We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing to be so close to the Giraffes in such an amazing setting!”
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Ranked #1 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing to be so close to the Giraffes in such an amazing setting!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely English manor home on a nice sized piece of land just outside Nairobi. The giraffe experience was incredible!! They are my favorite animals and wow- just incredible! You can feed them special animal pellets right from your hands- or they will give you a kiss and gently take it from your lips! I fed them for over an hour- they were very gentle. Great staff, safety measures followed. Food was fabulous. The breakfast experience was my favorite, as they literally entered the breakfast room and ate from your plate! A definite must! We stayed one full day. It was pricey, but well worth it. Teenage kids were very impressed!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    42
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
162
324
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a fabulous place! We can't stop talking about it, and not just because of the animals.

To start off, we arrived late (flight delays). Our host asked if we'd like something to eat and we gratefully said yes. All we expected was a sandwich or something similar, but what we got was a candlelit dinner for two, with a warm main course and glass of wine.

Dinner was equally wonderful and we met such an interesting group of people, too.

Our last stay was 2 nights, but next time, we plan to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at Giraffe Manor and had an incredible experience!

The manor is absolutely stunning, made of brick with beautiful vines growing all over it. It has multiple sitting rooms all tastefully decorated with plush couches, bookshelves full of wonderful books about Africa and Kenya in particular, beautiful old photos and paintings and old collectibles and handcrafts from Kenya. Our room (named Helen) was HUGE with a massive bed with mosquito net and huge windows, bathroom with lovely antique style bath and rain shower.

The food is yummy! We had fish skewers with lime and chili, cabbage fried rice, lovely bread rolls and a vodka-chilli-lime sorbet for lunch. The snacks were yummy too (plaintain chips and rosemary focaccia bites) and the desert for dinner was also delicious (dense chocolate mousse with a white chocolate galette). Breakfast is full English (beans, sausage, bacon, eggs, toast, mushrooms, tomatoes) plus cereal, yogurt, milk, jams, marmelade and honey. All totally delicious! The bar is available for you to have any drinks you want throughout the day.

The main draw to the Manor are the giraffes, which come right up to you to be fed (with pellets of grass given to you by the staff) and eat breakfast with you (leaning their heads into the drawing room for food) and even tap at your window at 6am for food. There's a giraffe center where you can also feed them, buy handicrafts and next door a nature walk through a lovely forest. Our guide Amelia was lovely and super knowledgeable about all the plant life on the walk. At the viewpoint you can see the Ngong hills in the distance. The warthogs at the Manor are cute too and also love the grass pellets.

The staff at the Manor are incredible, so kind and attentive. Deputy general manager Linet is absolutely lovely and tended to our every need throughout our stay. Highly recommend the Manor, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FNKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If like me you love giraffes you can't not go to the Giraffe Manor! We went for 2 nights at the beginning of January for the first part of our honeymoon. Its a 40 minute drive from Nairobi airport, set in beautiful gated grounds. We were warmly welcomed by staff and offered drinks and dinner despite arriving late at night.

I have to be honest - we were slightly disappointed with our room - we'd looked at the various rooms on their website which were big and luxurious with windows which you could feed the giraffes from. We, despite being on our honeymoon, were given the smallest room which was over the kitchens, so noisy in the early morning and we weren't able to see or feed the giraffes from our window. However the bed was very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep.

We got up very early both mornings to have breakfast in the beautiful terrace room - despite not eating much for the first half an hour as we were too busy stroking and feeding the giraffes who stuck their long necks through the doors and windows and were exceptionally friendly! It was amazing to be so close to these gentle giants.

During the day we spent the time watching the giraffes as they wandered round the grounds, had a lovely massage and enjoyed the exceptionally delicious food and drink. We also took up the opportunity to go to a local elephant orphanage which was really interesting - they were so cute too!

A lovely trip all round - I would definitely recommend a stay here - a couple of nights is plenty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building so you can feed the giraffes from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The giraffes and warthogs are an absolute riot, and they and the lovely location in Karen are the main reasons to stay at Giraffe Manor. The senior team (Linet, Tony and Michael) are switched on and attentive. Rooms are large and comfortable but - totally in keeping with the semi-shabby-chic country house theme - a bit old-fashioned. The food and drink were good, and high tea on the terrace with the animals was great fun (consisting mainly of G&Ts, wine and some nibbles). The living rooms on the main floor of both the original house and the new wing are comfy and full of fun and quirky pieces, and it was chilly enough that we were glad to have a fire lit in the lovely, large fireplace. It is pricey, though - if you're just looking for a nice place to sleep there are much less expensive decent hotels in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the original house appear to have balconies - if you're there for the giraf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveStarFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Amazing experience. Love giraffes slobbering all over you with warthogs begging for food and drink! Accommodations could not have been better. Service, food, drink and beautiful surroundings were magnificent. An experience not to be missed. Thank you Giraffe Manor!

Room Tip: Cannot get a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt incredibly welcomed! What a wonderful experience and SERVICE! The food was amazing, the drinks kept coming and having to shoo warthogs away from my wine was so cool!! Not to mention the giraffe's tongue slobbering all over my face to grab food from my mouth was a dream come true! Excellent place!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranaway82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
House of Waine
#18 of 164 in Nairobi
250 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
469 reviews
67 Airport Hotel
#37 of 164 in Nairobi
210 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Property: Giraffe Manor
Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing