We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Service. Ever.”
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Ranked #1 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our family of four stayed for 3 nights at The Giraffe Manor in January 2014. We had researched the property and were very excited, as we love giraffes. We were absolutely amazed with the service, the property, the food, and the rooms. We were treated like royalty the entire stay. The staff knew we wanted to interact with the giraffes as much as we could, so they would come find us! Even early in the morning! The meals were wonderful, and we especially liked sitting at the big table visiting with people around the world. We loved the staff there---they seemed to genuinely love their jobs, and went out of the way to make us welcome. On our last night our adult son became very ill. I called for assistance very early--at about 5am, and the manager, Steve, came to help. He called for a driver and escorted us to the hospital clinic. He stayed with us the entire time. He even made arrangement for my husband and daughter to pack up and meet us at the clinic so we could make our flight. He called their sister property, Solio Lodge, to let them know one of our party was ill so they would anticipate our needs. He even made arrangements with the travel company to hold our flight for 15 minutes in case we were late getting to the airport. We will absolutely return for another visit to Giraffe Manor---They have won us over completely.

Room Tip: Stay at least 3 nights so you get to see everything and still relax a little! There was a room abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kathee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 911 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We loved this hotel! We stayed for two nights and everyone and everything was fantastic. We had gone for the giraffe experience and it lived up to everyone’s expectations, especially my youngest who was very big on kissing them! The food was great, the staff very friendly and helpful and Steven even gave us a list of books based around the area I am now working my way through. I would not think this was a great place you younger kids though as the food was quiet grown up and there was no pool or games rooms, so with the wildlife you would have to keep a close eye on them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RealWomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a hotel like no other. The accommodation itself is very plush, comfortable and decadent - well-appointed rooms with big, comfortable beds, huge bathtubs with lovely potions, and (for one of our two rooms) a large private balcony. The food is gourmet - really delicious. The staff are attentive and friendly. But of course what sets this place apart from anywhere else is the greeting from several giraffes and a crew of warthogs, right in the back garden. When we arrived, the staff took great pains to make sure we rushed out to see the giraffes, feed them, cuddle them and get photos taken because they knew they would be wandering off to the woodland soon and we would be away too early in the morning to see them again. We really appreciated this thoughtfulness, and will never forget our time hanging out with the giraffes even for a short while. Definitely recommended for a very special, memorable, and slightly surreal treat.

Room Tip: The "Betty" room has an amazing private balcony facing the giraffes area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We did not stay at Giraffe Manor, but were able to go for tea, due to our hosts knowing the owners. Tea was a fabulous experience! Champagne first inside the gorgeous B&B, then a formal tea on the lawn. The warthogs greeted us first, then the giraffes came up to feed. We were given pellets to hand feed them, and wonderful picture opportunities.
Staying at Giraffe Manor must be fabulous, with the giraffes leaning in the windows at breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosetteG200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Classic elegant rooms, beautiful land and fantastic food. Be fed yourself and then go feed the animals. Great opportunity to learn more about giraffes and get up close and personal. Highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oscar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Giraffe Manor was recommended to us by our agents as the perfect place to relax after a busy safari, on route to the Mobassa coast. We arrived a lunch time to the most idyllic setting, nestled within the hustle and bustle of a busy Nairobi suburb. The wooden giraffe sculpture on the gates showed our driver we were in the right place and the short drive up to the house revealed this charming manor house, based on a Scottish shooting house. We were met by the manager and given a guided tour and history about the building and how it came to be a sanctuary for giraffes. A truly superb meal on the veranda was followed by a nature walk to the giraffe sanctuary just outside the grounds and then back for one of the main events ; at about 5.30pm every day the giraffes, accompanied by their hilarious warthog friends, arrive at the front veranda for hand feeding, hugs and even kisses by the guests. We were lucky as the house was quiet and we had as long as we wanted feeding these graceful and endearing animals. They all had different personalities and the staff were extremely knowledgeable about each one of them. Time to freshen up for pre dinner drinks in very nice, well equipped rooms. It really feels like you have been transported back the days of the British empire and are staying in a colonial house as a guest of the owner. We were made to feel at home in really luxurious surroundings. The food and drinks are all included and the dinner was exceptional. We were then treated to a late night visit by the giraffes for more feeding (this is unusual I understand) before retiring to our comfortable bed for the night. Breakfast is served between 7 and 8 because that is when the giraffes come and join you ! If you have a room overlooking the gardens, you may be woken by a giraffe tapping at the window, asking for food ! Breakfast is a real treat – not only the food, but the way the giraffes, once again, interact with you. The photos say it all.
If you have the chance to go to Nairobi, this place is an absolute must ! Even for one night the experience was incredible, I cannot believe there is another hotel in the world like it. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is very possibly the most incredible and unique place we have ever stayed at. We only stayed one night but it was still fantastic. The service and food was enough to make this place totally worth staying at. Throw in a few giraffes and you have a wonderful experience ahead. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Thank you to all of them for making it so unforgettable.

We are so glad we made the effort. The breakfast will remain forever the most incredible meal we have ever had. Sharing with giraffes is very unique. You have to stay here one night in your life, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
House of Waine
#23 of 169 in Nairobi
267 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
546 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,314 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Koitobos Rd, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: $405 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giraffe Manor is owned by The Safari Collection and is an exclusive boutique hotel, set in 12 acres of private land within 140 acres of indigenous forest in the Langata suburb of Nairobi. As one of Nairobi’s most iconic buildings, Giraffe Manor has extraordinary appeal, that harks back to the 1930s when European visitors first flocked to East Africa to enjoy safaris. With its stately facade, elegant interior, verdant green gardens, sunny terraces and delightful courtyards, guests often remark that it’s like walking into the film Out of Africa: indeed, one of its twelve rooms is named after the author Karen Blixen. However, the most fascinating thing about Giraffe Manor is its herd of resident Rothschild giraffe who may visit morning and evening, sometimes poking their long necks into the windows in the hope of a treat, before retreating to their forest sanctuary. Giraffe Manor can be booked for the night or as part of a complete tailor-made safari with The Safari Collection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing