign. We have also noted your comment on the room attendant.

Once again, may I sincerely thank you for your review. It is through these that we improve to meet guest expectation and maintain 5 star hotel with 5 star service.

Please be assured that we value you and your comments, greatly. We look forward hosting you again and again, each time with improved experiences.


Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

ooh i lack gud words to describe this place,it was my first time and had booked for 1 night but had to extend,extremely beautiful,staff are friendly and elegant,security ok,meals are gud,ertremly clean.i loved the place and would stay there everytime i visit Nairobi,the wonderful place ever to stay in the city of Nairobi,Faith the room service attendant was so friendly and very responsive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews