We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giraffe Manor
Nearby Hotels
Tribe Hotel(Nairobi)
$239
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palacina Residence & Suites(Nairobi)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$182
$157
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
$153
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveler rating
884
63
19
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
884
63
19
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsonce in a lifetimebucket listbedroom windowrothschild giraffesbreakfast roomgiraffe experiencegiraffe feedinghigh teakaren blixen suitetonguestick their headsother guestsbeautiful animalsfood pelletsdaisy roomfront lawngiraffe centre
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 978 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is truly magical, the staff were fantastic, the quality of the food was second to none and the accommodation was superb (if your booking and I would highly recommend that you do, see if you can get a room at the front of the manor). The giraffes are what really made the stay worthwhile, the opportunity to feed them (mornings and some times in the evenings) is not to be missed and just the chance to sit and watch them roam around the grounds. Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone, can't fault it and already planning the next stay.

Room Tip: See if the rooms at the front of the manor are available....
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here one night, after returning from 7 days in Masai Mara. Coming from the bush to this five star luxury was pure indulgence, and such a wonderful return to "civilization."

You are greeted with fantastic home made lemonade spritzers. We were then shown around the home (yes, this is a true manor house, not a hotel) and all the amenities were nicely explained. We were even offered a choice of rooms, as there was a suite available for a complimentary upgrade! We declined, as we still preferred the second floor view of the standard room to the much larger suite that had less of a view.

After getting settled in, we walked down to the courtyard seating area and were treated to an absolutely lovely and relaxing lunch. Very high quality food, very high quality service. Everything done the way you would expect at a 5 star. The environment in the courtyard is just super.

After lunch we walked down to the giraffe visitor center -- literally a 3 minute walk across the lawn. After learning everything we never knew about the lives of giraffes, we did some shopping at the vistor center's excellent gift shop, and came back to the Manor.

That's when we were greeted with.... home made chocolate chip cookies, straight out of the oven! Brilliant! That with a coffee and tea brought right to our room. What a nice welcome back!

That afternoon we sat outside in the back yard, playing with the manager's dog. He's a cheeky fellow and loves to fetch. It was highly entertaining, as he'd often chase the wandering warthogs while retrieving the ball. We really loved being able to play with the dog, while sitting outside in the yard and reading, reviewing our safari photos, etc. You really feel like you're staying at a private home, versus at a hotel or B&B. Around sunset, one of the giraffes made his way up to the backyard area, and we spent about an hour feeding and photographing her.

After enjoying the cocktails and hors d'oeuvre in the fireplace room, we retreated to our room, where we were served a private, four course dinner. The perfect cap to the perfect day at Giraffe Manor.

Next morning we got downstairs early, and were treated to up close and personal time with about 5 giraffes who joined for breakfast. We fed them through the windows in the breakfast room. Highly entertaining. Once again, the food was excellent. Five star food indeed.

If you're like me, you're looking at the price of this place and asking yourself, "How in the world could it be worth that much money?" After staying here, I can tell you, it's worth it. But only if you love animals and giraffes in particular. If you don't love animals, you may not find the same magic at Giraffe Manor that we, and so many others, have found during our stay. But even if you remove the giraffes from the equation, at the very least, this place is a highly enjoyable, well-run, five-star boutique B&B. Now you add in the giraffes, and it's a magical place that offers experiences like no other.

Well done Giraffe Manor! We can't wait to visit again, and have already recommended you to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were thrilled to start out our honeymoon at the Giraffee Manor. Our travel agent (EJAfrica.com) knew to book us such that we would have a full 24 hours at the manor. We started our stay with an amazing patio lunch; the food is high end and comprable to michelin star dining. We enjoyed a private visit to the Giraffe Center where we met Kelly and Ibrahim (mother and son giraffes), and went on a short hike. En route to the private visit to play with our adopted elephant at the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, we stopped at the bead center and flip flop recycling facility. I was brought to tears by the idea that you can create employment by cleaning up old flip flops from beaches and slums then transform them into cute animals and housewares and sell them! Our driver, George, kept us on time to play with the elephants and ensured that we returned in time to take photos with giraffes before dinner. We were leaving relatively early in the morning so the staff at the manor ensured we still had the proper breakfast experience and got to work early to call over the giraffes. In short, there is nothing like this experience. It's an absolute must! We had the honeymoon room (Betty's), which was amazing, but I am happy to have just been at the manor and the awesome room is just a small part of the overall package.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruzker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Despite seeing the Great Migration & numerous wild animals, our kids favorite part of our week in Kenya was the breakfast at Giraffe Manor! (and if we knew they came at 5 to the house, we would've stayed here instead of visiting our elephant orphans at David Sheldrick, which was a disappointment, see our review)

As there were 4 of us, we got the Karen Blixen suite..which was lovely, large, the kids loved sleeping in the loft & it had the guest bedroom furniture that Karen Blixen left here when she left Kenya. Fresh roses were everywhere.

We ate lunch, dinner & breakfast here. Lunch & dinner both were a set menu served on the patio (we understand they sometimes have all dine together in the large dining room at dinner, which would be nice, too). The food was probably high cuisine, so not incredibly kid-friendly, but we didn't go hungry. The service staff was incredibly friendly & helpful & we loved their smiling faces & their interest in the kids. Completely unpretentious on the part of the staff..though maybe not on the part of the customers!

They are glad to take you to the center next door or on a walk among the forests of giraffes (we didn't do this second one, but it says you can, so I assume that's true!)

Of course, breakfast is why you come here & it is worth the whole thing! The giraffes arrive around 6:30 in the morning & stayed until almost 8:30..so you had 2 hours of feeding, 'kissing', etc where they stick their heads in the windows.

If you have a patio room above the dining room you can feed them from your patio. If you have a bedroom with a front facing window, you can feed them from your room. The Karen Blixen suite is neither of these, so we fed from the breakfast room, which we had to ourselves a good deal of the time. You must get up early, though, or the show is all over!

Other than the giraffes & the staff's friendliness, this is not a kid place (cuisine, many of the other customers), so I wouldn't recommend a long stay where you just hang out here. One night or two (with a full day of local activities) would be perfect for you & your kids. Just make sure you can get breakfast in for each night you stay, or it loses its value!

Room Tip: If you want to feed giraffes from your room, you need a front facing one, or one with a patio over the breakfast room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LookingForFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Four of us stayed at Giraffe Manor and just loved everything, the giraffes are without doubt the stars but we also loved the rooms (we were in the new part of the manor) and service. We all felt it was the best service we have received at any hotel in the world. Staff were excellent and helped with anything requested. It is expensive but we also loved the inclusion of all food, alcohol, internet access and transport in the price.
The hotel has several sitting rooms and we found it easy to find
It is a wonderful place and one day I hope I am able to return. private meeting spots.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new part (which I think was a little dearer) and the rooms are excellent, I can't comment on the older section.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isa_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews