We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very entertaining! Just a blast!”
Review of Giraffe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giraffe Manor
Ranked #1 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very entertaining! Just a blast!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our layover in Nairobi at Giraffe Manor. While we only spent one very jet-lagged evening and night there, we loved every minute. We sat outside in the early evening watching and feeding the giraffes, and had a lovely dinner afterwards. Our room on the first floor was very spacious and comfortable and we had a great night's sleep there. A lovely breakfast in the morning and then we were gone. We spoke with other guests who were staying longer and it sounded like there were some excellent local activities, but a change in our flight limited us to just one night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank painthorsegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    50
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
189
349
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ever since I can remember, I have wanted to go to this hotel. I booked for one night in October and was a bit afraid to look forward too much in case I was disapointed. I have walking difficulties and was afraid that it might take the edge of the trip. The stairs were a problem but they are anywhere so nothing new .I was not.. it was everything I had dreamt of... and then some. My daughter and I were like kids at Christmas and the staff indulged us as if they had never heard all our questions before.We stayed in Bettys room which was clean and comfortable with a fab 30's bathroom and Lynn the giraffe came up to the window in the morning for munchies..just as I wanted. The staff catered to our every need and we felt throughly spoilt during our time there.
The food was gorgeous and drinks plentiful !!The house itself was like something out of an Agatha Christie novel and the grounds were beautiful.Just like being in a movie.
And last but not least the giraffes !! The icing on the cake. How can you better that ... a truly once in a lifetime experience..in fact a dream come true.

Room Tip: Lynn the giraffe comes up to Bettys room in the morning for pellets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123amandaj_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

OK. i know, you probably think ive never been anywhere; right? you probably think im exagerating. NO I'M NOT! this place is PURE MAGIC, from the time you walk through the gates, to the grounds, to the manor, to the meals, to the staff, to the roses, to the cookies, to the cakes, to the ROOMS, to the...oh yah, the GIRAFFE!!!!!!!!!!

FINALLY, a place that lives up to its reputation and reviews. out of a four-country, six-week tour of africa, i have to embarassingly say that THIS was my FAVORITE! too shallow? too bad. this place hits its mark.

oh, did i mention hand-feeding the WART HOGS and kissing the giraffe? just show up here and SIT in the front yard and you will have the time of your life! THANK YOU GIRAFFE MANOR! truly an honor to have gotten to stay at your place. i will never forget you!

Room Tip: Jock's room is right in front w a fireplace AND in front and the giraffe will walk up to your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAS0126
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at Giraffe Manor for two nights in October 2012. The things that I loved were the great staff, great food and of course the giraffes and warthogs. And lunch outside in the beautiful gardens. However, our very small room was directly over the kitchen and so was quite loud (although it smelled good!). The original house has been joined by a new building in the back. For $1,000 a night I felt that we should be able to have breakfast with the giraffes in the main house (where our room was). Unfortunately we were shunted off to the new addition. Us and the warthogs.... I guess the trick is to show up early for breakfast to make sure you are seated in the right place. Don't think I'll be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank JAS0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, MA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything about Giraffe Manor is top-notch, which we discovered the moment we arrived: it was 10:15 at night, at the end of an 8-hour flight from London, which came after a 6-hour flight from the United States. They provided us dinner! First in importance here is feeding the giraffes their kibble from the breakfast room each morning, undoubtedly a unique experience and perfectly charming. The wonderful staff even carefully framed the pictures they took of us doing this. Our room was huge and comfortable, and the bathroom equally so. We never sat down anywhere for more than a few moments before a staff member would inquire if he or she could get something for us. Food was plentiful and delicious, and we met interesting people around the large dinner table and during drinks. And everything was covered in the initial cost of the room, including a driver to take us around. That was perhaps what we most appreciated. The only glitch was that the Internet was not working well, and even when it was fixed, it wasn't very good. That aside, I would say that this is one of the most memorable places we have ever stayed at. Anyone who is planning to be near Nairobi should consider it (it's not cheap).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It may seem expensive to stay here but it is worth every penny we have travelled widely and this is the best place I have ever stayed. The rooms, the food and of course the Giraffes which is why you want to go in the first place. Just book it but well in advance cos its very popular!! oh and not to forget the staff are wonderful Nothing is too much trouble u get soo pampered you want to move in!!

Room Tip: stayed in Lyns room and she came to the window in the morning amazing loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmadNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When I think of Africa, I think of the movies I have seen set in days gone by. This place bridges the gap between the old and new. Small rooms with antiques and netting around the beds, but modern plumbing. Giraffes that poke their heads in to say hello at breakfast, with so ugly their cute warthogs. Communal dinners with your fellow travelers over wonderful food. You will not want the time machine to take you back to the regular business hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#23 of 165 in Nairobi
252 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 165 in Nairobi
1,278 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 165 in Nairobi
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 165 in Nairobi
1,009 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Nairobi Hurlingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giraffe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giraffe Manor

Property: Giraffe Manor
Address: Koitobos Rd, Nairobi 00503, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Giraffe Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giraffe Manor is owned by The Safari Collection and is an exclusive boutique hotel, set in 12 acres of private land within 140 acres of indigenous forest in the Langata suburb of Nairobi. As one of Nairobi’s most iconic buildings, Giraffe Manor has extraordinary appeal, that harks back to the 1930s when European visitors first flocked to East Africa to enjoy safaris. With its stately facade, elegant interior, verdant green gardens, sunny terraces and delightful courtyards, guests often remark that it’s like walking into the film Out of Africa: indeed, one of its twelve rooms is named after the author Karen Blixen. However, the most fascinating thing about Giraffe Manor is its herd of resident Rothschild giraffe who may visit morning and evening, sometimes poking their long necks into the windows in the hope of a treat, before retreating to their forest sanctuary. Giraffe Manor can be booked for the night or as part of a complete tailor-made safari with The Safari Collection. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Giraffe Manor Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing