We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful place!”
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Ranked #1 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is by far my favourite place to stay in Nairobi. While the Norfolk is certainly a nice colonial place in the centre of Nairobi, this manor gives you the unique opportunity to witness giraffes up-close. I know this sounds very tacky, but it is actually an amazing experience which will touch your soul! Just try it out - it will affect you in a very beautiful way!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 910 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a great start to a 2 week safari. Feeding giraffes by hand ( and mouth) in absolutely stunning surroundings. I've wanted to visit here ever since I was a kid and boy did i feel like a kid in a sweet shop when i was there. The manor itself is beautiful, the rooms, stunning. The staff, service and food were exemplary, but nothing can compare to the giraffes and warthogs. Spending a sunset drinking wine and feeding the animals is an experience you'll never forget.
Wait until you get "kissed" by a giraffe and then you'll know what i mean!

Room Tip: If you can book "Betty", you have a private veranda and your very own personal experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ausgeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

What can I say, what a fantastic hotel and unbelievable to experience giraffes coming right up to your bedroom window to be fed.Lovely grounds and the setting is inceredible, on a clear day you can see all the way to Kilamanjaro.The staff are very attentive and we enjoyed hearing all about the history of the manor and especially talking with Cosmo who is the giraffes best pal!
The only blemish I could see is that the rooms might need just a little upgrading( but not much and not enough for me not to revisit).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alanIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

An incredible experience. Lynn is the star of the show! But, right behind her are the other characters that make up this magical accommodation. The main house and 2 other houses have unique and select rooms that will be forever in my memory of travel. Just as you might have read Lynn and her friends will pop their heads into your room or join you for breakfast, dinner or lunch. The service is commendable, the dinners elegantly served and delicious. Four of us traveled together and were fortunate to have the rooms in the main manor called Betty and Jock. You might think this stay to be expensive but, we chose to look at our price per night as a donation to care for the almost extinct Rothschild Giraffe. Accommodation of this standard and donation to the cause in my opinion is a reasonable price. Our experience was in low season of safari travel. This travel period will give you the best time to enjoy Lynn and her friends. Take a moment away from everything and enjoy the beauty of the gentle giants. You too will have an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: Betty and Jock's rooms are the most famous and offer the very best of Lynn and her friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

What an amazing experience!!! We arrived early, and we were happily welcomed. Thank you Giles and your wonderful team!

We had booked a room for three people, however upon arrival we were all given our own rooms as they had them free. Each of the rooms were in the new building and they were all just so beautiful!

We were served a beautiful morning tea on the front lawn and it was just so amazing to be sitting there, looking out over the gardens and the giraffes and the warthogs. I really felt so happy to be there!

We were taken to the market that we had wanted to visit. Then in the afternoon we went to the education centre. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT. Really interesting. Loved the walk around the park.

The food was just amazing!!! it was really lovely to sit around the dining table with other guests, such a lovely warm, friendly, homely feeling.

Waking up early was just like a child at Christmas! Looking out of your window and seeing these gracious, magnificent giraffes wandering up to your window. You must experience this!!!

Breakfast was just so amazing, beautiful food too! but to share it with such wonderful company.

It was lovely staying in April, apparently the "off" season, but it wouldn't have mattered at all. Rain, hail or shine, it was wonderful!

I loved every second of my time at Giraffe Manor!!!

It is expensive but really it is worth ever cent!!! Please experience this brilliant place!!!!

Room Tip: no need they are all beautiful!!! We stayed in the new building and all the rooms were just beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank felicityrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I have just come home from a 7 week holiday where we visited many countries in south east Africa. Have to say our 2 nights at Giraffe Manor was the highlight of the whole trip.

How magical it was to be able to interact with the giraffes. It was almost sureal eating breakfast while you had a giraffe peering over your shoulder waiting to be feed. These animals are so special and to be able to feed, kiss and cuddle them is such a wonderful experience

The Manor itself is beautiful. We stayed in Kellys room which is situated in the newer building which is located behind the main lodge. The room was lovely and we were able to feed the giraffes in the morning from our bedroom window.

The staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and they catered for our every need. The food was great, we particularly enjoyed the candle light dinners which were served in the formal dining room with all guests sitting around the dinner table together.

This place was worth every cent and I would say to anyone travelling to Africa if they have the chance to get to Giraffe Manor just do as you will have an experience you will never forget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jnkSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

How fun was this! While you can get a touch of visiting these creatures at the sanctuary next door, this gives you a once in a lifetime experience of getting to know the animals better and their different personalities.

The hotel itself was lovely. It was the first hotel I have ever stayed at where no 'key' is given. It is a small, exclusive space, so I can't imagine security being a problem. The hot water bottles in the bed are lovely, and somehow I didn't tire of 'everything giraffe' when it comes to decor.

The service was very attentive. I was amazed at how many photos they took of us with our camera over the 'breakfast'.... I must have had close to 50!

My advice - book in advance - of our whole trip in Kenya / Rwanda this was difficult to book as it is under demand.

Room Tip: Main manor faces the main area of giraffes.... if you want a massage, book in advance.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Service_Sommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
House of Waine
#23 of 169 in Nairobi
266 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
545 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,314 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Address: Koitobos Rd, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: $485 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giraffe Manor is owned by The Safari Collection and is an exclusive boutique hotel, set in 12 acres of private land within 140 acres of indigenous forest in the Langata suburb of Nairobi. As one of Nairobi’s most iconic buildings, Giraffe Manor has extraordinary appeal, that harks back to the 1930s when European visitors first flocked to East Africa to enjoy safaris. With its stately facade, elegant interior, verdant green gardens, sunny terraces and delightful courtyards, guests often remark that it’s like walking into the film Out of Africa: indeed, one of its twelve rooms is named after the author Karen Blixen. However, the most fascinating thing about Giraffe Manor is its herd of resident Rothschild giraffe who may visit morning and evening, sometimes poking their long necks into the windows in the hope of a treat, before retreating to their forest sanctuary. Giraffe Manor can be booked for the night or as part of a complete tailor-made safari with The Safari Collection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing