We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial African Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #7 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Clatskanie OR
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Colonial African Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We stayed here one night on our arrival to Nairobi for the beginning of our safari. The location was near the British Embasy I believe. Our room was adequate, not fancy or plush. There are no plug ins located in the bathroom but this was typical of all our lodging in the country. I had to use my adapter in the bedroom to curl my hair. There were no shampoos, lotions and conditioners provided. We were a group of 6 and rented 3 rooms and we all agree that on our 11 days at hotels, the Fairview had by far the best breakfast. The lighting in the bathroom was poor also typical of other hotels. All though we did not have time to walk the grounds, they appeared to be well taken care of and beautiful. Also no air conditioning, only fans, no elevators, also tyypical of our other lodges.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    328
    81
    26
    12
See reviews for
145
295
104
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The hotel has a beatiful garden and offers good facilities but you need to have access to the executive lounge for any comfort. There are several restaurant options; we used the pool bar which offers a good variety in the menu and was very good value for money. The room was spacious but the layout made it gloomy (we had an executive room). The bathroom was large and modern but had a sunken bath which would be dfficult/impossible to get in and out, particularly for anyone who is slightly incapacitated, elderly or short. The shower is in the bath so there is no option. Service is much less friendly and efficient than we experienced in all of the game park lodges. Overall we would try somehere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdoig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I had a great time in the Fairview Hotel. Excellent service, high quality in all aspects of being a hotel with very high standard in hospitallity. May be they invented this here?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The Fairview hotel is a family owned hotel and therein lies its charm... and it's quirks. Set in a lovely and well tended large tropical garden the hotel allows you to forget the seething mass (mess?) that lies outside the gates. A great pool area (though unheated, which means BRISK after a hot Nairobi day) and attached restaurant are the star attractions. The pool restaurant serves an excellent, varied menu of "home cooking"...perfect fish and chips being an example.

There are also a Japanese sushi restaurant, a large general restaurant and the very good Pango Brasserie and Wine Cellar. The breakfast buffet (included in most room rates) is excellent. Many, many choices.

Standard rooms are a bit small. We stayed in a King Size room which opened onto the garden. A fairly small room with 1 queen bed and 1 king bed taking up most of the floor space. A large bathroom with separate tub/shower and plenty of towels.

My main complaints were the lack of bottled water and perhaps the worst pillows I've come across in many years...large foam "slabs" with no give at all. Sleep was a problem if only because of those dreadful pillows.

By all means take advantage of the excellent and well priced airport transfers. Comfortable cars and great drivers make the seemingly endless journey to/from JK International airport almost painless.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Nearly two weeks there. As good as ever. Pango restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is a nice hotel, but forget about all the reviewers who say "oh it must be a safe hotel because the Israeli embassy is next door".

I had to lol about other tripadvisor revieers saying that- in general its best to avoid any area where there are western/israeli emabssies because of the threat of bomb explosions, D'oh! so if anything its MORE dangerous staying in a hotel next to an embassy than less.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bule122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Being a solo traveller is not always easy but i found the hotel warm, staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed tremendously dining and listening to the beautiful songs from the solo guitarist.

Just excellent and definitely a hotel I will choose for future stays in Nairobi

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilliebutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#14 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing