We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to a safari. Wish we'd stayed two nights”
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Ranked #1 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect start to a safari. Wish we'd stayed two nights”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I arrived early in the morning and visited the elephant sanctuary in the morning before my wife and children joined me arriving on a later flight. Giles was extremely accommodating and helpful both with my early morning arrival, last minute plans to see the elephants, arranging a late family lunch and every other aspect of our short stay. The food, service, setting and rooms are all extremely high quality. It was really magical for all of us to see the giraffes up close. Kids and the kid in all of us will enjoy this in a way that none of the online pictures however cool can capture. You simply have to experience it for yourself. There is simply no better first night to a Kenyan or Tanzanian safari.

Room Tip: The Blixen family suite is spacious two-story room perfect for a family of four. The only downside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank mwsk_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    48
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
187
345
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We just spent two nights at the manor and had the time of our lives! We are a family of four with two grown children ages 20 and 16. We have travelled the world but Giraffe Marnor is one of the best things that we've ever done! The friendly staff and good food (there are 3 vegetarians) were top notch. The giraffe's and even the wart hogs are a blast! We will be back. If you decide to go, book early.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Trent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A wonderful experience the place, people, and animals were fantastic
It was a magnificent setting and gardens and so relaxing and lots of fun
Would go,again tomorrow

The staff knew so much about the giraffes and were able to,share this with us
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tina1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was concerned by the name and description that this would be a touristy, "staged" place to stay on our way to the Mara but followed an excellent travel planner's advice. I am so glad we did! Giraffe Manor is a "manor" in all sense of the word. The history is interesting as well. Resident Rothschild giraffe are rare in the wild but are bred here for future release as populations increase. Feeding the giraffes is not the only highlight. The rooms are lovely. Dining al fresco with fire heaters and attentive wait staff followed by after dinner drinks with fellow guests was fun! Great for couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank welltraveled17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is by far my favourite place to stay in Nairobi. While the Norfolk is certainly a nice colonial place in the centre of Nairobi, this manor gives you the unique opportunity to witness giraffes up-close. I know this sounds very tacky, but it is actually an amazing experience which will touch your soul! Just try it out - it will affect you in a very beautiful way!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a great start to a 2 week safari. Feeding giraffes by hand ( and mouth) in absolutely stunning surroundings. I've wanted to visit here ever since I was a kid and boy did i feel like a kid in a sweet shop when i was there. The manor itself is beautiful, the rooms, stunning. The staff, service and food were exemplary, but nothing can compare to the giraffes and warthogs. Spending a sunset drinking wine and feeding the animals is an experience you'll never forget.
Wait until you get "kissed" by a giraffe and then you'll know what i mean!

Room Tip: If you can book "Betty", you have a private veranda and your very own personal experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ausgeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

What can I say, what a fantastic hotel and unbelievable to experience giraffes coming right up to your bedroom window to be fed.Lovely grounds and the setting is inceredible, on a clear day you can see all the way to Kilamanjaro.The staff are very attentive and we enjoyed hearing all about the history of the manor and especially talking with Cosmo who is the giraffes best pal!
The only blemish I could see is that the rooms might need just a little upgrading( but not much and not enough for me not to revisit).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#24 of 164 in Nairobi
251 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,274 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
1,007 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Nairobi Hurlingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Property: Giraffe Manor
Address: Koitobos Rd, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giraffe Manor is owned by The Safari Collection and is an exclusive boutique hotel, set in 12 acres of private land within 140 acres of indigenous forest in the Langata suburb of Nairobi. As one of Nairobi’s most iconic buildings, Giraffe Manor has extraordinary appeal, that harks back to the 1930s when European visitors first flocked to East Africa to enjoy safaris. With its stately facade, elegant interior, verdant green gardens, sunny terraces and delightful courtyards, guests often remark that it’s like walking into the film Out of Africa: indeed, one of its twelve rooms is named after the author Karen Blixen. However, the most fascinating thing about Giraffe Manor is its herd of resident Rothschild giraffe who may visit morning and evening, sometimes poking their long necks into the windows in the hope of a treat, before retreating to their forest sanctuary. Giraffe Manor can be booked for the night or as part of a complete tailor-made safari with The Safari Collection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing