We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“perfect !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“perfect !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed one night - wish it was longer.

Lived up to all expectations and breakfast was great, the giraffe really do come right up to the windows and join you for breakfast

Lovely room and food, 5 star service

Cannot wait to return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNewell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    38
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
135
272
41
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After reading all the reviews I could find about Giraffe Manor, I was expecting a lot and I was not disappointed! My suggestion would be to arrive at 11.00am when check in starts and don't make any other plans for the day! We stayed at the Manor all day and just enjoyed what it had to offer. We spent time at the Visitors Centre (which is free if you are staying at the Manor), enjoyed the delicious 3 course lunch on the terrace, relaxed in the lounge and used the free internet, watched the giraffes and warthogs outside and had a drink or two from the open bar.

We were greeted upon arrival and immediately taken to our room. We were lucky enough to be staying when there was only one other couple there and they were staying in the Karen Blixen room, which isn't even in the main Manor.

We were in Betty's room and after looking at all the other rooms in the Manor, this one is by far the best! The room is enormous and quite luxurious, with a great bathroom. It has it's own balcony and is at the front of the house where the giraffes come to be fed. We were lucky enough to have Lynn (the giraffe) come and visit us during the day to be fed at our window and then we went outside with one of the staff members where we fed her for about 1/2 hour while he took photos of us - it was amazing and exactly what you come here for.

The Manor itself is exceptional! The staff are so obliging and will do anything to assist you. I have a dietary requirement and they were more than willing to accommodate this request. The food was delicious and plentiful. We had laundry to be done and after placing it in the hamper the next we saw it was back in our room, clean and with a rose on top!

It was great to basically have the run of the Manor. We felt like we were alone, but when you wanted anything a staff member would always be there.

Unfortunately we had to leave very early in the morning for a flight, which was disappointing as we missed breakfast with the giraffes, but given our experience with Lynn the day before we were not unhappy. Try to ensure you can stay for the full time to enjoy the whole experience.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to Nairobi. If you love giraffes, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for Betty's room when booking - it's by far the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyles1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service in a wonderful place. Harmony with African nature and service are making this place just facinating. One of the best places I have ever visited traveling a lot. Wish to all staff and general manager all the best and good luck. Please keep this wonder. Thank you all for the great job you are doing. Thanks to all of you for sure will be back with my family and friends in nearest future! Thank you very much for everything. I will never forget my anniversary with you. Marina.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you took the giraffes away from this place, you really wouldn't be left with much. The accommodation is fine, nothing wrong with it at all, but hardly noteworthy. The food is stodgy English fare that countries with a colonial background would be well served to move on from.

But it's all about the giraffes, and let's face it - that's why you're thinking of coming here. And they deliver in spades. You'll pat their noses. You'll feed them. You'll share your breakfast with them. You'll kiss them, and you'll even get tongue if you want it. It's giraffes aplenty, and you can't get that just anywhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waimate01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
836 reviews
376 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,097 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Shocking service with trying to book a room via Africa Point. (one of the vendors on the Giraffe Manor’s website as booking agents.) I got a very quick response to book a room but when I then asked at what time breakfast with the giraffes was and how long it would take to get from the Giraffe Manor to the airport to catch a flight, I was ignored and despite numerous e-mails never received the courtesy of a response. When you pay more than $600 a night this shouldn’t happen.

I then tried the Safari Collection whose service was excellent. It was worth persevering as the experience is not to be missed. It’s 45 minutes from the airport to the Giraffe Manor. The rate includes airport transfers plus a full day of local tours, three meals plus wines.

To get the most of your stay I advise arriving at the Giraffe Manor between 10 AM (when check-in starts) and 10:30 AM. At 10:30 AM head to the Sheldrick Orphaned Elephant Centre for the show that begins at 11:00. It lasts an hour and if you’ve been up close to elephants on safari you may be a bit disappointed because it is a bit commercial with tourists lined up to view the baby elephants being given milk the smallest ones with blankets to keep them warm. You will get some good shots but many will be with other people in them. They do a good job of explaining each elephants history and how they care for them. (If you miss the 11:00 viewing, you’ll need to pay $50 to adopt an elephant (for two people) and can visit at 4 PM to see the elephants being put to bed for the night. But you’ll then miss the action back at the Giraffe Manor—see below.)

Head back to the Giraffe Manor for a delicious lunch of organic food on the terrace—vegetarians are well catered for. Then head over to the Karen Blixen Museum and upon returning to the Giraffe Manor make your way across to the Giraffe Center. Staying at the Giraffe Center gets you free entry—though you need to tip the guide who shows you around. Skip the nature walk as it’s pretty boring. You’ll get plenty of giraffe action at the Giraffe Manor so the main interest in the center is to understand the different types of giraffe. They had told me that the giraffes usually make their way over to the manor once the center closes at 5 PM. But the day I was there they went from the manor to the center. All the other guests were out at the Sheldrick Elephant Center so between 4-5 PM I had the house to myself with giraffes poking their head in the entrance to be fed treats (pellets of minerals and grass). The caretakers take great pictures of you and will teach you how to be kissed by a wild giraffe! (Only some giraffes tolerate this.) Eddy in particular is to be commended in this regard.

Drinks are served next to a fireplace from 7 PM and dinner served at 7:45 PM in a traditional dining room. After dinner drinks or tea and coffee are served around the fireplace or outside.

The highlight of the stay is undoubtedly breakfast. It’s served from 7 AM, but be ready by 6:30 AM to ensure you get the best seats next to the window for viewing the giraffes and first dibs on photo opportunities. Don’t worry if you oversleep though as the staff will ensure everyone gets to interact with the giraffes and gets good photos. By 8:30 AM the giraffes will have wandered over to the Giraffe Center. You get another hour and a half to take in the lovely garden and serene atmosphere of this place and savour your experience.

I was upgraded from a standard room to Bette’s suite and it is worth getting that room as it is much more luxurious and boasts its own terrace from which you can feed the taller giraffes as well as an art deco bathroom and a fireplace. There is one other suite and family rooms but the other rooms are much smaller. They have WIFI but the signal was weak and kept cutting in and out. They offer spa treatments. There is also gift shop selling postcards of the manor and more high end souvenirs compared to the Giraffe Center gift shop which has more choice but sells cheaper merchandise.

Truly a magical place with exceptional staff. I plan to be back every once in a while to recharge my batteries.

Room Tip: Spring for Bette
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This experience is one I will never forget! It is almost surreal to have a giraffe pop it's head through the window and eat from your hand. To have a giraffe "kiss" in the morning it something I will never forget. The Manor itself is just fantastic, the staff are friendly, helpful and polite and the setting is magical. The only negative was the bed and the pillows! Flat, hard and lumpy unfortunately! But would I go back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has windows that the giraffes can reach so you can feed them from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our layover in Nairobi at Giraffe Manor. While we only spent one very jet-lagged evening and night there, we loved every minute. We sat outside in the early evening watching and feeding the giraffes, and had a lovely dinner afterwards. Our room on the first floor was very spacious and comfortable and we had a great night's sleep there. A lovely breakfast in the morning and then we were gone. We spoke with other guests who were staying longer and it sounded like there were some excellent local activities, but a change in our flight limited us to just one night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank painthorsegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
8.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Property: Giraffe Manor
Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing