We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close & personal with giraffes”
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Ranked #1 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If like me you love giraffes you can't not go to the Giraffe Manor! We went for 2 nights at the beginning of January for the first part of our honeymoon. Its a 40 minute drive from Nairobi airport, set in beautiful gated grounds. We were warmly welcomed by staff and offered drinks and dinner despite arriving late at night.

I have to be honest - we were slightly disappointed with our room - we'd looked at the various rooms on their website which were big and luxurious with windows which you could feed the giraffes from. We, despite being on our honeymoon, were given the smallest room which was over the kitchens, so noisy in the early morning and we weren't able to see or feed the giraffes from our window. However the bed was very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep.

We got up very early both mornings to have breakfast in the beautiful terrace room - despite not eating much for the first half an hour as we were too busy stroking and feeding the giraffes who stuck their long necks through the doors and windows and were exceptionally friendly! It was amazing to be so close to these gentle giants.

During the day we spent the time watching the giraffes as they wandered round the grounds, had a lovely massage and enjoyed the exceptionally delicious food and drink. We also took up the opportunity to go to a local elephant orphanage which was really interesting - they were so cute too!

A lovely trip all round - I would definitely recommend a stay here - a couple of nights is plenty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building so you can feed the giraffes from your window
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for Giraffe Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 785 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

The giraffes and warthogs are an absolute riot, and they and the lovely location in Karen are the main reasons to stay at Giraffe Manor. The senior team (Linet, Tony and Michael) are switched on and attentive. Rooms are large and comfortable but - totally in keeping with the semi-shabby-chic country house theme - a bit old-fashioned. The food and drink were good, and high tea on the terrace with the animals was great fun (consisting mainly of G&Ts, wine and some nibbles). The living rooms on the main floor of both the original house and the new wing are comfy and full of fun and quirky pieces, and it was chilly enough that we were glad to have a fire lit in the lovely, large fireplace. It is pricey, though - if you're just looking for a nice place to sleep there are much less expensive decent hotels in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the original house appear to have balconies - if you're there for the giraf...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FiveStarFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Amazing experience. Love giraffes slobbering all over you with warthogs begging for food and drink! Accommodations could not have been better. Service, food, drink and beautiful surroundings were magnificent. An experience not to be missed. Thank you Giraffe Manor!

Room Tip: Cannot get a bad room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt incredibly welcomed! What a wonderful experience and SERVICE! The food was amazing, the drinks kept coming and having to shoo warthogs away from my wine was so cool!! Not to mention the giraffe's tongue slobbering all over my face to grab food from my mouth was a dream come true! Excellent place!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranaway82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

OMG! Do not miss this gorgeous 'hotel'! We arrived just at feeding time & our gracious host hurried us over to the giraffes so we would not miss them! How very kind! After kissing & hugging these marvelous animals, we checked in & were led to our sumptuous rooms in the original manor. Such luxury cannot be described. Decadent, comfortable, spacious were some words we used when we were led to Jock's room for two of us & Betty's room for one. The ensuites were large with bath, shower, sinks, toiletries, plush towels & thick bathrobes. Jock's room had a comfy sitting area with fireplace & desk as well as two wonderful beds, hot water bottle & mossie nets included! Betty's room was no less sumptuous & included its own private deck overlooking the beautiful gardens & outdoor dining area. We enjoyed drinks & snacks out on the lawn as the sun went down then later we revelled in the exquisite dinner at the outdoor area, warmed by the coal brazier nearby. We were so sorry that we had to leave very early the next morning & would miss the visiting giraffes at breakfast but the staff was up early with us & we were treated to a full breakfast with real coffee & anything at all we'd like cooked for us! This is truly a joy not to be missed. Many thanks to our tour organizer Patrick from Far Horizons for ensuring us rooms as I suspect you must book very far in advance!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get rooms in the original manor. There is a new building with more rooms wh...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evelynhazzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Meeting a Rothschild giraffe upclose- much less having them eat out of your hands or take a treat out of your mouth- is an amazing introduction to Kenya and a safari vacation. And then there is the Giraffe Manor staff - they work every moment to make sure you have a lovely visit. When we arrived after a day of transit, exhausted and jetlagged, and very late at night they had a candlelit table waiting for us in the dining room. When we were ready they served us a lovely dinner. Our second night's dinner was in the main house dining room with a group of fellow guests what an interesting way to start a vacation - to enjoy the company and conversation of one's fellow travellers.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Musingsretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Giraffe Manor and even though the management has changed since our last visit, our stay was as wonderful as the first time. We did miss having dinner with the manager and getting to know the rest of the guests as we had on our previous visit, but since the evenings were so nice, they had arranged for dinner to be served outside. On both occasions we stayed in Betty's room and were able to feed the giraffes from our balcony! It was absolutely amazing. This time we went with a group of 6 friends so we occupied half the manor! The service was excellent and I would like to specially thank Michael and Lynette for being flexible about letting us stay longer since we were such a large group and our flights were in the late evening. Lynette took the time to help me out in every possible way when I had an issue with my ticket to fly out that evening. Since we were unable to resolve this over the phone, she managed to provide me a car that took me to the KLM office downtown and ended up having to wait for me for 3 hours! All the staff was wonderful and always smiling and trying for us to have an extra special time. Thanks to Brown, Safari, and all the rest for an excellent time and for worrying about how I was feeling, preparing our special meals, etc. Thanks again for a lovely stay and I hope to visit you soon again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 167 in Nairobi
508 reviews
House of Waine
#22 of 167 in Nairobi
259 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Koitobos Rd, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: $485 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giraffe Manor is owned by The Safari Collection and is an exclusive boutique hotel, set in 12 acres of private land within 140 acres of indigenous forest in the Langata suburb of Nairobi. As one of Nairobi’s most iconic buildings, Giraffe Manor has extraordinary appeal, that harks back to the 1930s when European visitors first flocked to East Africa to enjoy safaris. With its stately facade, elegant interior, verdant green gardens, sunny terraces and delightful courtyards, guests often remark that it’s like walking into the film Out of Africa: indeed, one of its twelve rooms is named after the author Karen Blixen. However, the most fascinating thing about Giraffe Manor is its herd of resident Rothschild giraffe who may visit morning and evening, sometimes poking their long necks into the windows in the hope of a treat, before retreating to their forest sanctuary. Giraffe Manor can be booked for the night or as part of a complete tailor-made safari with The Safari Collection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing