We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Five Star Experience Worth Every Penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Save
You added Giraffe Manor to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
835 reviews
378 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,093 helpful votes
“Five Star Experience Worth Every Penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Shocking service with trying to book a room via Africa Point. (one of the vendors on the Giraffe Manor’s website as booking agents.) I got a very quick response to book a room but when I then asked at what time breakfast with the giraffes was and how long it would take to get from the Giraffe Manor to the airport to catch a flight, I was ignored and despite numerous e-mails never received the courtesy of a response. When you pay more than $600 a night this shouldn’t happen.

I then tried the Safari Collection whose service was excellent. It was worth persevering as the experience is not to be missed. It’s 45 minutes from the airport to the Giraffe Manor. The rate includes airport transfers plus a full day of local tours, three meals plus wines.

To get the most of your stay I advise arriving at the Giraffe Manor between 10 AM (when check-in starts) and 10:30 AM. At 10:30 AM head to the Sheldrick Orphaned Elephant Centre for the show that begins at 11:00. It lasts an hour and if you’ve been up close to elephants on safari you may be a bit disappointed because it is a bit commercial with tourists lined up to view the baby elephants being given milk the smallest ones with blankets to keep them warm. You will get some good shots but many will be with other people in them. They do a good job of explaining each elephants history and how they care for them. (If you miss the 11:00 viewing, you’ll need to pay $50 to adopt an elephant (for two people) and can visit at 4 PM to see the elephants being put to bed for the night. But you’ll then miss the action back at the Giraffe Manor—see below.)

Head back to the Giraffe Manor for a delicious lunch of organic food on the terrace—vegetarians are well catered for. Then head over to the Karen Blixen Museum and upon returning to the Giraffe Manor make your way across to the Giraffe Center. Staying at the Giraffe Center gets you free entry—though you need to tip the guide who shows you around. Skip the nature walk as it’s pretty boring. You’ll get plenty of giraffe action at the Giraffe Manor so the main interest in the center is to understand the different types of giraffe. They had told me that the giraffes usually make their way over to the manor once the center closes at 5 PM. But the day I was there they went from the manor to the center. All the other guests were out at the Sheldrick Elephant Center so between 4-5 PM I had the house to myself with giraffes poking their head in the entrance to be fed treats (pellets of minerals and grass). The caretakers take great pictures of you and will teach you how to be kissed by a wild giraffe! (Only some giraffes tolerate this.) Eddy in particular is to be commended in this regard.

Drinks are served next to a fireplace from 7 PM and dinner served at 7:45 PM in a traditional dining room. After dinner drinks or tea and coffee are served around the fireplace or outside.

The highlight of the stay is undoubtedly breakfast. It’s served from 7 AM, but be ready by 6:30 AM to ensure you get the best seats next to the window for viewing the giraffes and first dibs on photo opportunities. Don’t worry if you oversleep though as the staff will ensure everyone gets to interact with the giraffes and gets good photos. By 8:30 AM the giraffes will have wandered over to the Giraffe Center. You get another hour and a half to take in the lovely garden and serene atmosphere of this place and savour your experience.

I was upgraded from a standard room to Bette’s suite and it is worth getting that room as it is much more luxurious and boasts its own terrace from which you can feed the taller giraffes as well as an art deco bathroom and a fireplace. There is one other suite and family rooms but the other rooms are much smaller. They have WIFI but the signal was weak and kept cutting in and out. They offer spa treatments. There is also gift shop selling postcards of the manor and more high end souvenirs compared to the Giraffe Center gift shop which has more choice but sells cheaper merchandise.

Truly a magical place with exceptional staff. I plan to be back every once in a while to recharge my batteries.

Room Tip: Spring for Bette
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    37
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
260
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This experience is one I will never forget! It is almost surreal to have a giraffe pop it's head through the window and eat from your hand. To have a giraffe "kiss" in the morning it something I will never forget. The Manor itself is just fantastic, the staff are friendly, helpful and polite and the setting is magical. The only negative was the bed and the pillows! Flat, hard and lumpy unfortunately! But would I go back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has windows that the giraffes can reach so you can feed them from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our layover in Nairobi at Giraffe Manor. While we only spent one very jet-lagged evening and night there, we loved every minute. We sat outside in the early evening watching and feeding the giraffes, and had a lovely dinner afterwards. Our room on the first floor was very spacious and comfortable and we had a great night's sleep there. A lovely breakfast in the morning and then we were gone. We spoke with other guests who were staying longer and it sounded like there were some excellent local activities, but a change in our flight limited us to just one night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank painthorsegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ever since I can remember, I have wanted to go to this hotel. I booked for one night in October and was a bit afraid to look forward too much in case I was disapointed. I have walking difficulties and was afraid that it might take the edge of the trip. The stairs were a problem but they are anywhere so nothing new .I was not.. it was everything I had dreamt of... and then some. My daughter and I were like kids at Christmas and the staff indulged us as if they had never heard all our questions before.We stayed in Bettys room which was clean and comfortable with a fab 30's bathroom and Lynn the giraffe came up to the window in the morning for munchies..just as I wanted. The staff catered to our every need and we felt throughly spoilt during our time there.
The food was gorgeous and drinks plentiful !!The house itself was like something out of an Agatha Christie novel and the grounds were beautiful.Just like being in a movie.
And last but not least the giraffes !! The icing on the cake. How can you better that ... a truly once in a lifetime experience..in fact a dream come true.

Room Tip: Lynn the giraffe comes up to Bettys room in the morning for pellets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123amandaj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

OK. i know, you probably think ive never been anywhere; right? you probably think im exagerating. NO I'M NOT! this place is PURE MAGIC, from the time you walk through the gates, to the grounds, to the manor, to the meals, to the staff, to the roses, to the cookies, to the cakes, to the ROOMS, to the...oh yah, the GIRAFFE!!!!!!!!!!

FINALLY, a place that lives up to its reputation and reviews. out of a four-country, six-week tour of africa, i have to embarassingly say that THIS was my FAVORITE! too shallow? too bad. this place hits its mark.

oh, did i mention hand-feeding the WART HOGS and kissing the giraffe? just show up here and SIT in the front yard and you will have the time of your life! THANK YOU GIRAFFE MANOR! truly an honor to have gotten to stay at your place. i will never forget you!

Room Tip: Jock's room is right in front w a fireplace AND in front and the giraffe will walk up to your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAS0126
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at Giraffe Manor for two nights in October 2012. The things that I loved were the great staff, great food and of course the giraffes and warthogs. And lunch outside in the beautiful gardens. However, our very small room was directly over the kitchen and so was quite loud (although it smelled good!). The original house has been joined by a new building in the back. For $1,000 a night I felt that we should be able to have breakfast with the giraffes in the main house (where our room was). Unfortunately we were shunted off to the new addition. Us and the warthogs.... I guess the trick is to show up early for breakfast to make sure you are seated in the right place. Don't think I'll be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank JAS0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything about Giraffe Manor is top-notch, which we discovered the moment we arrived: it was 10:15 at night, at the end of an 8-hour flight from London, which came after a 6-hour flight from the United States. They provided us dinner! First in importance here is feeding the giraffes their kibble from the breakfast room each morning, undoubtedly a unique experience and perfectly charming. The wonderful staff even carefully framed the pictures they took of us doing this. Our room was huge and comfortable, and the bathroom equally so. We never sat down anywhere for more than a few moments before a staff member would inquire if he or she could get something for us. Food was plentiful and delicious, and we met interesting people around the large dinner table and during drinks. And everything was covered in the initial cost of the room, including a driver to take us around. That was perhaps what we most appreciated. The only glitch was that the Internet was not working well, and even when it was fixed, it wasn't very good. That aside, I would say that this is one of the most memorable places we have ever stayed at. Anyone who is planning to be near Nairobi should consider it (it's not cheap).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#13 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Property: Giraffe Manor
Address: Langata Rd, Langata, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing