We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must.”
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Ranked #1 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived here with our 3 kids (16, 14 and 11) after 4 nights in safari, and were warmly greeted by Giles who showed us to our 2 incredible rooms. The manor is simply stunning and beautifully furnished. We were in the new building which is very sympathetic to the original manor, the rooms were huge and we were offered a complimentary laundry service which was gratefully received. Gin and tonic on the front lawn, sun setting and giraffes walking about was the perfect wind down. Dinner was in the courtyard with braziers by each table followed by drinks in the drawing room by the fire which is a great opportunity to meet the other guests.

Breakfast is an experience we will never forget with the giraffes poking their heads through the windows and eating the pellets which are provided in the bedrooms and also the breakfast room.

Can't recommend this place enough, it is a must! We all loved it and wish we had booked 2 nights instead of one. We will next time.....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bouchfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKez, Sales & Marketing Assistant at Giraffe Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Bouchfred,

Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback, and to recommending us to the Trip Advisor community.

Glad too that you had such an incredible experience at Giraffe manor - Garden Manor, and look forward to your return visit.

With very best wishes,

The Safari Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 883 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Giraffe Manor is truly one in a million. We stayed two nights and was a perfect place to stay and to visit some of the shops in not far from there. Giraffe Manor provided us with a driver. Some of the places we went included the Utamaduni Craft Shopping Venue -- a good place to purchase local crafts. Mat Bronze is an exceptional gift and gallery where you can purchase leather belts and bronze buckles and other bronze items. They also have a small snack bar if you get hungry. Kazuri Beads Factory has a good tour to show how the beads are made -- there is a shop where you can purchase some of their items. Beads made there are shipped all over the world. Although interesting we really didn't like the Flip Flop shop -- although making gift items from flip flops is a good craft and way to recycle.

Room Tip: The Finch Hatton room is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Doesn't get better than this in Nairobi! The service, the food, the experience, the atmosphere...hands down the best experience you'll have while you're visiting Nairobi. It can be a bit pricey, but it's worth it. Just keep in mind, the Giraffe Manor is not your typical hotel (no pool, bar, no fitness center etc), more of an all inclusive B&B. It's also located in Karen which is a plus if you're visiting, as its relatively close to all of the major attractions (Elephant Orphanage, Karen Blixen Museum, National Park). Can't say enough about the service! Extremely helpful and attentive staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsidhpura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

What an amazing place! We felt like we had to pinch ourselves constantly, couldn't believe what we were seeing. Wonderful being able to interact with the giraffes so closely in such a magnificent setting. The staff were fabulous, so professional but so friendly. The food was outstanding and the service was first class. We have all vowed to come back as soon as we have that lotto win!!!
Thank you for this experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojo8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I arrived early in the morning and visited the elephant sanctuary in the morning before my wife and children joined me arriving on a later flight. Giles was extremely accommodating and helpful both with my early morning arrival, last minute plans to see the elephants, arranging a late family lunch and every other aspect of our short stay. The food, service, setting and rooms are all extremely high quality. It was really magical for all of us to see the giraffes up close. Kids and the kid in all of us will enjoy this in a way that none of the online pictures however cool can capture. You simply have to experience it for yourself. There is simply no better first night to a Kenyan or Tanzanian safari.

Room Tip: The Blixen family suite is spacious two-story room perfect for a family of four. The only downside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank mwsk_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just spent two nights at the manor and had the time of our lives! We are a family of four with two grown children ages 20 and 16. We have travelled the world but Giraffe Marnor is one of the best things that we've ever done! The friendly staff and good food (there are 3 vegetarians) were top notch. The giraffe's and even the wart hogs are a blast! We will be back. If you decide to go, book early.

Stayed: June 2013
11  Thank Trent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A wonderful experience the place, people, and animals were fantastic
It was a magnificent setting and gardens and so relaxing and lots of fun
Would go,again tomorrow

The staff knew so much about the giraffes and were able to,share this with us
Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tina1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
House of Waine
#20 of 169 in Nairobi
265 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
537 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Koitobos Rd, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: $485 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giraffe Manor is owned by The Safari Collection and is an exclusive boutique hotel, set in 12 acres of private land within 140 acres of indigenous forest in the Langata suburb of Nairobi. As one of Nairobi’s most iconic buildings, Giraffe Manor has extraordinary appeal, that harks back to the 1930s when European visitors first flocked to East Africa to enjoy safaris. With its stately facade, elegant interior, verdant green gardens, sunny terraces and delightful courtyards, guests often remark that it’s like walking into the film Out of Africa: indeed, one of its twelve rooms is named after the author Karen Blixen. However, the most fascinating thing about Giraffe Manor is its herd of resident Rothschild giraffe who may visit morning and evening, sometimes poking their long necks into the windows in the hope of a treat, before retreating to their forest sanctuary. Giraffe Manor can be booked for the night or as part of a complete tailor-made safari with The Safari Collection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing